We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not that bad...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Express Inn

Express Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Express Inn
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not that bad...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Compared to the Ocean View Inn this place was WAAY better. It was spacious, had NO FLYS OR BUGS LIKE OCEAN VIEW INN and it had a huge bed with a cable tv, microwave, fridge with freezer, CLEAN towels, a table to sit at, and was QUIET unlike OV Inn which is more of an apartment complex than a motel where you hear screaming uncontrollable kids at 730am all the way til 1030 at night. Knights Inn is perfect for locals who need a place to stay. Great for $50. Gonna see if they have breakfast tomorrow tho lol

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexiluuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I attended my brothers wedding in 2012 and stayed at this motel. It was supposed to offer continental breakfast and coffee, continental breakfast was non existent and the coffee was lousy. Rooms were not what I would call adequate for the price I paid per room. Though it is across the street from the beach i would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy111562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norfolk hotels

Norfolk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we frist check in rate on sign was not the rate we got...should have been first clue...went to room and found that Tv remote did not work took it to offic change battery still not work...King bed not good and heater not work...change room...2nd room had board bolted to top of a/c hearter ok but not that good had to have it on high all night to keep room warm..king bed was hard, toss all night, microwave was not clean and plate was broken..Breakfast in the morning was not good...If you only need a place to sleep this is not it...My nephew and his girlfriend was not happy here.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the room out real good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

Stayed here for 2 weeks b/c Navy Lodge & Q ran out of room at all bases. I searched for the lowest rate in town. Stayed here b/c of location. What a mistake! The cleaning lady was a sight, the proprietors were rude, and the room was never clean. It's location in terms of proximity is great, but that's about it.

  • Liked — Proximity to military bases in and around Norfolk
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PapaJamieRockefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2003

Although the advertising board out front said, "Recently Renovated!", it was obvious that this was not the case. Dirt on the carpet appliances not even plugged in and running, broken towel racks, coarse towels and in a no smoking room, the unmistakable odour of stale smoke! Avoid this place at all costs; if you decide to stay make them pay you rather than the other way around!

Helpful?
57 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 38 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
5.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Property: Express Inn
Address: 1111 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2013 (Formerly Knights Inn Norfolk)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Norfolk
Norfolk Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing