We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in downtown”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Marriott. The room decor was nice and has been recently updated. Because it is an older hotel the room size was small but adequate. We enjoyed the restaurants in the hotel and the food was really good. The breakfast buffet is nice but needs to have a different configuration to better accommodate the number of people who frequent the buffet. The line was very long to go through the breakfast buffet and could not accommodate the amount of people on Saturday morning. If I return to Norfolk I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Hobiecatsalior,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We have just finished a renovation of both our guest rooms and the convention space and have created an updated, vibrant new hotel for all of our guest to enjoy. Your comments about the buffet line have been shared with our team with the aim to improve all of our guests dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    342
    168
    62
    53
See reviews for
158
188
37
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We are Marriott gold, and yet we generally prefer Residence Inns and Spring Hill Suites over Marriott Hotel brand properties. The concept behind the Marriott Hotel brand is high end highrise hotels that justify their price by their primo locations and by having real restaurants, real bars and usually great pools and spas on site. They are particularly appealing to business people on expense accounts or people who can afford to prefer spas and great locations to amenities that other Marriott brands routinely offer like free breakfast, microwaves and refrigerators.

As I said, we aren't usually Marriott Hotel fans but we thought that it would be great fun to view the Norfolk July 4th fireworks from this perfectly situated hotel. Unfortunately the fireworks were cancelled (thanks Hurricane Arthur - YUK!) so we only stayed one night and moved on. However, that one night was just great! When we told the front desk that we were cancelling the second night they were gracious and kind. The bartender in the second floor bar was absolutely amazing. The drinks and sandwiches that he served were excellent and his demeanor was reminiscent of a British butler. Too cool. The waterside location brought a couple of great water tour opportunities within our grasp. Our waterside view was an incredible corner room with water views on both sides. I spent many afternoon, evening, night time and early morning moments enjoying that view. Just awesome, and great value!

Having said all of that, checkin at this hotel is not for the faint of heart. There are only three or four spots to park your car during checkin and unloading and everyone is vying for a parking space. We circled the property several times before we got a chance to park, and then it was a tight fit and a scene of dodge-em-cars. At checkout my husband had to park half way done the block and the bellman and I had to drag our bags to him. With what you have to spend for parking you don't expect this kind of hassle at checkin and checkout. This is a definite major flaw in an otherwise well appointed Marriott Hotel property.

If you are looking for a full service hotel in Norfolk, with a great view, a feeling of luxury and complete with all of the amenities, then I recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with free breakfast, refrigerators and microwaves in the room and/or with convenient parking, this may not be the best Norfolk hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you have booked something waterside arrive early. Not all views here are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear LifesaBanquet,
We are glad that you decided to try us over our sister properties. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our rooms, our view and especially our staff. It is always nice to hear them described as gracious, kind and absolutely amazing. Please accept our sincere apology for the parking situation, but as downtown hotel space is sometimes at a premium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Last week, my family stayed at the Marriott Waterside Hotel. I love this hotel. It is so convenient and the staff is so helpful. Kita kept our room extremely clean and well stocked with whatever we needed.

Room Tip: My favorite place to stay at this hotel is the concierge level which is the top 3 floors. You have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot-tea-and-Scones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear MaggieThomasPam,
What else can we say but thank you from the bottom of our hearts. To hear someone call us "My favorite hotel," is what we work for every day. It is people like Kita that help us achieve this goal with every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Downtown Norfolk, excellent location but parking quite pricey. Beautiful lobby with sweeping staircases. But the rooms are rather dated and in need of a complete makeover. Furniture was shopworn, tiny armoire for clothes - no real closet. No microwave or refrigerator so forget about bringing your dinner leftovers back. A very tiny sink in the bathroom that did not allow for all of your personal travel items. Small bar with excellent female bartender who has great advice on local restaurants. Starbucks close by and several restaurants just a few blocks away. Like most city hotels all the items in the gift shop were waaay overpriced especially juice and water. The worst feature is walking through a thick blue disgusting haze of smoke when you go out the front door. Not sure what they can do about that but I hated it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed the location and the grand entrance of the lobby. I regret that you were less than satisfied with your room. Please accept my sincerest apologies and know that we'd welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have been in this hotel for about a week. I must confess that the staff are very friendly, serviceable and above all professional. The room service cleans very well and the place is very tidy. Access to internet connection is superb. I advise you to ignore the negative reviews from others as they do not give a true reflection of the superb service at this hotel.

Room Tip: No problem actually
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingstone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear livingstone2014,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We will definitely share your positive comments regarding our clean and friendly service with our team of hosts.
We hope you return again very soon.

Have a wonderful day,

John Whippen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm here until Friday and in the past two days we were surprised to find that there isn't a microwave, mini fridge, safe or blow dryer included in the room. We were only given 4 towels and had to ask for more. They brought us a refrigerator a day later than we requested. We were told that they were out of microwaves, which wouldn't be a problem if they were already in the room. Then the next morning we had a privacy sign on the door and they tried to bring us a microwave. They left and we called for them to come back. Around 5 hours later housekeeping knocked on the door. They had brought us a refrigerator and we're slightly annoyed that we had one. We told them we asked for a microwave and they said they were out again. It's Wednesday and our room has not been cleaned since we arrived. We only keep the privacy sign on while we sleep. The hotel is renovating on the 2nd floor and hotel staff get very frustrated when you're there. Also the parking garage is $13 a day and the garage elevator doesn't work. I just wonder what the next two days will be like.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkhamner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the opportunities missed as stated on your review. You indicated in your review that you are still at the hotel. Please reach out to me directly at your convenience as we would like the opportunity to address your concerns and make amends before you depart. Thank you and I look forward to meeting and talking with you.

Jeff Corcoran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were turned off from this hotel the moment we arrived due to the large amount of road construction and hotel remodeling. We parked in the public garage (what the hotel calls their self-parking), but due to the remodeling, we couldn't use the walkway over to the hotel. Instead, we had to lug all our bags and kids back down to and across the busy street.

The room itself was okay. The bedroom was clean and updated. The bathroom was a different story, however. Tile in the tub was old and chipped and the grout was moldy. The floor was also sticky, although that was resolved after our first night.

Another issue we had was the lack of sound-proofing. Our neighbors were LOUD! The fact that we had adjoining rooms with them might have contributed to that as the doors were thin and didn't even go down to the floor. When their lights were on, we could tell. Anyway, getting less than 5 ours of sleep two nights in a row makes it hard to give a hotel a positive review :)

The last issue we had was the price. We paid extra for a water view room, but the water view was not great. If you looked between two buildings you could see a sliver of water. Definitely not worth the extra money. In fact, the price seemed high for the hotel in general. Given the inconveniences of construction and remodeling, it would be nice if Marriott reduced the price to show travelers they appreciate our business even when they're not at their best. At a minimum, it would have been nice if they had thrown in free wi-fi or breakfast coupons to acknowledge the lack than ideal circumstances. Or even mentioned the renovations on their website so you knew before booking.

On a positive note, the staff was fairly friendly.

Overall, I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it to others. It will probably be nice once the renovations are complete, but I was too turned off to try them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smkozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I regret that you were less than satisfied with your overall stay and that you did not find value in your stay. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced with the unkempt bathroom, the noise issue, and the Ballroom renovations. We certainly appreciate your valuable feedback as we continuously endeavor to focus on ways to improve. Thank you again for your time and we hope you reconsider and give us another chance to welcome you to The Norfolk Waterside Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing