We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite being average overall, still the best in Norfolk anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Norfolk has nothing in the way of really nice hotels. Everything is just average or barely so. When in town, I stay here more times than not because it is better than the alternatives. The front desk service can be hit or miss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and for your stay with us at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. Our management and staff strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to exceed your expectations on your return trip to Norfolk.

Jeff Corcoran
Front Office Manager
757.6274200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 927 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Waterside Marriott is a well located place if you want to be in the banking area of Norfolk.When I have stayed there it has always been for a meeting or convention of some type. It is well equipped for that type of event, and the staff is really helpful and efficient. They know how to convention!
The rooms are nice and clean and well appointed. Some rooms have a view of the harbor, which is very nice. it isa nice walk to Waterside, or Nauticus or the cruise terminal (too bad Norfolk has no left the cruise business). MacArthur Mall is close too, a fantastic mall if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are very fortunate to be located in central downtown Norfolk within walking distance to most of the major attractions, restaurants, and downtown businesses. We are glad to hear the staff was friendly and efficient and were able to accommodate the needs of your conference. Thank you for being our guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I don't know what's happened to this hotel. We've been going to a conference here off and on for 5 years. The good: Now there is free WiFi in the rooms and in the conference rooms. Thank you Marriott. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful. You can walk to a very nice mall and there are plenty of places to eat. Also within walking distance to the Waterside, which is nice. The bad: The hotel is just worn out. The thermostat doesn't work too well, the furniture was nicked and scratched, the carpet and walls just look dated and worn. And there was an odd odor in my room... musty, I guess. The bathtub was not draining properly, and within 2 minutes I was in standing water to my ankles. I told the housekeeping staff, but it wasn't repaired while I was there. We are Marriott timeshare owners and are very loyal to Marriott, so I will stay here again for our next conference, but I'm very disappointed in this property. Not even close to Marriott quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanDar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott and thank you for your loyalty within the Marriott brand. We have reviewed your in-room observations and your comments about us not reporting and fixing your bathtub. We will use your objective feedback, so we can improve our service. Please know that your kind words about the staff has also been shared with them and is truly appreciated. Thank you and we look forward to having you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This Marriott is in the heart of downtown Norfolk, it is an easy walk to many resturants, shops and the waterfront just a few blocks away. The only problem I had when I checked in was that there was a convention and a wedding taking place at the same time, it took almost a half hour to get an elevator. There is a fee for parking. The staff is great very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwstnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We take great pride in our staff to provide only the utmost in customer service. The location as you posted, is in a great centralized location, with lots to do and see in the immediate area. Thank you for spending the weekend with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The location is the only positive about this. Service abysmal! Expensive for very little return. Front desk staff border on rude, concierge service non-existent. We were here for a conference and had no choice. Have stayed here before with similar experiences. It is not a fluke. When we were here in the Tidewater area for pleasure we stayed at the Residence Inn in Portsmouth. The difference is night and day, including less expensive!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank MedIcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your experience was negative. I can assure you that it is not typical of our hotel. Whenever we see a review that indicates an opportunity for improvement, more details regarding your experience are necessary in order to better meet your needs in the future. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in detail at 757.627.4200. Thank you again.

Jeff Corcoran
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Typical Marriott with an awesome location. Close to the waterfront and awesome shopping mall. Easy access to many of downtown Norfolk locations. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous but you wouldn't think anything less of a Marriott property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and experience in the hotel. Our staff takes great pride in offering wonderful service and we are thrilled when our guests leave satisfied. We appreciate you taking the time to post the great review and look forward to seeing you in the future very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for a couple weeks off and on during business travel. PROs: The beds are very comfortable, the walk out next to the pool and fitness center is very unique, front desk staff are friendly, and the hotel restaurant (Shula's) is an excellent and convenient dining option, concierge lounge is well done and always fully stocked.

CONs: The televisions, in numerous rooms that I have stayed in are on the fritz. Maintenance tends to the problem quickly and usually gets everything back in order. The channels on the TV are inconsistent and do not always come through. I have asked consistently to have a room with a fridge and this request has not always been fulfilled.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank TA1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your time and effort to leave us a great and detailed review. We always love to hear from our guests because you tell us what we could do better to make you happy. I will make sure we continue striving to make it better so you can keep coming back to see us! Thank you again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $131 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing