We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and well used...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for the weekend. Desk clerk - Ramika - was fantastic, lovely. Room was distinctly average, with a musty odor whenever we came back to it - but then disappeared when the ventilation system was run. Bath and shower were acceptable but clearly well used and needed some touch ups/repairs. Internet was slow but useful. View on the side away from the water was not great. Parking was an extra charge with the city lots either in front ($20 a day) or behind and next to Waterside ($13 a day). Restaurant was raucous late on Saturday night, embarrassingly so actually. But lots of good restaurants outside the hotel in nearby blocks, easy walking distance.

All in all, it was worth the discounted rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARWATMAR, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our front desk agent Rameka. We are very proud of the way she takes care of each and everyone of our guests. It is the goal of everyone of our employees to make all of our guests feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 939 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here when we attended the ODU Homecoming football game (10-05-13). The property is well kept and everything was really clean. They have space to host large events and certainly plenty of rooms. The location is perfect for visiting local attractions too. We happened to be there when the weather was perfect to enjoy a day on the beach which is just minutes away. They're also across the street from a Starbucks and "d'egg", which is a great place for breakfast. We will stay here again as the employees were friendly and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Parking deck is just across the street. $13 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphindelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for letting us be a part of your homecoming celebration. We are glad that you found the property well kept and really clean along with friendly staff. The next time you head south down 95, please come and see us again - Go Big Blue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and the hotel and staff were great- The room was clean and the view was terrific. But, the pillows on the bed....perfection! I would love to purchase the exact same ones that you use. Can you tell me how i might be able to do that?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. We are glad that you enjoyed the room, the view and the staff. Please get in touch with me at awong@marriottnorfolk.com to find out more about our pillows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind and accommodating. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. Location worked for business meeting also. Only suggest is I really
Appreciate it when my profile is referenced and addressed. Extra towels so I don't have to call make a big difference- just the little details that as a platinum member
really make a difference.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We agree with you and think that acknowledgment of your support and loyalty to the Marriott brand is very important. Thank you for being a Platinum Member and your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We strive everyday to take care of each and every one of our guests so that we can hear the words kind, accomodating, fast, efficient, clean and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoy staying at this property when we visit relatives. The lobby area is really nice and the staff is helpful and efficient. The rooms are ample for a family. The location is excellent and there is a lot to do in the area. Our only disappointment for this trip was that the hot tubs were out of service. They normally have two outdoors and one inside and none were working properly. I hope the next time we stay there that they will be working properly. We enjoy the indoor pool and spas when we are here.

There are quite a few good restaurants in walking distance as well as a nice mall. All in all this property offers a lot.

Room Tip: I like to stay on higher floors but we really have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Norfolk Waterside Marriott while you were in town visiting relatives. Unfortunately both of the outdoor jacuzzis are not longer in service; however, we still have the indoor pool and an indoor jacuzzi for guest to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Norfolk close to the Waterside/Nauticus area. It is connected via enclosed walkways to both Waterside and two adjacent parking garages. The MacArthur Center Mall is a short walk away. The feature of the area is the plethora of good restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel itself is old, but well maintained. The rooms are relatively small and nicely appointed. Staff assistance and attention was fantastic. The front desk, concierge lounge, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. My only complaint was that my room was cleaned very late on two occasions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are very fortunate to be located in central dwontown Norfolk within walking distance to most of the major attractions. These include Town Point Park, Nauticus Museum, USS Wisconsin, MacArthur Mall, Half Moon Cruise Terminal and Granby Street with all the shops and restaurants. It is always nice to hear the word fantastic when one of our guest describe our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay at this hotel often it's is consistently a comfortable well staffed hotel. I love that it's attached to an inside parking garage so in inclement weather you never get wet.

The room was a good size and always comfortable. This last stay it was quiet, and enjoyable. Shula's bar was a lot of fun and the bartender was excellent.

The location puts it in the heart of Norfolk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are fortunate to have two garages attached to the hotel which are owned by the City of Norfolk. Not only are the convenient for our guests but as you observed, they are very nice to have during inclement weather. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our restaurant, Shula's 347 Grill, where it looks like you had a lot of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $129 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing