We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Business meeting, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Business meeting, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice hotel. We had a corner room. Nice view. Attractive lobby with meeting area attached and next door. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking across the street in a city owned parking deck was a small hassle, but not the fault of the hotel. Meeting space was attractive and ample for our meeting of about 900 people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the meeting you attended at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. We are happy that we could provide you with friendly and helpful staff and a corner room with a nice view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    295
    130
    49
    43
See reviews for
128
162
35
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel on an overnight business trip. Great location. Had a great view of the water. It is about a block walk to a great mall. The staff was very friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnysideoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent over night business trip. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk, where almost everything is within walking distance. "Great location...great view of the water...great mall...very friendly staff," what more can we ask for in a review?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

friends and I stayed here one night. the staff was very friendly and accomodating. the rooms were spotless, nice bath products were provided. the only negative thing I have to stay is that the room was a little on the pricy side, but it was worth what I paid. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your little getaway from Williamsburg. Our staff works very hard in providing friendly and accomodating service along with clean and comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a quiet property. A favorite and the location is wonderful! Nearby shops and a mall...oh I'm loving it. The rooms a great size and the bedding very comfy. I attended an event in the Hampton Roads Room. The set up was nice and the staff were all attentive and at our service. This hotel usually does not disappoint in any fashion. Keep up the great work! Also the restuarant onsite is delish as well. I tried the salmon entree...cooked to perfection. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room facing waterside...scenic view is a beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrypie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit. We are glad that we had the opportunity to take care of you and your guest in the Hampton Ballroom with our attentive service. The next time you visit us again, please make sure you visit Shula's 347 Grill for some more delish food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding it was the closest hotel. We did have a water view if you turned your head sideways :). I did not like the area in general and it seemed a little sketchy to walk around in. The rooms were nice, bath products were good, clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was small for a Marriott though. We got the wedding rate of $100 a night which was a good price. We did have to valet the car for $26 a night which I thought was a lot. The toliets also flushed really loud and walls were fairly thin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent Two nights here while dropping our daughter off a ODU. We wanted to see what downtown Norfolk was like. We had a room on the 11th floor that overlooked the river. It was a very clean room and no funky smells or sounds. It was typically what one would expect from a Marriott. We ordered continental breakfast for room service, bagles were warm and toasted nicely and the friut was fresh and plentiful. It was raining the night we were to go out to dinner so we decided to eat at the hotel at Shula's...as in Don Shula coach of the Miami Dolphins restuarant chain. Food was good as was the service. Prices were Marriott prices $$$, but at least we didn't have to go out in the rain looking for a decent place to eat. We also ate breakfast at the house restaurant on the second floor. Typical buffet and omlette station. Service was not very attentive, I think they were understaffed and not expecting the rush that happened that morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent trip to Norfolk to drop your daughter off at ODU. We are glad that we could provide you a clean room and restaurant amenities that you enjoyed. We know how traumatic it can be seeing a kid off to college and a new phase of their life without mom and dad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My fiance and I booked this hotel because we were going out on the Spirit of Norfolk (dinner cruise) and the departure point is directly across the street. Check-in and check-out was very smooth and efficient. Our room was clean and well-maintained by the housekeeping staff. However, we did note the staff still involved in changing out sheets, etc. well after the 4pm check-in time -- perhaps indicating there is not enough housekeeping personnel. We ate breakfast in the hotel and found the food to be very good and the staff to be very friendly. Had drinks and appetizers at Shula's -- again, good service and friendly staff. Only suggestion we could offer would be to put a small refrigerator in the room. Otherwise, we believe anyone would be very satisfied to stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor. Definitely quieter. GREAT views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorpac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Norfolk to go on the Spirit. We are glad that we could provide you with a clean and well-maintained room with friendly service. The next time you visit us, just as for a refrigerator for your room free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing