We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Mickleton, New Jersey
1 review
“A Very Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My fiance and I booked this hotel because we were going out on the Spirit of Norfolk (dinner cruise) and the departure point is directly across the street. Check-in and check-out was very smooth and efficient. Our room was clean and well-maintained by the housekeeping staff. However, we did note the staff still involved in changing out sheets, etc. well after the 4pm check-in time -- perhaps indicating there is not enough housekeeping personnel. We ate breakfast in the hotel and found the food to be very good and the staff to be very friendly. Had drinks and appetizers at Shula's -- again, good service and friendly staff. Only suggestion we could offer would be to put a small refrigerator in the room. Otherwise, we believe anyone would be very satisfied to stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor. Definitely quieter. GREAT views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorpac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Norfolk to go on the Spirit. We are glad that we could provide you with a clean and well-maintained room with friendly service. The next time you visit us, just as for a refrigerator for your room free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    339
    163
    59
    52
See reviews for
154
187
37
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband, myself and his family stayed at this hotel celebrating my mother-in-law's 50th birthday. Upon arrival, we found out that all of our rooms were on different floors, despite our request to be placed on the same floor within close proximity of each other. My husband and I actually arrived a day after the rest of the family and when we went to our room, we noticed that it had not been cleaned even though it was 4pm. We were sharing a room and politely requested of guest services that they send someone to make the beds and bring fresh towels and washtowels. Fortunately, we were quickly supplied with the towels as we were preparing to go on a dinner cruise at 6p and there were 4 adults who needed to freshen up. However, upon returning 5 hours later, we were horrified to see that our room had STILL not been touched. We called guest services to inquire why our room was still not cleaned and we were told that they would send someone up immediately. About 5 minutes later, there was a knock on the door and we were greeted with a very frustrated man holding bed linens, blankets, pillows and towels who informed us that we could make our own beds. Now I am certainly not above making my own bed, however, if I am paying a pretty penny for my room, I expect a certain standard -- especially of the Marriott. The following day, my sister-in-law asked guest services about continental breakfast and we were told that there wasn't a continental breakfast but we could purchase breakfast downstairs at Shula's 347. We stayed on the 23rd floor, which happened to be the concierge level -- there WAS in fact a continental breakfast supplied for people staying on these floors (22nd, 23rd & 24th). This should have been something that we were notified of when we checked in and we were not.

This was my first time staying at this hotel while traveling to the Hampton Roads area. Normally, we stay at the Founders Inn and Spa in VA Beach, however, I had heard wonderful things about this hotel and it was in close proximity to where our cruise was located at. Unfortunately, our experience here was extremely lackluster and disappointing, to say the least. It is highly unlikely that I will return here to stay again and I would probably say the same thing for the rest of my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the level of service you received during your visit. There is no excuse why your room was not cleaned while you were here. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping department to alleviate any further mistakes. We apologize for not telling you about breakfast in the concierge lounge: however, it is only open Monday through Friday and we should have clearly explained this to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our experience here was horrible. Unfortunately, we were forced to stay here on 2 separate occasions, once on the way to the Outer Banks and once on the way back. Both experiences were simply horrific.

We arrived at 2 with a 4.5 year old who was not feeling well. Being a Marriott Elite member, we had asked for early check in. We've done this all over the world with no problem. Here, it was a problem.

We had booked 2 rooms. We were told the neither room was ready and told to check back. As a result, we went to Shula's, the restaurant in the hotel. We ordered some basics like french fries and the fried polenta. After about 10 minutes, we were told that those items weren't available. Something in the kitchen wasn't working. They couldn't make fries! So we re-ordered and ate some food that was so bland and tasteless it's not even worth writing about.

At 3 we asked if our room was ready (only one hour before the official check in). Again, the answer was no. Apparently being a Marriott Elite member doesn't even get you a check-in less than one hour early. Having traveled all day and just had some terrible food, I ended up throwing a hissy fit and only after my fit, did they call housekeeping and ask to have one of our rooms ready.

We go to that one room and are told the adjoining room is ours but not ready. Within 5 minutes, they check another family in that room who are so loud we thought there was a riot going on. No joke. We call downstairs and tell them that they just gave away our room. The response was, "no we didn't." We inform them that there is definitely a family in the room that was supposed to be ours and they send people up and sure enough, an entire family is in there. So it took them another 30 minutes to sort that out and housekeeping had to come clean the room again. We didn't get the key until way after 4:00.

The rooms that have doors to turn them into adjoining rooms are HORRIBLE. They are so loud you can hear every single word being said in the room next to you. EVERY SINGLE WORD. Even if your neighbors are whispering loudly, you can hear every intimate detail of their conversation.

Our room was not cleaned properly. I found an old contact lens on the bed. Yuck!

There are only 4 elevators for over 20 floors. We had to wait an average of 5-10 minutes each time for the elevator to arrive. When it came, there were so many people going to so many different floors, we stopped on every single floor. From the elevator bank to the room it took a minimum of 10 minutes and more like 15 minutes.

When we stayed there a second time (very reluctantly, believe me), they had all our wrong information, gave us the wrong room, put us in a suite that was directly across the elevator bank and so every single person who come and went on that floor, we could hear, including the "BING" of the elevator arriving. They also put us on the floor with the pool so you can only imagine how many people came and went. The room again had an adjoining door and the people next door were up until midnight which meant we had to be up until midnight and they had an early morning flight which meant we were up early. We heard all about their plans, hopes, dreams, not because we knew them but because we heard every word of their conversation through the walls.

It was just such a horrible place, I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. The ONLY positives were that the people in the breakfast area were very, very nice, when you walk into the lobby, it seems like a nice hotel and one of our rooms had a good view. Everything else wasn't just bad, it was terrible. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. It's a complete and utter nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naynee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experinced during your recent stay. We strive everyday to make sure our guest enjoy their time with us and have a pleasant night's sleep. Unfortunately this did not happen in your case, and we can offer no excuses. Your comments have been shared with all of our staff with the hopes of improving our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Waterside Marriott is at the center of everything in Norfolk. Only two blocks from the shopping mall & McArthur Center. Two blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, USS Wisconsin and shops. We stayed for a week and never ran out of things to do. There are plenty of quaint restaurants and sidewalk cafes and a Starbucks across the street. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: check in parking is at a premium. It is best to double park on the street and ask a parking attenta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk, where you can walk to almost everything you need. Thank you for letting us be a part of your visit from South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding which I think was good place.

Hotel has a old style but with a modern twist. Very clean, modern furniture/décor and spacious. Got all the basic facilities and a bit more. The view was nice from the 19th floor where I stayed and location is in central downtown and next to the harbour.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is very good. Swimming Pool is good as well and so is the balcony.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. and would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on one of the high floors if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit with us for a wedding. We are glad that we could provide you with everything you needed and a bit more, including friendly and helpful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the hotel to while traveling through on our way to Florida The location of the hotel was excellent for visiting Naticus, taking a boat cruise, restaurants, and also the MacArthur Center mall. Had a higher floor waterside view and the kids enjoyed watching the ships and boats pass by. Self parked at the adjacent Main Street garage which connects to the hotel via a 3rd floor walkway. We didn't use our car during our stay in Norfolk and had no issues with the parking for the 2 days. Only negative about the hotel was the extra $9.95 per day charge for the internet, which most hotels include in the room cost nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innervision11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us while on your way to Florida. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk as you experienced. Watching the boats going up and down the Elizabeth River is not only enjoyable for kids but also relaxing for the adults.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. Typical Marriott property. Great downtown location (close to restaurants), comfortable bedding, very friendly and helpful staff, great fitness facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivesouth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us on your way to the Outer Banks. In speaking with our guests, a lot of people traveling to the OBX use us a midway point and we are more than happy to take care of everyone. In addition, it gives them an opportunity to enjoy the hospitality that the wonderful city of Norfolk has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#11 of 37 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing