We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveler rating
274
376
205
96
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
376
205
96
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeshula's restaurantpiano bartypical marriottcorner roomnorfolk watersideroom servicegranby streetvalet parkinguss wisconsinmacarthur center mallvalet servicewater viewhotel is in a great locationper dayelizabeth rivertwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from June 27th-July 1st, 2013. It was a very nice hotel in a great location. My two key expectations from a top hotel are a great shower and a great bed and on these two tests, the Marriott aced them. The bed was incredible, as is becoming expected at Marriott hotels and the shower had good pressure and a nice, adjustable head. (We had a little hick-up in that the tub did not drain quickly enough on the first day, but engineering fixed that within an hour or our reporting it.) My one turn off of this hotel and others of its ilk is the idea of paying for Wi-Fi. In this age, it is absurd that any hotel charges for connectivity: it is like charging for lights or TV. It is humorous that cheaper hotels like Days Inn often do not charge for Wi-Fi but more expensive ones do. OK, off the soapbox now.

This hotel has a Shula's steakhouse downstairs as the restaurant, but we did not eat there, as we have a Shula's in our hometown. The bar area of the Shula's was nice enough, but a little pricey as one might expect.

The location of this hotel is greaet with many entertainment and dining choices within easy walking distance. The breeze off the river made the weather pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyTravelingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed one week in this Marriot which is in the center of Norfolk downtown not far away from the Nautilus museum and the waterfront. The hotel is ok but a bid outdated. A shopping mall is just opposite of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wessel_1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great spot downtown and easy to walk anywhere. The naval museum is blocks away as is the big mall and a metro stops even closer. Checkin was easy and the staffs very professional. The only issue we had with the hotel is our stay was in June and it was freezing everywhere in this hotel. The lobby, hallways and especially conference rooms. So be prepared unless its 100 outside. The pool is indoors but there's a nice deck next to it outside. Parking cost and I recommend the self parking in the city garage right across from it for $12 a day and it has walkway on the 3rd floor. Shulas restaurant is a really nice place and its inside the hotel. I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott for a conference. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. My room was just what I needed. The bed was sooooo comfortable I would have liked to bring it home with me. The only negative I found was that high speed internet was only available in your room for a fee of $9.95 per day. You could go to the lobby and it was free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skpswfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm a Marriott Gold card holder and stay with them whenever / wherever. Retrned to the Waterside in Norfolk, VA for the first time in 6-7yrs and wasn't disappointed. Rooms spotless and comfortable and Schula's as dependable as ever. The girls behind the bar are great as is the food and wine / beer selection. Up to standard !!

Room Tip: river frontage rooms are best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAMaldon_Essex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Sincerely,
Robert Henley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews