We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveler rating
266
357
191
81
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
357
191
81
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeshula's restaurantpiano barcorner roomroom servicenorfolk watersidegranby streetvalet parkingmacarthur malluss wisconsinvalet serviceview of the riverper dayrooms are niceelizabeth rivertwo blocksdowntown area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 952 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Going to Norfolk on business, this hotel was the choice. Well organized, clean, effective and attentive staff.
Location is great, nice views on the water, Starbucks across the street.
WiFi works in the lobby, Would be nice if it also worked on the conference floors.
Overall good hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that we were your choice when visiting the Norfolk area from overseas and that we could provide you with a hotel that was, "well organized, clean, effective and attentive staff."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I checked in around 9 pm the staff were welcoming and efficient. The only difficulty I had was with the car parking arrangements. I parked in the main garage opposite the hotel . There is a direct bridge across on level 3 but this was locked and the car park sign says that Marriott guests should park on level 4 to 9 which seemed a bit strange. Once checked in the room I was given was on the eleventh floor looking out over the car park. Not the best view but the room was very quiet. The fitness centre was first class with a full set of running and training equipment. It would have been better if there had been one more cycling machine but that's being picky! One tip regarding the wi-fi is to log on to the second Waterside network on the list. The first one takes you to a screen which asks you to pay 9.95 dollars, the second one is free but only available in the lobby area. I thought that was a bit mean given the other facilities. The restaurant is fine I was served a great burger and a couple of beers which was just what I needed after a long drive in the dark from Washington. There isn't a great deal to look at close to the hotel. USS Wisconsin which is parked close to the hotel is enormous and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Wi-fi is also free in the Piano Lounge, the Dining Room, Shula's 347 Grill and the Concierge Lounge. We are glad that we were able to make your visit across the Atlantic a confortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a conference that was held at the Norfolk Marriott. I have stayed in Norfolk many times, but never in this location. The location is fantastic, right down near the river. Parking is in a garage managed by the city of Norfolk and has a breeze way that connects directly to the hotel on the 3rd floor. All of the staff that I encountered were extremely friendly and I am usually looking and watching for things that I like or don't like. The lobby was decorated for Halloween and they have a drawing at 6 pm each night for prizes for Marriott Rewards Members. The concierge lounge on the top floor was not well stocked during the evening hours, but I may have gotten there after everyone ate the items. One of the escalators was out of service the two days that I was there and required navigating with the elevators for one direction. Overall a great place to stay with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaniz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay during a recent conference. We hope that the conference was informative and that you enjoyed it as much as your stay with us. Now that you have experienced our extremely friendly staff, the next time you visit Norfolk you'll know where to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice hotel but the customer service by George alone who works the front desk would make me never want to return even though my previous experiences had been positive. Verbally attacking a female guest is never acceptable by a hotel employee.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPTA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Please accept our sincere apology for the misunderstanding that occured during your visit. We do not give keys to guests whom are not registered to that room for security reasons. The incident has been discussed with all parties involved in order to improve our service to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for the Norfolk Wine Festival and everything was wonderful! The valet service was wonderful, he took our bag right to our room. The room was ready when we arrived at 10:15am! The piano bar on the second floor and the bar tender (Henry - I think) was superb. Our room was clean and had a great view of the water and the festival. You wont be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimmyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay during the Norfolk Wine Festival. We are very proud of our staff and could not be more pleased when words like "wonderful"and "superb" are used to describe them. The next time you want a local getaway, please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews