We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Beautiful Views”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A conference hotel, this Marriott is a plus on service and energy. Concierge level special order omelets were a wonderful feature, unexpected and delicious. Rooms are a bit small but they are comfortable with lovely views and extra comfy beds.

Room Tip: Special request a waterside view to maximize your experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighwayPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the wonderful features of our concierge level and that we could provide you service and energy that were a plus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    348
    174
    66
    53
See reviews for
160
194
38
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located, near several good restaurants whether you prefer locally owned or chain. The hotel is not one of the huge, modern confections but a solid hotel with great service. Check-in was fast and the staff pleasant and efficient. Rooms have big desks with enough outlets to charge your gadgets, sufficiently bright lighting. Amenities are abundant. Bathroom had several sets of towels. Spotless room and bathroom. Wonderfully well equipped gym, as usual Marriott has it open 24 hours, very sensible. The in-house restaurant, Shula's, got great reviews from my coworkers for steaks, but I ate a couple blocks away at Hell's Kitchen. Schlotzky's deli, Starbucks's across the street. Big mall about a block away, as is a wonderful museum whose subject is General Douglas MacArthur. Don't miss it, even if you only like history in small doses. Wireless internet is available in hotel for free, by the way. Overall a no-nonsense, well-run, well-staffed hotel that I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Better than the comment about our "great central location," we are glad that you found the staff to be "pleasant and efficient." The nexrt time you visit, you need to make sure you visit Shula's so that you too can try one of our great steaks. From your history of reviews, that should be in about 7 months from now and thank you for being a loyal Norfolk Waterside guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of a convention. Two of the elevators kept breaking down during our stay. They had two conventions in the hotel at one time.
I found the hotel a little run down. Ripped rug, and wallpaper in our room. Safety hazard with the fridge under sink and cord plugged in next to sink. Room was clean and beds are super comfortable but the pillows were flat. The service/housekeeper area on our floor was filthy and the staff kept the door open for all guest to see.
Parking is in the municipal lots on both sides of the hotel. Pool area was nice but you got to carry your chair out to the outside deck if you want to be outside and catch some sun. This hotel does have coin operated washer dryer - which is great.
Free wifi in the lobby, lounge and convention center was intermittent. No free wifi in rooms.
We tried to order room service one night but nobody answered the phone, we walk down to Shula steakhouse (way overpriced for the quality of food) and got it to take out. From then on we didn't eat at the hotel, there are enough great local places nearby to satisfy.
This hotel is downtown and on weekends the surrounding area is a ghost town. The smaller restaurants open on weekdays.
It is an easy walk to the light rail, McArthur mall, USS Wisconsin and the waterfront area with ferry access to Portsmoth. Across the street is a great breakfast place D'egg. Granby St is the street with a lot of restaurant offerings and is a short walk. Brick house diner ( mon-fri) on St. Paul's is another great breakfast spot or Bean There coffee shop. Try the 3 way cafe for unique lunch, on Plume St.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NewburghNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for being "average." We are scheduled for a renovation of our guest rooms starting at the end of this year which would alleviate the majority of the issues. Your comments have been shared with all departments to help improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I checked into this hotel on Septemter 27, 2012 to attend an appointment.My first experience was the bell man and his ability to inform me of some wonderful kid friendly things to do at the waterside as I did have my young son with me.I had a wonderful view of norfolk waterside from our room.Along with the fabulous cleanliness of the room and hotel itself.The conceirge lounge gave me a chance to sit back relax and enjoy our morning breakfast and evening snack.The chef and hostess in the conceirge lounge were A++.To bad I didn't get their names i would love to send them a thank huge thanks.I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back again when we visit the norfolk, virginia area.

Room Tip: Just ask the wonderful front desk crew and they truly make every effort to accomaodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGoldCandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit. The most memorable part of a trip is normally not anything physical but the interactions you have with people. We are glad that our staff made this such a wonderful part of your stay. The next time you head south on 95, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. Overall a nice hotel. We decided late minute to go to Norfolk. We always stay in Marriott so this was my first choice..We got a great rate and the room was overall nice and clean...I do not think the bed we had was a king even though the front desk told us it was...If so it is the smallest King I have ever seen. We had a the breakfast buffet (included in the rate) and it was very nice. Overall we would definitely stay there again...nice water or city views, nice restaurants close by, but do not valet park your car 26 dollars, you can park in the same parking deck across the street for 12 dollars a night. Just a tip :) My only complaint would be the elevator doors and escalators were crazy loud, like they needed some type of maintenance. Sounds silly I know, but seriously you could hear if from our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise problem with the elevator and escalator. Your comments have been shared with our engineering department to resolve thse issues. We are glad that we could provide you a nice, clean room and a central location to visit our fine city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently attended a convention for Submarine Veterans and can't speak highly enough about the wonderful service. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and
friendly. We're amazed how professional the food service was at the banquet; delicious and hot! Hotel is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants. This hotel was tops of all the conventions we have attended.
D. Schmidt

Room Tip: It is convenient to be near elevator as we are seniors. Would prefer a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Thank you for your service and it was truly an honor and pleasure taking care of you and your guests during the Submarine Veterans Convention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in good location. Near light rail stop, near McArthur Mall, Harbor Park, Town Point Park and Nauticus.

I-264 is conveniently nearby.

Great restaurants nearby

Hooters, Outback, Joe's Crab Shack, Freemason Abbey, Shula's 357, d'Egg Diner

All in walking distance.

Nice place to stay. Convention center facilities are top notch.

Only knock is that Wi Fi is not free in rooms, just in LobbyAreas.


For breakfast skip hotel prices and go directly across the street to D' Egg Diner.

Also, Starbucks is next door to D'Egg restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tredawg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk as you pointed out in your review. All of our staff are always striving to take care of our guests to the best of their ability and to be "top notch" at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#2 of 37 in Norfolk
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
6.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing