We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice hotel, great staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean. A couple issues: I really wanted a room with a balcony. For whatever reason, not all rooms have balconies...not sure why, especially on the water side. Apparently the hotel can't reserve rooms with balconies, it's first come first serve, or so I was told. When we checked in, all the balcony rooms were taken. The next day I checked to see if any became available, the desk clerk said no, but check in later because someone who reserved one might cancel. I was a little confused because I was told several times rooms with balconies can't be reserved. Our other issues is we paid for valet parking, only to find out someone keyed our vehicle the first night - a large, deep scratch across the front of our new truck. The truck was parked on the side lot, next to the sidewalk - with no fence. Not very secure, for valet parking. When we told the attendants, they kept our vehicle in the front lot where its more secure. We filed a claim and hope it is taken care of - I don't believe it is resolved yet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Do not think that this review is for the Norfolk Waterside Marriott because none of our rooms have balconies and our valet lot is on the 10th floor of a parking garage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Waterside Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 909 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Waterside Hotel during a weekend wedding of some friends. The hotel was in a great location, easy to walk everywhere in Norfolk. It is also right on the water, great to walk one block and see all of the boats.
The hotel is a bit outdated but our room was comfortable and clean. When the hotel is full the elevators can take forever.
The exercise room was surprisingly nice, lots of equipment and plenty of machines.
The only real downside of our stay was that the ice machines on most floors were broken or empty!
Tip for parking: Valet is $26 per day or you can self park right across the street. Marriott charges $19 to park there but you can just pay the parking attendant on your way out for only $12 per day. I wish the Marriott had shared this info with us!!

Room Tip: The views are best from rooms higher in the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cslbwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. Your comments have be shared with our engineering department to fix the ice machines. The difference in parking fees is that one allows for in and out access and the $12 is a one-time fee. Please accept our sincere apology is we did not inform you of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I just looked at the list of hotels rated higher than the Marriott and there is no way that they come close to providing a better experience, comfort or service than the Marriott. For one thing, none of them are full service hotels and, second, just look at some of the photos taken by travelers-not the touched up photos supplied by the properties!

My wife and I have stayed at the Waterside Marriott almost every Labor Day weekend in the last 10 or so years (except when the property has been sold out and we had to find other accommodations) and every year we comment on the great job they do as far as the upkeep of the property and we always get the same great service we've come to expect. In addition, both the restaurant on the second level and in the lobby are good options for breakfast, lunch or dinner if you don't feel like going out.

Needless to say, I highly recommend it and we'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments abour your recent stay and for being a loyal Norfolk Waterside Marriott guest. The management and staff make every effort so that every one of our guests will call us, "Best Hotel in Norfolk. Period." We look forward to taking care of you and your guests next Labor Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A good quality Marriott property. The staff service is fantastic. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good restaurant choices nearby.

TV service and internet access left a lot to be desired. HD TVs in the rooms, but poor quality signal. Internet speed was mind-numbingly slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced with the internet and tv service. Your comments have been shared with our engineering department in order to fix these issues. We are glad that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

One nite stay, arrived with no reservation, given a king room on 20th floor. Great view but bed was unmade.....then moved to 16th floor and obviously it was preoccupied by a smoker. Third room was perfect, overlooking harbor. Clean, great view, just what we needed. The staff were terrific, aoplogizing profusely for the inconvenience. Parking is in the muni garage across the street, not bad at all. This is a very big hotel that must host conventions, but we used it as a one nighter and it worked. Located right by the harbor, it was an easy 10 min walk to granby street and plenty of dining options..... And we were impressed that the ad unit was effective but so quiet....many hotels have those annoying loud ac units.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments abour your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues with your room. Even though we are a large hotel that host large conventions, we like to treat all of our guests with individual attention. Being a seasoned world traveler, you can appreciate our central location near restaurants, shopping, museums and Town Point Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights, Loved it-very clean. My only complaint was noise coming from the hallway at about 2o'clock in the morning. It didn't last long. I am a light sleeper. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I always like the higher room for theview . Ask for the waterfront view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for the late night noisy guest. We are glad that we could overcome this incident with a very clean room and very friendly and helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were here for a convention in July, 2012. At first the hotel looks like it has been refurbished, but it was in fact built in 1991 as part of the redevelopment of the downtown area. The lobby of the hotel looks like something out of "Gone With The Wind". A very large staircase descending from the floor above. The second level has a piano bar, although during the week that we were there, we never saw a piano. The room was comfortable and clean. There was apparently an issue with the housekeeping staff and their duties which arose during our stay. That issue was resolved during the 7 days that we were there. The TV coverage as is common in most Marriotts, did not feature a lot of the channels which we receive at home.

The swimming pool was very nice with several hot tubs surrounding it. From the pool deck, you get an excellent view of Portsmouth across the river.

Across Main St. from the hotel is the D'egg Diner and a Starbucks. D'egg has a M-F breakfast special for $3.84. You can't beat it (no pun intended).

The hotel is a block and a half from the MacArthur memorial as well as The Tide light rail stop. It is 2 blocks from the MacArthur mall which features a Dillards, food court, multiplex cinema, and several free standing restaurants. Basically everything you would expect in a suburban mall but right downtown.

Monday through Friday various complimentary "treats" were served in the lobby. These included fruit, ice cream, pretzels and chicken.

I would recommended this hotel to anyone who wants to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk.

Room Tip: Look for a room on a high floor overlooking the Elizabeth River.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. From your "trainman52" id, we assume that you were with the Lionel Train Collectors Convention. From the bottom of our hearts, you all were a true pleasure and thank you for choosing Norfolk and the Waterside Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#2 of 37 in Norfolk
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
17.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $138 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing