We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A good quality Marriott property. The staff service is fantastic. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good restaurant choices nearby.

TV service and internet access left a lot to be desired. HD TVs in the rooms, but poor quality signal. Internet speed was mind-numbingly slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced with the internet and tv service. Your comments have been shared with our engineering department in order to fix these issues. We are glad that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 923 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

One nite stay, arrived with no reservation, given a king room on 20th floor. Great view but bed was unmade.....then moved to 16th floor and obviously it was preoccupied by a smoker. Third room was perfect, overlooking harbor. Clean, great view, just what we needed. The staff were terrific, aoplogizing profusely for the inconvenience. Parking is in the muni garage across the street, not bad at all. This is a very big hotel that must host conventions, but we used it as a one nighter and it worked. Located right by the harbor, it was an easy 10 min walk to granby street and plenty of dining options..... And we were impressed that the ad unit was effective but so quiet....many hotels have those annoying loud ac units.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments abour your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues with your room. Even though we are a large hotel that host large conventions, we like to treat all of our guests with individual attention. Being a seasoned world traveler, you can appreciate our central location near restaurants, shopping, museums and Town Point Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights, Loved it-very clean. My only complaint was noise coming from the hallway at about 2o'clock in the morning. It didn't last long. I am a light sleeper. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I always like the higher room for theview . Ask for the waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apology for the late night noisy guest. We are glad that we could overcome this incident with a very clean room and very friendly and helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were here for a convention in July, 2012. At first the hotel looks like it has been refurbished, but it was in fact built in 1991 as part of the redevelopment of the downtown area. The lobby of the hotel looks like something out of "Gone With The Wind". A very large staircase descending from the floor above. The second level has a piano bar, although during the week that we were there, we never saw a piano. The room was comfortable and clean. There was apparently an issue with the housekeeping staff and their duties which arose during our stay. That issue was resolved during the 7 days that we were there. The TV coverage as is common in most Marriotts, did not feature a lot of the channels which we receive at home.

The swimming pool was very nice with several hot tubs surrounding it. From the pool deck, you get an excellent view of Portsmouth across the river.

Across Main St. from the hotel is the D'egg Diner and a Starbucks. D'egg has a M-F breakfast special for $3.84. You can't beat it (no pun intended).

The hotel is a block and a half from the MacArthur memorial as well as The Tide light rail stop. It is 2 blocks from the MacArthur mall which features a Dillards, food court, multiplex cinema, and several free standing restaurants. Basically everything you would expect in a suburban mall but right downtown.

Monday through Friday various complimentary "treats" were served in the lobby. These included fruit, ice cream, pretzels and chicken.

I would recommended this hotel to anyone who wants to be centrally located in downtown Norfolk.

Room Tip: Look for a room on a high floor overlooking the Elizabeth River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. From your "trainman52" id, we assume that you were with the Lionel Train Collectors Convention. From the bottom of our hearts, you all were a true pleasure and thank you for choosing Norfolk and the Waterside Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently visited the Norfolk Waterside Marriott for a convention planning meeting and was very pleased with the amount of meeting room space and location of the hotel. Lots of restaurants nearby in all price ranges.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you four your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We have four floors of convention space with over 60,000 square feet of meeting space, which can comfortable accomodate most conventions. We are also centrally located near shopping, restaurants, museums and Town Point Park, where numerous concerts and festivals take place each year. We look forward to taking care of you and your guests upon your arrival for your upcoming convention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I had the occasion to stay at this hotel Friday night. My impressions of this hotel are mixed. Upon arrival, I was pleased with the flexibility of being able to check in late without hassle. The young lady that handled our check-in did not seem to have the same dedication to customer service and quality as the young lady right beside her. Nadia mispronounced our last name while pointing out the hotel’s amenities on a letter that she gave us. I work in a customer oriented environment and thought that the check-in process left a bit to be desired.
We were all looking for a bite to eat after the road; we were on the fence about going to the hotel’s restaurant and lounge because we were told that they close at 11PM. We opted to take our chances and were pleasantly surprised to find out that they feature a late night menu and are open until 1AM on weekends. The front desk staff did not apprise us of that. The food and service were AWESOME.
As far as the room, the overall room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom is in need of serious mold removal and the tub needed to be unclogged. Otherwise we were pleased with room. We would stay again; this hotel meets Marriott’s high standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Elizabeth River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOE1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues that you experienced. Your comments have been shared with all departments in order to improve our service to all of our guests. We are glad that we were able to satisfy that late night bite to eat at Shula's 347 Grill with "AWESOME service and food."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautiful hotel, very clean, people that worked here were very helpful and nice. The beds were so comfortable.... I had a very good experience.... The location is great. A mall is within walking distance as are some very good restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent view of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyKathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Out of all the positive comments that you made, we are most proud of the one where you found the staff to be helpful and nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $131 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing