We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I called this Marriott on the off change they had two rooms at a government rate, with no notice and no reservation. The voice on the other end of the phone line was pleasant and helpful. Unless I had a hundred friends, they had rooms. We received two standard rooms, each with a king size bed. Large flat screen TV, lights that came on right away and actually provided light, large desk with a couple extra outlets in the lamp. Wi-fi is available for $9.95/day. No fridge in the room. In the older Marriotts this is common. Not a huge gripe, just annoying. Across the street are two deli type places and a Starbucks with wi-fi. Also within a couple blocks walking distance is a huge, very well-kept mall, a US Navy museum and a memorial museum for Gen Douglas Macarthur that is fascinating and a must-see for fans of WWII history. Lots of restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate vicinity. There isn't much to do in the hotel itself, but as usual in the Marriott chain, there is a great little gym and pool area. I would stay here again, it's pleasant and well located.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit and we are glad that we had a room available. We are very fortunate to be centrally located close to shopping, restaurants, museums and Town Point Park. There is free wi-fi in several areas of the hotel, such as the lobby, the Dining Room, the Piano Lounge, Shula's 347 Grill and the concierge lounge. In addition, refrigerators are available free of charge to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    339
    163
    59
    52
See reviews for
154
187
37
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I are taking a road trip after Christmas and stopped in Norfolk. Having stayed at another Marriott hotel in Norfolk over the summer we decided to switch it up and stay in a new location. This hotel was great, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the value was terrific! Comfortable King sized bed and plenty of room!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel.

Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Sincerely,
Robert Henley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights recently. Nice corner room on the 23rd floor with great views across the river to Portsmouth. Concierge lounge on 24th floor had a good breakfast. Kind of a maze from the parking garage. Have to go on elevator in garage, then walk hallway, down escalator then over to lobby. Parking can be expensive. That's my only complaint.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the amenities provided by our concierge lounge. Unfortunately, both garages attached to the hotel are owned and managed by the city of Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We were put at this hotel for business and I wasn't totally thrilled because I wasn't impressed when I stayed here years before. I was so pleasantly surprised! The valets were right there when pulling up and the lobby looked great decorated for the holidays. I was impressed when walking into my room, they have obviously been updating and when they did they took it up a notch, Beautiful room with an incredible view of the river. Very happy that night!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank joan3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. If we are going to surprise a guest, it is always good that it is one that results in a positive experience. So the next time you head south on 95, come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our company had a holiday party at the hotel and was kind enough to provide us rooms for the night. The hotel staff was very friendly, the check-in could not have been smoother, and being a local, I knew the location was ideal. if you are travelling into Norfolk, there is not a hotel more centrally located. The cruise terminal/Nauticus is less than a 5 minute walk, the light rail station is around the corner, and Granby Street has everything you might need from fine dining to nightclubs to sports bars.

My only complaint with the hotel is the age of the room. The guesrooms could all use a nice update. You can tell the hotel has tried to keep it upscale, but you can also tell that the rooms need a good gutting and makeover.

I would not shy away from the hotel, but the Courtyard down the street is a little more modern. You might give up the swanky lobby, but the room is prob. just a little nicer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monacrh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for letting us be a part of your holiday celebration. As you know, we are very fortunate to be within walking distance of restaurants, museums, shopping and Town Point Park in downtown Norfolk. Plans for renovation are starting with the lobby and 2nd floor lounge area, with guest rooms to follow. Hopefully next year for your holiday party you can stay in a newly renovated room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I arrived in March of 2011 for 4 nights. I was immediately checked in by the front desk. The staff saw to my needs with a warm welcome. There is a great restaurant on the property. The food is divine. This place is a must stay for those of us who enjoy history and want to stay in the downtown area of the city. this is truly a classic for the soul.

Room Tip: Get there as soon as possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us here at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. We are glad that you were able to check in immmediately and had the opportunity to enjoy the food in Shula's 347 Grill. We can only hope to be a "classic for the soul" to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

All staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to guests. We requested a room change after our first night, and were surprised at how easily it was taken care of during a busy conference weekend. The rooms were decent and beds were comfortable. Convenient location to Starbucks, diner and shopping mall. Waterside views were beautiful. Elevators seemed slower than usual, but it was not a big deal.

Room Tip: Request upper floors facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLove330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent conference, here at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. We are glad that we could honor your room request and that you found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. As you stated in your review, we are fortunate to be centrally located within walking distance to the shopping mall, restaurants, museums and Town Point Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#11 of 37 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing