We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow, I was very impressed with the customer service this hotel had to offer. My family and I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent cross-country move. I called the front desk at 8:30am to see if they could store luggage until check-in time, and instead they were able to get us into a room. I was so grateful to them, that is such a rare occurrence to be able to check in so early.

This was the second time we've stayed here and it's just generally a nice, clean hotel. The lobby is modern with nice furniture and they offer a free warm breakfast each morning. On the Monday night we stayed there was also a manager's reception in the lobby that served drinks and nachos. These seemed to take place every Monday.

The parking is pretty easy with a garage option available for $18/day or meters (that are off on the weekends) right outside of the hotel. We stayed during Harborfest, one of the largest fests in the area, and had no trouble getting a meter. The room rates were not bad, and comparable to other hotels in the area.

The kitchenette was nice to be able to get some groceries instead of eating out every meal. They even have a grocery service available for you. The pool was small, but never crowded and the workout room had a nice selection of free weights, and never a crowd.

Room Tip: The wifi was not meant for the rooms, only lobby, but you were able to get a small signal in the gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.

Your comments and suggestions tell us what we are doing right and how we can improve.

We wish you the best on your new journey.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    115
    32
    23
    6
See reviews for
112
68
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Staff were friendly. We booked a 2 bedroom suite and it smelled of smoke. The desk offered us another room or have the one we had cleaned. We were only staying one night so chose the latter, dId not totally solve the problem. Breakfast area untidy, cereal all over the place. Expensive to park, but does offer free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We have had our parking challenges and will continue to work with the city to rectify the issues as quickly as possible. We do apologize this impacted your stay.

Thank you for making us aware of the messy cereal station. We do strive to keep the breakfast area neat during the entire meal time.

We hope you return to the hotel to see we have made strides in improving our guest experience.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile


I've been staying from Va beach to Chesapeake to Norfolk since January. I would have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.. Too bad it was short lived. The parking garage was across the street, no available parking on the bottom floors and the elevators were out of order. A couple of nights the ticket dispenser to enter into the garage was out of tickets, but yet the hotel wanted to still charge $18 per night for parking. The breakfast was ok. There was no meat the first day but the best thing was the dry cereal. The dinners in the evening were bland. The mashed potatoes were smashed potatoes and the gravy looked like chocolate pudding. I guess it being free takes away from the quality. I doubt that I would ever stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeTraveler1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
You are correct the elevator was out of service in the city garage. The desk team should have suggested you load and unload your luggage from the front door. Since we do not operate the garage the city did not give us notice they were completing maintenance on the elevator. I apologize for this inconvenience.

We have a rotating menu and offer biscuits and sausage gravy on Sunday. We do appreciate your comments and I would like to know more about your evening social experience if you would like to reach out to me to discuss. Please feel free to call me at the hotel 757-842-6216.

Thank you again for your comments.

Striving to be better,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was in Norfolk for business and was fortunate enough to call this hotel home for a night-- wish it had been longer!!! This is a beautiful property with fantastic customer service and, most importantly, exemplary accommodations. I am very particular about my lodging since I travel weekly for business and prefer the most home-like (and CLEAN) experience possible and this was one of my most memorable stays because those needs were not only met but were exceeded. My room truly felt like an apartment-- very well-appointed, from the bedding, to the artwork on the walls, to the beautiful kitchen with everything needed to cook and enjoy homemade meals... everything was very nice. The location was, likewise, an important reason this hotel ranks so highly-- central to everything, making getting around very convenient. I hope to get a chance to go back on future travels and encourage you to enjoy this lovely hotel for yourself without giving it a second thought! This is the place you want to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiesdreamtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We are always excited when our guests enjoy their stay and experience the downtown Norfolk area.

We hope you have an opportunity to return to the area and come back to the Residence Inn Downtown by Marriott.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here on a quick one night trip - room was ready when we arrived, the service was friendly and helpful and they were quick to offer maps and share ideas on what to see.

Room was clean and comfortable - the kitchenette was fully stocked and the bed was very comfortable. There is also a nice gym and pool with whirlpool.

Breakfast was generous and there was plenty of selection. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We love that you were able to get away for a weekend and chose to stay in Norfolk. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Downtown.

We have many great restaurant, great festivals and plenty of exciting attraction. We hope you again have a chance to get away and come back to see us.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here for 9 days while dealing with a medical issue and I cannot express what a great hotel this was!!!! Location was central to the waterfront, Nauticus, downtown restaurants, the Chrysler Museum, a great mall called the MacArthur Center and more!! I was able to park my car and walk the entire week. The staff was beyond courteous and friendly from the front desk to management. I just cannot say enough about the excellent customer care. That's as important to me as are room accommodations which were perfect! I will only stay here the next time I'm back in Norfolk!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for you review.

We know hospital stays can be stressful. We are happy we made your time in Norfolk more enjoyable and hope that you return to the Residence Inn Downtown when you can enjoy all the wonderful restaurants and attractions we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We visited Norfolk to see the Rubber Duck sculpture and picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Chrysler Museum. We were not disappointed. Upon arriving in Norfolk at 11:00 a.m., we stopped at the front desk to sort out parking in the public garage across the street before walking over to the museum and were pleasantly surprised to be offered an early check in. Our king studio was well-furnished, clean, and in good order. The lobby is spacious and cheerful. Maria at the front desk was very helpful with directions to restaurants and the nearby light rail stop. My husband is already talking about wanting to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are very excited to have "the Duck" so close to the hotel for the grand re-opening of our Chrysler Museum of Art.

If your travels bring you back to Norfolk we hope you again stay with us here at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#4 of 37 in Norfolk
181 reviews
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing