We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

When planning our trip to Norfolk, we chose this location due to a holiday package offer through Norfolk's website. We were extremely pleased with our decision, and will choose this hotel again the next time we are in Norfolk.

As far as making reservations, it was through the website and quite easy to do. When making our reservation, we requested extra pillows and towels for our stay. Also, based on reviews on trip advisor, we requested a top floor room to limit possible noise from the streets. All of our requests were met and arranged upon our arrival.

Being a downtown location, we had already expected and budgeted for the parking. $18/day is a little high, but the convenience of being able to come and go was worth the price. Walking into the lobby, the hotel was very clean and presentable. We promptly got our key cards and went to our room. It was very nice, plenty of room in our selected the king studio.

Our experience with the staff was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful if asked for local travel/eatery advice.

As far as breakfast, it was relatively standard fare. No complaints.

Room Tip: Top floor is a smart choice to limit street noise if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushesrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your package. We are relatively new to packaging here at the hotel and have so many wonderful things to see and do in the area.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we do hope you have an opportunity to return to Norfolk and the Residence Inn Downtown.

Best wishes for the holidays.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    111
    26
    20
    6
See reviews for
104
61
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
351 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights while visiting the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area. The hotel is located very well for business travelers to the area, and has easy access to main roads if you are inclined to drive to Virginia Beach. The staff was very friendly and accomodating not only during check-in, but during the evening snack someone came over to ask if our children had something to make sure that they were happy as well. Room was very clean. Breakfast was very busy for the limited space (service area) but the employees kept the food stocked and it was a nice selection (better than the standard chain cereals, fruit, etc). Parking was across the street, but easily accessible. We would recommend this hotel and will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank your for your review. We will share your comments at our morning stand up meeting.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Norfolk. If you return for busniess or pleasure we do hope you again choose the Residence Inn Downtown for your hotel.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2014.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I rarely review the same hotel a second time, but this stay was even better than the previous stays. The check-in was the fastest I had ever witnessed in a few decades of business travel. Notable for breakfast was the spinach and feta with egg open faced on an English muffin (yum!). This was definitely not typical Residence Inn fare. Everything else about the room remains top notch for business, couples or family. The $18 parking is unfortunate, but it's a city owned garage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking garage side are quieter. Rooms on the busy Brambleton side have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski_Bear_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We love our return visitors. Even better that your return trip was more pleasant then the last stay.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor review. We do hope you enjoy the holidays and we are looking forward to your return trip in 2014.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent two nights at the Residence Inn Downtown Norfolk. Arrived at about 9:30pm. Front desk was very friendly Showed us where to park and asked us if there was anything we needed. First morning front desk showed where to catch the trolly down to Waterside. Room was very nice and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Norfolk.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please feel free to reach out to us prior to your stay or anytime during your stay.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was one of the cleanest and best Marriott chains I have ever stayed. The staff was exceptionally well trained, empowered to please the guest. You could tell this was a well managed facility. From the front desk to the maintenance crew, each employee made me feel like I was home. The rooms exceeded normal Marriott standards in cleaniness and style. The classic comfortable beds and the kitchen area were top notch. This is why I almost exclusively stay at a Marriott properties. I will be staying at this hotel anytime I need lodging in downtown Norfolk. Great Weekend stop for annual events happening in downtown Norfolk, business or just pleasure.

Room Tip: A pet friendly hotel that has floors specifically designated for non-pet rooms. All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbaraw757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Barbara, Thank you for your review.

Your kind words are appreciated. We are happy you enjoyed your weekend here in Norfolk.

It appears you may have been here during our fall Virginia Wine Festival. If this is the case we would like to remind you we have a spring wine festival just as lovely.

We do hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown for a night during the Virginia Wine Festival at Town Pointe Park. We were given a one bedroom suite with kitchen, living room area, large closet and double-sink bathroom.

The cleanliness, friendliness of the staff, attention to detail in the room design and ease of check-in/check-out is what will keep me recommending this hotel to visiting family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the review.

Remember we do have another wine festival in May. We do hope you have an opportunity to visit the the Residence Inn Downtown in the near future.

Thanks for being our guest.

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Myself and a friend attended the Norfolk Wine Festival and booked this Hotel due to its location to a variety of walkable amenities. Upon check in, we were greeted with a friendly smile by Maria that offered directions to our event and a few Restaurants without even asking her. The spacious home away from home and over the top genuine service made our short staycation PERFECT and stress free! I highly recommend this Hotel in the event your travels find you in downtown Norfolk.

Room Tip: You must say hello to, Maria!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RBlaineDorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Virginia Wine Festival is one of the premier events along the Elizabeth River in the fall. This years weather also helped make the festival a great time.

Maria is a wonderful asset to our team and a joy to be around.

We do hope to see you back for the Spring Wine Festival

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing