We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, solid service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice design, solid service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Rooms were well appointed and appeared either new or newly remodeled. Staff had room ready for a slightly early check-in, which was appreciated. Parking is a tad inconvenient; using a public structure across the street, but this is common in urban locations and no fault of the hotel.

Location is not within walking distance of local attractions, but not more than a mile or so. Enjoyed the modern design of this RI, as opposed to may which are apartment or villa style.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJoelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are happy you enjoyed your time in the Norfolk area and had an opportunity to enjoy the hotel. If your travels bring you back to the area we do hope you choose the Residence Inn Downtown for your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    114
    32
    22
    6
See reviews for
109
67
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pet friendly, free wifi, continental breakfast, nighly appetizers, fitness center, laundry room, immaculatly clean, fabulous customer service, walking distance to downtown restaurants/ entertainment, amazingly comfortable matresses- excellent stay! Stayed in a king studio w/ my husband and pup in between military moves for 30days. Couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very centrally located to a variety of our major attractions. The view of the Elizabeth River/waterfront harbor from our higher floors is amazing.

We do hope you have an opportunity to come and visit us again. Have a great summer.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I traveled here for a long weekend in late June. The location of this hotel is good in that you're a few blocks away from the waterfront area in Norfolk, and then you can hop in a car and head east for 15 minutes and you're at the Atlantic Ocean. It's a nice blend of urban and beach within a few minutes.

The hotel doesn't have parking, but there is a garage that is literally a few steps away that cost us $16 per day. Not ideal, but since I live in an urban area paying for parking is quite normal; to have the proximity to downtown this is literally the price you have to pay.

The common areas of the hotel, from the waiting area to the breakfast area to the indoor pool were all in great condition with a bit of flair in the design. Basically the entire ground floor is devoted to the lobby/check-in, the pool / fitness center, and a lot of seating. With the (complimentary!) evening receptions and breakfasts, you'll find this area fills up pretty well with people.

The room we had was very nice: a one-bedroom unit with double beds and a pullout sofa in the living room. Full kitchen with a dining table for 4 as well as a work desk with chair were also in the living/dining area. The bathroom did lack a fan, but the sink and vanity were separate from the toilet/shower which is nice for multiple people getting ready for the day.

We were on floor 9 and had a southerly view of downtown Norfolk and the harbor. If you like views ask for a higher floor.

The staff were very helpful and kind. It was a good trip, and the kids are already asking when we'll go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a south view will get you nice water views of downtown Norfolk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NateS-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are very lucky to have a nice extended stay hotel in a downtown area. We are very close to many attractions as well as great shopping.

We do hope you have another chance to stay at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, GHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was ready for my 2 day vacation in downtown Norfolk when I got lost trying to find the hotel. My GPS did not help and had the hotel clerk guide me while I was on the phone and my spouse was driving. Check in was easy and staff was helpful/courteous. Room was a bit of a disappointment as I found 3 stains on the carpet entrance, a stain on the window curtains, and hair on the toilet bowl. There was no exhaust in the bathroom which made it tough to make toilet smells to dissipate. Breakfast was sufficient although can be crowded in the last 40 minutes of the free buffet. They ran out of some breakfast food last Saturday morning and must have been overwhelmed by the volume of guests. Many guests were patiently waiting their turn and staff helpful. Suggestion that coffee be made available to guests 24/7. Parking across the street from the hotel took quite getting used to but it was fine, except for the $20/day parking fee. Inspite of all the negative comments I made I will still consider coming back to this hotel. Still a great hotel with wonderful staff and the hotel was conveniently located to where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: They gave us a room facing away from the main street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review.

We hope you did let the front desk staff know about the stained carpet and issues with your room. I apologize since our team should have caught this prior to your check in. We do have the equipment to respond to carpet issues very easy.

You are correct. We did get caught off guard last weekend for breakfast on Saturday. We have since opened up our meeting room and added waffle stations for the summer. Since we are an extended stay we are not as custom to having as many just weekend travelers with children.

We do hope your travels bring you back to the Norfolk area in the near future.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, modern and clean. Our room was located street side and was a bit noisy at times but not enough to interrupt our sleep. The exercise room was well equipped. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot foods as well as fruits, muffins, cereal and yogurt. This hotel was perfectly located for us. We parked in the garage across the street when we checked in and didn't have to use it once on the 4 days we stayed there. Harbor Fest was going on so we just walked everywhere. There are plenty of places to visit, all within walking distance. Overall, this is a very nice with great staff. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hmcclure65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice review.
We do have some great festivals within walking distance to the hotel. Although we were threatened by rain for HarborFest the city pulled together with a perfect back up plan. I hope you had an opportunity to see the fireworks on Saturday. The fireworks were some of the best I have seen.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the Residence Inn by Marriott in the near future.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have never written a review about anything before but i felt like this hotel was such a blessing that i really wanted to share our experience. My son had surgery at chkd so we stayed at this hotel a little over a week and this place was so convenient and a true comfort. The Desk workers, maintenance guys, housekeeping- Absolutely every worker we came in contact with at this hotel was so nice and helpful in every way. The beds were very comfortable, the black out drapes made it easy to nap after being at the hospital all night, the complimentary breakfast was wonderful and so convenient, and the location was perfect. A short walk( about 2-3 blocks from the hotel) there are a lot of good restaurants and Va beach is about 20 minutes away. When you get service this good you can easily overlook some things. No place is perfect but this one was pretty close!
The smith family

Room Tip: We loved the 2 queen bedroom with the kitchenette- a lot of room and very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We do have an amazing hospital just up the street from us. Our team get to see everyday what these doctors can do for our kids. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us during this challeging time for you and your family.

We look forward to you returning to the area and staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Cons: My room was on the Brambleton Avenue (a main route to hospital) side so I heard every ambulance that went by....luckily, I am a heavy sleeper but I can see how it would affect a light sleeper. Also, the address for this hotel is Brambleton Avenue but the majority of people use the York Street entrance because it is closer to the parking garage. A nearby one way street sign makes it a little intimidating to turn towards the parking garage. This hotel allows pets and even though I am a dog lover, I don't like hearing someone's dog barking late at night. It would be nice if they could isolate those with pets, perhaps on a separate floor. TV reception was poor at times.

Pros: Very convenient to downtown, Freemason and the Hague. Nicely equipped kitchen...well maintained room overall. The free hot breakfast every morning was something I looked forward to. I wish the weekend hours were a little longer...hard to sleep in when you know breakfast ends at 930.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norfolkmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

We are very close to one of our favorite hospitals the Children's Hospital of the Kings Daughter. If you are a light sleeper it would be wise to request a room with an odd number. The even rooms face the street where the ambulances pass by.

We are are happy you enjoyed your time in the Norfolk area and do hope you have a chance to visit us again here at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing