We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Agree that signage was a little tricky but once we found the right entrance all went well. Parking in the garage across the street was nice but I think hotels should make this part of their package. The rooms were clean and efficient - great layout - and comfortable. Good location for walking the city - shopping and attractions. We attended the Virginia International Festival and were a few blocks away. Free breakfast was a nice amenity, but had to get assistance both mornings to restock. It appeared that everyone on the staff pitches in to help where needed. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel.

We do have staff crossed trained to assist where needed. With the Residence Inn the only extended stay hotel in downtown we sometimes have a hard time telling when all of our guest will be using the complimentary meals. We are happy to hear the team assisted to refill the breakfast items during your stay.

If you have a chance to return to Norfolk we do have parking packages available to book which includes parking.

Thank you for your business,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    114
    32
    22
    6
See reviews for
109
67
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Poor signage made this hotel a little tricky to find, but otherwise it was a good stay. Everything was efficient, room was clean, good location etc. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but they have everything you need. Good breakfast, although it only went until 9:30 which was earlier than I like to be out of my room. Staff was helpful in arranging a cab and with area information. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
The hotel is a little tricky to find, which is one of the reasons we placed the 227 West York Street address on the website for people using mobile apps. The hotel sits on the line of Downtown and the Historical District which only allows for a certain amount of signs on the building along with size restrictions.

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you have an opportunity to again visit our hotel.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, NB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed as a solo business traveller. The room was very efficient, nice layout, spacious, all the amenities for business needs - wi-fi, accessible outlets, proper furniture - with a kitchen to feel home away from home. Breakfasts included were adequate, not gourmet, but nothing to complain about, either. (A variety of hot/cold selections with extremely cheerful attendants.) The overall facility is in a prime location for The Tide which is local rail transit, and downtown activities for restaurants, mall shopping, historic highlights and cultural destinations in Norfolk. Overall, staff was eager and willing to help - the campus manager, AL, made sure to greet us and solicit any concerns or needs from travellers each morning. Regrettably, the reception desk clerk, Jasmine, was not welcoming or cheerful,....ever. She should not be the first greeter when checking in creating the first impression upon arrival and last at check-out. Her demeanour was reluctant, dull, without cheer, and never a smile. (On the other hand, Sophia was very friendly, cheerful, and engaging to ensure all questions were answered.) A shame, since my overall experience throughout Norfolk and The Residence Inn was nothing but positive, warm, and welcoming at every turn. Management should address this immediately, and instruct housekeeping to pay attention to detail -- though my room was made up and towels were refreshed, little else was done (bathtub ring, dirty sink, not vacuumed, and sheets not changed all week despite the 'every two day' policy stated in the room.) Would definitely stay again, with the hope that these minor complaints are improved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimeloverNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of the hotel. All of our comments are taken seriously and help us improve our service.

I do apolgize for your encounter(s) with Jasmine. This is not exceptable and has been addressed one on one with her. I also reviewed your comment with Suffea which put a BIG smile on her face.

I covered the rest of your review during our morning "huddle" to ensure we are cleaning the rooms above the Marriott standard.

If you are returning to the area we do hope you select the Residence Inn Downtown for your hotel to return to.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our suite was clean, nicely decorated, and huge! Loved the separate bedroom and full kitchen. The beds were very comfortable. Parking garage across the street was convenient. Within walking distance of downtown Norfolk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We do live in a beautiful city and are happy you were able to see part of the downtown during your stay.

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We do hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

They have great service, friendly staff and free breakfast and evening socials where they provided free dinner!!! I didn't need to use my per diem!! Soft beds and good facilities!! It's a pretty big hotel so u need to find short cuts from ya room

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKnight248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

I will be sharing your review with the team during our morning huddle meetings. I frequently tell the staff they "ROCK" when they have gone above and beyond for a guest. I believe they will enjoy hearing this from one of our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our suite was attractive, clean and functional. Cute kitchen and dining areas, comfy beds in the bedroom, and we could see the battleship from our window. It's an easy walk from the hotel to the tourist attractions (Nauticus, USS Wisconsin, downtown Norfolk). The front desk staff was friendly, and the pool was nice.

My only complaint was breakfast. The "hot" offerings were cold, dry scrambled eggs one day, and cold, watery scrambled eggs the next. Also cold potatoes and some weird kind of lunch meat, cold. I suppose it was supposed to be Canadian bacon, but it wasn't. A few lucky souls got a biscuit breakfast sandwich, but you just had to be standing in line at exactly the right moment to get them. There were only a few straggling remains of fresh fruit and yogurts, and just one small half pint of milk (that people were supposed to share for their cereal??). When the staff brought more food out, they would bring a few items at a time, like 3-4 yogurts. One day the waffle batter was fine, the next it was strangely watery, so the waffles didn't cook well. I think management needs to take a serious look at the breakfast situation, and probably add more staff. We were there 20 minutes before the end of breakfast, so possibly the staff was just trying to stretch things out until they could close up, but that is unacceptable, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing downtown for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will look into the breakfast comments and suggestions. The breakfast should be stocked and ready to go until the closing time. I apologize this did not happen during your stay.

With Springbreak and the kids out of school we should have anticipated the breakfast attendees would be later and breakfast busy until the last minute.

We do appreciate your comments. We share these reviews with our team at our morning meetings. They tell us what we are doing right and what we can improve on. They make us a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had to travel to Norfolk a couple of times in March due to a family situation. I originally planned to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, but after looking at that and other properties, I realized how convenient the Residence Inn was for my needs. My wife and I first stayed in a double queen suite (3/16-3/19) and then a King suite (3/30-4/2). This is a relatively new property and it is very well maintained. It opened in 2011. The rooms are very well appointed, and each is equipped for extended stay guests. There is a dining area, a kitchen, a separate living room with sofa bed and TV, and a bedroom with TV. There is one bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the housekeeping service was excellent. The only problem we had was that the housekeeper forgot to replenish a towel or two.

My wife used the exercise room a couple of times and found it well-equipped.

The breafast (included) was your typical Marriott fare, with everything from waffles to eggs to yogurt. There was fresh fruit and a good selection of breads and muffins. No complaints. The staff were very helpful and attentive at the breakfast service, as were the front desk and other staff.

If you're driving, be aware that parking is offered at a city garage directly across the street from the hotel. The cost is $18 per day (as of 4/13) but you get unlimited in and out privileges. The hotel will validate your parking ticket and add the charge to your bill.

We were very pleased both times we stayed at this property, and if we ever need to return to Norfolk, we'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room belo *13 (like 213 0r 313, etc.). You won't hear the clang of the new local comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UHwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that if you return to Norfolk the Residence Inn by Marriott will be your hotel of choice.

Linda Markert, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing