We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value - wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value - wish we could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Only in town for one night so didn't need a studio but was nice to have the extra space. Room was very clean as was all the common space. Very convenient location to walk to multiple restaurant choices. The parking information was confusing - hotel desk quoted one rate ($18), garage quoted a different rate ($12) and then, upon leaving, we were given a different rate ($3) - wonder what they would have charged us if we had our ticket validated at hotel desk as we were originally instructed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We do appreciate you choosing the Residence Inn for your trip to Norfolk.
Parking can be confusing. The parking gargage is not an overnight garage so the daily parking is $12 per day. We have reserved the only overnight parking spaces in the garage so the charges are slightly higher and does include in and out priviledges.

We do hope you select our hotel should you have an opportunity to return to the area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    113
    28
    20
    6
See reviews for
105
63
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
baie comeau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly staff, great room, excellent breakfasts, nice late lunches in the afternoon, great location , fair price, very clean everywhere, manager taking care if everything is allright,so are the employees too,an example to follow by every hotel, i would recommend to my best friends and my family members,again, it can't be better

Room Tip: just get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierrrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do try to provide a clean room at a fair price in a great location. We are happy you enjoyed your time here in Norfolk and do hope you have the opportunity to return to the area.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at 1:20 pm, stood at the front desk for 2 mins while the desk clerk was speaking to another employee and keying into the computer, never acknowledging our presence stating "I'll be with you in a moment", etc. When she finally spoke to us we were told could not check in "early" as no rooms were ready. We then kindly requested to speak to a manager and were told one was not available, then asked to speak to a housekeeping supervisor, who was very polite and accommodating. We finally got into our suite at 2:30 pm after being subjected to a lecture by the desk clerk on the need to request "early check in at any hotel".

The suite itself was great, like a two bedroom apt with two full baths, living area and kitchen. Very roomy, great pillows. The Sunday breakfast only had two employees working diligently to keep up with the weekend rush. No meats at all, potatoes and eggs main foods and they went fast. A manager came in and offered extra seating for the weekend crowd.

Building very modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Cozy front lounge, cushy carpeting in halways. Pool and gym areas were clean, well appointed, great views. All in all a good stay despite poor first impression with desk clerk. It is convenient to all points of interest. Once you park in the deck ($18) no need to move until check out. They could offer at least one free night parking per stay.

Will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We did have an extremely busy with Old Dominion University homecoming and several weddings in house. We do try to get as many requests for early check-in/late check-outs as possible. During sold out weekends this can be very challenging.

I do apologize you were not acknowledged when you first walked into our hotel. Our guests should always come first.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn, downtown Norfolk, VA. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, orderly and well appointed. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet. With a refrigerator, microwave, cooking capabilities, dishwasher, etc. it was like a small apartment. The king-size bed was very comfortable but getting around the bed from one side was a tight squeeze. The TV was on a 360* swivel stand so watching from the living area or bed was simple. Two nights/week evening meals were available but we weren't there on those nights. The breakfast was excellent with real eggs, sausage, pan cakes, waffles, cereals, rolls, etc. Parking is across a narrow street in a secure, well-lighted and sheltered garage but its not free and the only drawback of this facility. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers and cruisers as it is near the port. The price is reasonable, especially for military. I've already made reservations for my next visit.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed at this hotel but only on specific floors; therefore, be sure and ask for a non-pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the nice comments about the hotel and the area.

We too are looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is my second time staying in a Residence Inn and I love it! We have a small maltese and for an extra $100 (no matter the number of days you stay) you can leave your dog in the suite. I stayed in a one bedroom and the kitchen is fabulous. Full fridge, dishwasher, stove, plates, utensils, coffee pot, toaster. It's all there. There are two TV's. Teen son stayed in living room on pullout. Husband and I were very comfortable in the bedroom. The windows in this place are gorgeous. They are the length of the floor to ceiling. Beautiful view! You can see the USS WISCONSIN from the side we were on. There is a parking facility across the street. $15 a day. That's a lot considering that most of the municipal parking lots are really cheap. Breakfast is awesome. Coffee is delish. Staff is friendly. Restaurants are plentiful. I love this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinoflavored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for writig a TripAdvisor review.

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and do appreciate that you have stayed here before and did get a opportunity to return to the Norfolk area.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was working in downtown Norfolk, and was unable to get into the full service Marriott. I opted for this Residence Inn as an alternative, and that was an excellent choice! The property is relatively new, and has been maintained exquisitely. I was booked into a studio room, and the layout was great - very comfortable, great flow, everything clean and in working order.

Parking is in a city garage across the street, and is a bit pricey at $18 per night, and depending on what's happening on the street, there can be a good bit of street noise in the way of traffic and sirens.

Hotel staff is very cordial and professional, and the daily breakfast is standard for Residence Inns.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the back side of the hotel - the Brambleton side seems a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We do appreciate your business and are happy you tried the Residence Inn Downtown as another Marriott option to your travel.

We do hope you stay with us again if you are in the Norfolk area.

Sincerely,


Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for pleasure with our Boston Terrier. The hotel overall is very clean and the rooms are as well. I agree with previous comments that the $18 per night parking fee is overpriced considering this is Norfolk, VA. I was sorry to read in another previous comment that other dog owners did not obey the hotel's dog guidelines. It is a privilege to have a hotel accept dogs and all rules should be respected. Travelers would have no clue that this is a hotel that accepts pets! It is that well kept. I would book here again and at other Marriott Residence Inns in the future with and without my dog.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do enjoy having pets in our hotel and certainly the ones that are well behaved.

Parking is a difficult situation since the parking garage is not an overnight garage except for our residence guests. In order for us to provide a safe environment we have our local police department frequent the lot and additional lighting and cameras which does come with a fee attached.

We do hope to see you again if your travel brings you back to the Norfolk area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing