We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in All Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Hen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All in All Not Bad”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at 1:20 pm, stood at the front desk for 2 mins while the desk clerk was speaking to another employee and keying into the computer, never acknowledging our presence stating "I'll be with you in a moment", etc. When she finally spoke to us we were told could not check in "early" as no rooms were ready. We then kindly requested to speak to a manager and were told one was not available, then asked to speak to a housekeeping supervisor, who was very polite and accommodating. We finally got into our suite at 2:30 pm after being subjected to a lecture by the desk clerk on the need to request "early check in at any hotel".

The suite itself was great, like a two bedroom apt with two full baths, living area and kitchen. Very roomy, great pillows. The Sunday breakfast only had two employees working diligently to keep up with the weekend rush. No meats at all, potatoes and eggs main foods and they went fast. A manager came in and offered extra seating for the weekend crowd.

Building very modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Cozy front lounge, cushy carpeting in halways. Pool and gym areas were clean, well appointed, great views. All in all a good stay despite poor first impression with desk clerk. It is convenient to all points of interest. Once you park in the deck ($18) no need to move until check out. They could offer at least one free night parking per stay.

Will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We did have an extremely busy with Old Dominion University homecoming and several weddings in house. We do try to get as many requests for early check-in/late check-outs as possible. During sold out weekends this can be very challenging.

I do apologize you were not acknowledged when you first walked into our hotel. Our guests should always come first.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    115
    32
    23
    6
See reviews for
112
68
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairlawn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn, downtown Norfolk, VA. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, orderly and well appointed. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet. With a refrigerator, microwave, cooking capabilities, dishwasher, etc. it was like a small apartment. The king-size bed was very comfortable but getting around the bed from one side was a tight squeeze. The TV was on a 360* swivel stand so watching from the living area or bed was simple. Two nights/week evening meals were available but we weren't there on those nights. The breakfast was excellent with real eggs, sausage, pan cakes, waffles, cereals, rolls, etc. Parking is across a narrow street in a secure, well-lighted and sheltered garage but its not free and the only drawback of this facility. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers and cruisers as it is near the port. The price is reasonable, especially for military. I've already made reservations for my next visit.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed at this hotel but only on specific floors; therefore, be sure and ask for a non-pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the nice comments about the hotel and the area.

We too are looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is my second time staying in a Residence Inn and I love it! We have a small maltese and for an extra $100 (no matter the number of days you stay) you can leave your dog in the suite. I stayed in a one bedroom and the kitchen is fabulous. Full fridge, dishwasher, stove, plates, utensils, coffee pot, toaster. It's all there. There are two TV's. Teen son stayed in living room on pullout. Husband and I were very comfortable in the bedroom. The windows in this place are gorgeous. They are the length of the floor to ceiling. Beautiful view! You can see the USS WISCONSIN from the side we were on. There is a parking facility across the street. $15 a day. That's a lot considering that most of the municipal parking lots are really cheap. Breakfast is awesome. Coffee is delish. Staff is friendly. Restaurants are plentiful. I love this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinoflavored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for writig a TripAdvisor review.

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and do appreciate that you have stayed here before and did get a opportunity to return to the Norfolk area.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was working in downtown Norfolk, and was unable to get into the full service Marriott. I opted for this Residence Inn as an alternative, and that was an excellent choice! The property is relatively new, and has been maintained exquisitely. I was booked into a studio room, and the layout was great - very comfortable, great flow, everything clean and in working order.

Parking is in a city garage across the street, and is a bit pricey at $18 per night, and depending on what's happening on the street, there can be a good bit of street noise in the way of traffic and sirens.

Hotel staff is very cordial and professional, and the daily breakfast is standard for Residence Inns.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the back side of the hotel - the Brambleton side seems a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We do appreciate your business and are happy you tried the Residence Inn Downtown as another Marriott option to your travel.

We do hope you stay with us again if you are in the Norfolk area.

Sincerely,


Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for pleasure with our Boston Terrier. The hotel overall is very clean and the rooms are as well. I agree with previous comments that the $18 per night parking fee is overpriced considering this is Norfolk, VA. I was sorry to read in another previous comment that other dog owners did not obey the hotel's dog guidelines. It is a privilege to have a hotel accept dogs and all rules should be respected. Travelers would have no clue that this is a hotel that accepts pets! It is that well kept. I would book here again and at other Marriott Residence Inns in the future with and without my dog.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do enjoy having pets in our hotel and certainly the ones that are well behaved.

Parking is a difficult situation since the parking garage is not an overnight garage except for our residence guests. In order for us to provide a safe environment we have our local police department frequent the lot and additional lighting and cameras which does come with a fee attached.

We do hope to see you again if your travel brings you back to the Norfolk area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had a one bedroom two queen bed room with roll away which offered plenty of room for a family of 4 with full kitchen and dining room table for 4. Hotel had a decent size indoor pool and whirlpool and a fairly large workout room all located on the first floor. Hotel hallways and room were both modern and nicely appointed. Daily breakfast is included with your room rate and was way above average even though the service person was a bit rude when I arrived at 6:55 AM for a 7AM opening and would not let me start to grab a few things. Breakfast had scrambled eggs, pancakes, make your own waffle, sausages, yogurts, granola and fruit parfaits, hot pre-made oatmeal, cereals and bakery items. Very good! Bathroom is small with a large outside the bathroom counter with cink. Air condition was great. Hotel is within a few blocks of tons of restaurants and within 3 blocks from the Tide light rail train which took us right to the minor league ball park. The other downer was the $18 per night parking (For Norfolk?). Hotel desk stated it included in and out privileges, but who wants to go in and out if you are going anywhere downtown? Garage is directly across the street from the hotel. Overall very clean and very nice for a Norfolk or a quick visit to VA beach. The other downer was the excessive amount of dogs staying at the hotel and the barking in the public areas. These weren't guide dogs mind you, they were just pets. Taking pets to breakfast area instead of keeping them in your room? Owner's issue as well as hotel management for allowing it.

Room Tip: If you don't need in and out privileges in the parking garage, save $6 by requesting the hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for writing a review.

We are a pet friendly hotel but animals are not allowed in the breakfast area or any carpeted public space. We are sorry if we did not catch this at breakfast. We inform guests that pets are not allowed in these areas during the check in process. We also remind guest as we see they have their pet in a "non-pet" zone.

We will address the attitude you experience during breakfast. Our goal is to be ready 15 minutes prior to the start of breakfast. You should have been welcomed in at 6:55am. Please accept my apologies.

Again we appreciate your business and are happy you chose the Residence Inn Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed five nights at this hotel in May of 2012. We brought our dog and we have to say it was very nice to be able to have her with us. It worked out very well as the hotel serves a very good breakfast every single morning. We really enjoyed having our own suite and we were able to open some of our windows when it was breezy and cool outside. Norfolk is a delightful city and especially nice during the month of May. It was nice to be close to the water and we walked everywhere. There is a parking garage across the street from the hotel and we parked our car there the entire time. The staff was very nice also (except for the young woman checking us in to our room). We plan to stay at another Residence Inn when we get the opportunity because of our stay at the Norfolk downtown one. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concerningreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your time in the Norfolk, I am concerned about your check in and will look into who checked you in to the hotel.

We are a pet friendly hotel and many of our guest do enjoy having their animals travel with them .

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott for your travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#4 of 37 in Norfolk
181 reviews
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing