We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, dedicated staff, excelllent "go the extra mile" service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Peekskill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb, dedicated staff, excelllent "go the extra mile" service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for a wedding 8/25 - 8/29, 2011, during hurricane Irene. The hotel managers and staff left no stone unturned in caring for their guests. Additional staff came in and stayed overnight. All the restaurants in downtow Norfolk were closed, so the hotel provided supper for everyone, at no cost to the guests. The staff were courteous, cheerful and untiring in their efforts to make sure all the guests were comfortable. Kudos to you!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floralee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us your kind comments. We did try to make a difficult situation into at least a comfortable weekend. We are so happy the bride and groom were still able to continue with their wedding plans during the hurricane. This will certainly give them something unique to remember about their special day.

We do hope when returning to the Norfolk area you again select the Residence Inn Downtown as your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    111
    26
    20
    6
See reviews for
104
61
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were recently in town for a wedding during Hurricane Irene. The building is very safe and is not in "low lying areas." Nearby there was some flooding but there were no issues at the hotel. We were basically stuck in the hotel for about 24 hours. The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. The rooms are extremely nice with full kitchens, fridges, sofa's and flat screen TV's. The lobby is also very nice. The free breakfast buffet in the mornings is the nicest free breakfast I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Buffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind words during this challenging time. We made a lot of new friends and neighbors over the weekend. We appreciate you selecting the Residence Inn as your Hurricane home.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a newly-built (2009) Residence Inn in Downtown Norfolk and near Ghent. I live locally and chose to stay here with my two young children during Hurricane Irene in August 2011. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. I felt that multiple staff members went the extra mile for all the guests during a challenging time, including providing an extra "social" with light fare one evening. The daily complimentary breakfasts were abundant and substantial (i.e. not just a continental breakfast, but also includes eggs, pancakes, and similar). The lobby is very nicely decorated -- nicer than the average Residence Inn.

The one-bedroom suite we stayed in was clean, spacious, solidly-built and muffled noise well. You would never have guessed that there was a hurricane taking place outside from our room. I know most people wouldn't need "great in a hurricane" as a criteria when selecting a vacation hotel, but I say this as an example of how solidly-built the place seemed.

We used the kitchen a lot -- cooked some meals. The kitchen has a full-sized refrigerator and freezer, dishwasher, microwave, and a two-burner electric stove (no oven). Pots and pans, silverware and dishware, potholders, etc. were there. There were two flat-screen TVs. The bathroom sink is separate from the tub/shower and toilet area. The shower had nice pressure, etc.

Additionally, though I'd reserved for three nights, my house was undamaged by the storm. Staff allowed us to check out a day earlier than planned (and an hour and a half beyond check-out time) without charging us for the third day, and completely quickly and without a hassle (no, "let me check with my manager, blah, blah, blah). I will definitely recommend this Residence Inn to visiting friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Residence Inn Downtown. The hotel staff has addressed these problems by adding a daily inspection team. We also realize we should have taken the repair work to the shop verses completing a project in the guest room area.

We hope you will return to the Residence Inn Downtown on your next visit to Norfolk to see we have made changes. You may contact me by calling 757-842-6216 or e-mailing gmridtnor@ltdhospitality.com.



At your service,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel exactly one year ago and loved it. I have family who stays here often and loves it. So I wasn't even looking for things to complain about but I found myself amazed at all of the missing details. Mostly around CLEANLINESS. To give you some specifics to paint the picture accurately, here's my experience. Checked into a room on the 2nd floor. Despite the request for extra pillows and towels when I reserved the room (only because they asked), nothing. Not a big deal, but why do they ask?? The new (think this hotel is 2 years old) carpet had about 10 burn marks. Now to the cleanliness. LOTS of HAIR and DUST. I'm not talking one or 2 hairs in the bathroom, I'm talking DOZENS on the bathroom floor along with visible dust. Visible dust in bathroom vanities. Lots of hairs on kitchen chairs. After an hour in the room and noticing all of these things, I asked to get moved to another room. They were nice and moved me to a larger nicer room up on the 7th floor. But still found lots of hair and dust, and sand on the office chair. You can even see lots of crumbs/debris on the metals slides in the closet. Just too much to ignore.

Had to ask them to turn down the pull out which most hotels do voluntarily, he begrudgingly did it and did not put the sheets on (fine but no tip). I made the bed with a stained blanket and more hair...

The topper was at 10pm at night they started hammering the door right next to our room when I had 3 little kids sleeping. After 10 minutes I finally called the front desk and opened my door to a very shocked maintenance guy. All I said was "seriously???"

I REALLY hope they get better management and cleaning staff !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLewinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not have wonderful experience at the hotel. We do strive to ensure your stay is consistent every time you stay with us.

If you would like to discuss in detail to ensure this does not happen again, please feel free to call me to discuss further. The hotel phone number is 757-842-6216.



Sincerely,

Linda M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was my first stay in a Residence Inn and I was so surprised at how well appointed it was for the money paid. Although we were only there for one night it would be so easy to stay if a long term stay were needed. We were in a single room and it was so well laid out with a sleeping area, living area and kitchen. The kitchen had everything needed to do real cooking, a full size fridge,small cooktop, sink dishwasher, microwave and all of the dishes etc.
Breakfast was included in our stay. It was a small buffet but included a hot dish, make your own waffles and the usual cold buffet. Kids liked making hot chocolate.
The indoor pool was nice to keep the kids occupied before check out. There were plenty of towells and comfortable chairs but be careful, the floor is extremely slippery.
The location was excellent. It was only a short walk to the waterfront, museums, shopping and many nice restauraunts. The trolly that runs through town starts today and the stop is right across the street!
I didn't think $15 to park was bad at all. It included in and out privledges in case you wanted to drive to the navybases or beaches.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for the nice comments about Norfolk and the Residence Inn Downtown. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Sincerely,



Linda Markert, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Parking - $15/night in a garage across the street with no pedestrian walkway across.
Room - bathroom door didn't close
Desk help - gave wrong directions to a nearby store

I've stayed at Marriott hotels for the last 25 years, and I normally love Residence Inns. This hotel gives Marriott a bad name. The parking situation is awful and extremely inconvenient, the breakfast selections were terrible, the laundry machines were faulty, etc... It's poorly maintained. The bathroom door not closing - completely inexcusible.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Momof3ofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here at the Residence Inn Downtown.

With a downtown location and parking a premium we do have an unusal situation for a Residence Inn. We contract with the city for parking space in the city garage.

We do hope you reported the door not closing while you were here so we could rectify the problem. We would not want the next guest to experienc the same problem.

Thank you for your comments. We can not correct what we do not know.

Sincerely,


Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here because we wanted a place in downtown Norfolk that allows dogs. Luckily, this place was also close to lots of good dining and things to do. The rooms look new and are well-appointed. Parking is $15 a day, but we were able to find free street parking within a couple blocks (we stayed over the weekend). Definitely a good place to stay in Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your time here at the Residence Inn Downtown. You will be happy to know the city is building a small park directly across from the hotel for our pets.

We do have many great restaurants within walking distance. Some of my favorites are just around the corner.

Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you and your pet back here at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Best Regards,


Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing