We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Something for Everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nauticus

Nauticus
Ranked #4 of 65 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Educational site that allows visitors to learn about sea with interactive exhibits and touch pools.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My son and I recently visited the Nauticus after visiting it perhaps 10 years ago. I would definitely say the museum has something for all ages. He's a 16 year old history buff and we spent at least 2.5 hours self touring the deck and various levels of the USS Wisconsin. Tons of information! Inside there are many many hands on activities for little ones from playing dress up in various sailor uniforms to a hands on shark petting exhibit or horseshoe crab display. I highly recommend a stop at the Nauticus if you are in Norfolk or looking for a quick day trip from the beach. It is also in walking distance to several chain restaurants - Joe's Crab Shack, Outback, Hooters - which all share a river view. There is also a closely neighborhood on Grandby Street with many smaller local options. Nearby hotels include the Sheraton and a Marriott.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 911jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    168
    44
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband wanted to see the Wisconsin and we ended up spending the ENTIRE day there. We did the Spy Ship activity which I think helped keep myself and daughter interested; however, it has you going back and forth on the same parts of the ship so my husband didn't get to see the things he wanted to before the ship closed. So depending on what you want to get out of your visit..... you may or may not want to do that.
There was not a restaurant onsite so that was a disappointment and something I wish I had known.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We thought this Center may be somewhat dull, but we were wrong. It was very interesting with displays that made sense. We made the trip to tour the Battleship Wisconsin which is on display beside the Center. The Wisconsin, with it's long Military history was the highlight of the Nauticus Center

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

A great way to spend a few hours, facilities were clean and the exhibits are all well put together -the staffing is nice and helpful. There is no lack of things to learn, do, and see. Fun for the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank SKnaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lot of things didn't work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I know for a hands on museum things are bound to be broken or computer simulators tend to crash but it was a bummer for my little brother who was excited to try the hands on exhibits. Thank goodness the U.S.S. Wisconsin saved the date. A very beautiful ship.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlmarcotteswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauticus also viewed

 

Been to Nauticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing