We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauticus National Maritime Center

Nauticus National Maritime Center
1 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510
757 664 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Educational site that allows visitors to learn about sea with interactive exhibits and touch pools.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband wanted to see the Wisconsin and we ended up spending the ENTIRE day there. We did the Spy Ship activity which I think helped keep myself and daughter interested; however, it has you going back and forth on the same parts of the ship so my husband didn't get to see the things he wanted to before the ship closed. So depending on what you want to get out of your visit..... you may or may not want to do that.
There was not a restaurant onsite so that was a disappointment and something I wish I had known.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    153
    39
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zelienople
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We thought this Center may be somewhat dull, but we were wrong. It was very interesting with displays that made sense. We made the trip to tour the Battleship Wisconsin which is on display beside the Center. The Wisconsin, with it's long Military history was the highlight of the Nauticus Center

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

A great way to spend a few hours, facilities were clean and the exhibits are all well put together -the staffing is nice and helpful. There is no lack of things to learn, do, and see. Fun for the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank SKnaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lot of things didn't work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I know for a hands on museum things are bound to be broken or computer simulators tend to crash but it was a bummer for my little brother who was excited to try the hands on exhibits. Thank goodness the U.S.S. Wisconsin saved the date. A very beautiful ship.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlmarcotteswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We took children ages 4 and 1 to this museum in order to take a break from the beach. They absolutely loved everything about this! We spent over 2 hours there and hurried along in order to get lunch/naps at a decent time. However, our children could have easily spent all day here. Money we'll spent!

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauticus National Maritime Center also viewed

 

Been to Nauticus National Maritime Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing