We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USS Enterprise decommissioning”

Naval Station Norfolk
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest naval port in the United States that offers guided tours.
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“USS Enterprise decommissioning”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The base handled the vehicle search and document issue quickly and efficently. Sailor on the Enterprise that did the tours were very friendly and informed. Wish we could have gone into the engineering spaces, but I understand the hassle with issuing Dosimetry being a ex-Navy Nuc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    116
    48
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The tour lasted about 45 minutes and we were driven throughout the base on a bus. We felt the tour was definitely worthwhile. It was fun to see all the ships that were in port and to just get a feel of the size of the base. The tour guides did a very nice job.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A huge base with plenty of interesting things to see, especially the ships! I loved getting an up-close view of them. Like others cautioned though, it's best to visit during off hours; a result of it being the largest naval base is an even larger amount of traffic during the normal work week.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CallyGirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worlds largest navel base. Period”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great sight from the water. Close to Wards corner and main highways. It is its own city. Many who serve come back to retire here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stationed here...”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been on better bases...yes it's HUGE but there are some buildings that are old enough to be my grand parents... :|

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank calleen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naval Station Norfolk also viewed

 

Been to Naval Station Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing