We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place to visit”

Naval Station Norfolk
Ranked #7 of 71 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest naval port in the United States that offers guided tours.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“awesome place to visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The largest naval base in the world. View of the ships were awesome, The beach was clean and the view was awesome view of the water. Seeing the subs come in from sea was fanstasic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jesfire415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    119
    50
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One Of My Best Tours”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After serving in the military for thirteen years, Norfolk was one of the place that I had been avoiding my whole career. Turns out, it was one of my best tours after my assignment to Oceana to an F/18 squadron. Norfolks base is huge and has everything to offer that a person could need. Being the largest Naval Base in the whole world speaks volumes on the size and ammenities that this base has to offer. I wish sometimes that I would have retired in Norfolk, or that my present home had a base as nice as it is.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level 6 Contributor
722 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A great tour”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the largest Naval base in the world. That alone is worth it. It lasted btn 45-60 minutes and our guide was very good. Able to answer all questions as well as entertaining. Saw many ships and a brief overview of the whole base. It's worth the time. MAKE sure you have a drivers license or proper ID or you will NOT be admitted on base. Remember this is a military installation and security is important!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took a boat tour around the harbour and could see ships used in battle, being repaired and cleaned. This area is guarded and you will see evidence of this. We saw subs and a carrier leaving at the same time that was rare. The boat tour is worth the little price. This is a very and I mean VERY important port in the US. Many ships being used over the world come from from this base. Sidenote: Newport News Shipyard is the only location in the US where Carriers are built. Sorry no tour there. Boat tour of Norfolk Naval base leaves from Hampton.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A tour worthy of our sailors!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We took the bus tour of the Naval Base at Norfok, not really knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the tour and our tour guide who had served overseas and on numerous destroyers and ships. His knowledge of the base, plus his great sense of humor, really made us feel the pride that was evident everywhere on the base. The price was nominal, we would have gladly paid more. The tour was about 45 minutes long on an air conditioned comfortable bus. This tour should be a must see for anyone in the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area!

Helpful?
2 Thank jlizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naval Station Norfolk also viewed

 

Been to Naval Station Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing