We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
285
213
64
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
213
64
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews max depth sea waves portuguese dishes swimming pool and sauna nice shower show cooking free sauna recommend this hotel the underground car park hire car balcony overlooking the sea splendid hotel omelettes cooked to order lovely position rooms are modern a wonderful stay exploring the island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 584 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2018

Ponta do Sol is a surprisingly short drive from Funchal Airport. It is a small village but very charming; perfect if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The town, like the hotel, is spotlessly clean and well-appointed. The underground car park was handy for our hire car.

We chose to stay in Ponta do Sol is for its reputedly balmy location - we were not disappointed. Sea views, magical sunsets, clear skies and hot weather - in the week before Christmas! It is a mystery why there aren't there more people here.

It may be a 4-star hotel but in my opinion, Enotel Baiai punches above its weight. Absolutely everything was done to the best of their ability. The receptionist, Veronica, was extremely pleasant and helpful. The rest of the hotel staff, like Madeirans everywhere seemingly, had perfected the art of charm without smarm; professional and thoughtful but informal. Enotel makes running a hotel look easy - which I am sure it isn't.

Our room was pleasantly large (one of the reasons why I didn't book the hotel up on the cliff) with a balcony overlooking the sea and a clean, large, well-appointed bathroom. Shower worked well. Towels were good and plentiful. I did miss in-room coffee facilities, but I guess that is a 5-star thing.

The swimming pool was clean, beautiful, and just warm enough but strange to locate it in the lobby, I thought. I got used to it though. It is not brilliant for laps (a little too short at about 18 m) but later that day I saw some children splashing about there which I am sure was a blessing for the parents.

Breakfast was not quite excellent - we had everything we could ask for, fresh and tasty. Only the coffee was a letdown - it tasted like instant coffee. Good enough but not great if you are a coffee-lover like myself. They had an omelette and crepe chef but I did not make use of that service so cannot comment on the cooking skills. However, considering the price we paid, the food quantity and quality of the food was incredible. This was, without doubt, the best value holiday, I have ever had.

If you are looking for a well-appointed base from which to drive around Madeira than I would highly recommend Enotel Baia. If you are looking for a 'resort' hotel that you do not have to leave for your entire holiday, or if you have teenagers in tow, then the Hotel on the cliff might suit you better.

Room tip: ask for balcony room
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D7630ORpaulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Diretor-Geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you at the Enotel Baía and on behalf of everyone here, thank you for your preference, We cannot thank you enough for sharing your holiday experience with fellow TripAdvisor users and we are tremendously pleased to read how much you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes and Muito Obrigado.

Célia Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Me and my husband booked Holiday Package with EasyJet from London UK and this was our first trip to Madeira . It was incredible luck to choose this magnificent place to relax. Hotel Enotel Baia is with great location in Ponta do Sol just meters from the ocean . On arrival we had a speedy check in thanks to Veronica from the hotel reception, and then off to our room we had large twin room amazing sea view with balcony (bed was very comfortable) . Onto the bathroom again plenty of space with a very powerful shower , there was shampoo and shower gel that was filled up each day, lots of towels ,also in the bathroom was a plug-in hairdryer . Rooms where cleaned daily and done with great care (Thanks to Matilde and all other housekeepers) .
The hotel is very scenic and quiet. The only sound you hear are from the sea waves. The Gym on 2nd floor is well equipped . There is a terrace with a great view on 4th floor where you can relax in the sun on the seats available. The indoor heated pool was decent size with kids area as well and Max depth of 160 cm. There is free Sauna available. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices for hot (omelets, pancakes) and cold food and a lot a fruits . Dinner had varied veg and non veg choices including Portuguese dishes. Fish in the show cooking was delicious. Cakes also top class! Thank you to everyone who works hard, but with great care for all customers and smile to meet the needs of everyone , keep up the good job : Teresa , Anna , Piedade.
Thank you to all of you from reception desk : Veronica, Karla ,Selia, Mauricio, which gave us wonderful advises about local attractions and organized incredible tours with MBtravel to magnificent places in Madeira , you're great !!!
A definite must for another visit next year .
This is a wonderful hotel and definitely would recommend it !!!

Room tip: Best view ! Good service :-)
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alina_gAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Diretor-Geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

"Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with other holiday makers.
We will always do our best to make sure that our guests have memorable moments with us.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel in the future.

Our best regards,

Maria Freitas,
General Manager
"













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Stayed here numerous times over the years...always so clean. Been renovated since we last stayed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Quiet location. Rooms a great size and all sea facing. Good choice for breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank FoodieNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We alway stay at this hotel every time we visit Madeira. The last time was 3 years ago. It needed some upgrade in the rooms. Well they did a renovation since than and what an improvement. The rooms are very clean and modern. Showers are also very clean and modern. The front desk was much better very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the garage parking. It's very tight to get in and out. They have to find a way to let guest know when it's full before driving all the way in. One night I drove in and it was full. I had to back out. Very dangerous.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank joeanna928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We have stayed at this hotel several times in recent years for short breaks.. t is clean and comfortable. We choose a sea view room with a balcony. The staff are helpful and polite, The breakfast is excellent with omelettes cooked to order.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank LIZ151247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Diretor-Geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

Wir möchten uns gerne für Ihre Kommentare bedanken, diese sind für uns sehr wichtig.
“Obrigada” und wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und bis zum nächsten Mal.
Herzliche Grüβe,

Célia Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews