We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location by the sea”
Review of Enotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enotel Baia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect location by the sea”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Clean, modern and comfy hotel with good service just by the sea. After a day sightseeing on the island or walking in the forests or mountains one can relax in the indoor pool, have a sauna or you have some relaxing exercise in the gym. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is good. The spacious rooms, many of them with a balcony add to the comfort. Nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreckerFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL BAÍA.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Maria Freitas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    178
    55
    14
    5
See reviews for
63
316
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable with very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. We stayed half board and found the food to be more than adequate but a little repetitive. However the fresh fruit and salads were wonderful as it was all locally produced. It was really good to have the availability of free WiFi but pity it was limited to the ground floor only. Our view from the bedroom was magnificent and the venue is definitely a sun trap. We had three evenings of entertainment provided in the hotel with a singer and local dancers who were really excellent. We hired a car for one day to travel north to Porta Moniz bit of a wet and hairy ride but enjoyable with great scenic views. Our only disappointment with the resort is that without your own transport you can be somewhat isolated as the buses are very infrequent and sometimes cancelled with no prior warning. Do not travel by bus on a Sunday!! It will be a long day with a mountainous route. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a quiet relaxing time.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Stanley, UK
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A good base fore exploring the area and enjoying the beach. Near to all the local shops and restaurants. Safe Underground car park. Well appointed rooms with good balconies overlooking the beach. Restaurant fine for evenings with a very good buffet breakfast. Indoor pool, top floor sun terrace and helpful staff.

Room Tip: For better view get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice hotel just in front of the beach. Most rooms provide an incredible view over the Atlantic Ocean. Meals are tasty. Service is friendly and accommodating. The management was very kindly. We want to thank especially Mrs. Maria Freitas for her incomparable talents of solving every problem during our sojourn.
Barbara & Christian

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rare balconies - it´s a fantastic view on sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL BAÍA Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Maria Freitas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsrode
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is both beautiful and comfortable. The rooms are quite big, so I could do my Yoga better than at home. . .
The food was great, a lot of variety and friendly staff who did their best to fulfill your every wish.
I had never been to Madeira before, and I was glad I had not booked the more expensive hotel in the capital, because Ponta do Sol is a quiet place which has got everything you need on holiday: a beach,very calm and even fit for small children, open sea for those who love the waves, rocks to watch the sea and restaurants near the beach with marvellous food at moderate prices.
You can walk in all directions directly from Ponta do Sol, except south because there is the ocean. . .
You can get to places by bus or taxi, both are not expensive at all. The neighboring towns are also interesting, as well as a walk along the coast to Madalena.
It was the best holiday I have had so far!

Room Tip: My room had a big window to the south side, the street(nearly no traffic), the beach, the sea to lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiebke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Modern hotel well designed for scale on outside- looks like a row of older different coloured properties right on seafront, but large open plan reception/bar/restaurant downstairs with indoor pool, and basement parking. We had a top floor room with large balcony overlooking the bay- excellent. Room modern decor with very large photos of vintage yatchs in sail - nice. Only down points: only sunbathing on top floor with loungers, with a shower, but no pool etc; breakfast poor quality - only Madeiran hotel out of 10 stayed in this time where all fruit was tinned! Nevertheless excellent value for money for B&B. Ate at nearby restaurant infront to left on cliff overlooking the beach/bay - fantastic cod, chips and slad on balcony with sunset. Take time to stroll around remarkeable restored early C20th village behind with its cultural heritage. Beach largely of big stones but swimming and sunbathing to far right is sandy with calm water.

Room Tip: Top floor (?4th) for large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallportions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Baía, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Maria Freitas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gollheim,Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife,son and I stayed at the hotel for a week in July 2013. The staff was sincerely friendly. They even advised me concerning my rental car and saved me money,time and stress. Overall a wonderful stay at the hotel in Ponta Do Sol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Baia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you have had a great time at the Enotel Baía.
“Obrigada” for sharing your opinion and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Maria Freitas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
4.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,140 reviews
10.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
16.4 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,851 reviews
18.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,023 reviews
10.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Baia

Property: Enotel Baia
Address: Avenida 10 de Maio, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-209, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Baia do Sol)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Enotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Baia Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Baia Do Sol Ponta
Baia Sol
Baia Do Sol Hotel
Enotel Baia Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing