We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao
Ranked #2 of 2 Ponta Do Sol B&B and Inns
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao well done! , a great place for a relaxing holiday and an excellent base for exploring the island! quality Food & Drinks!
5stars! Lombo de Sao Joao, Ponta Do Sol, Мадейра, Португалия

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlekseiGOLIKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great traditional Madeiran manor hotel.
The location in the countryside is quiet, relaxing and calm as well as extremely picturesque, with the wonderful views on the ocean and the surrounding mountains.
The staff is friendly and keep the hotel, the rooms and the gardens in clean and well maintained condition.
Speaking of the gadens, the hotel has its own fruit farm, so fresh fruits are always freely availiable at the restaurant.
Close to the hotel are the famous Madeiran levadas, offering a convenient walk routes around the nearby mountain eucalyptus forests.
The region is called Ponta do Sol, literally - "the corner of the sun", as the landscape makes most of the clouds go around the mountain valley where the hotel is located, and around the year there's only about 20 - 40 rainy days, the rest is sunshine and warm weather.
Location is also convenient for car travellers - almost in the center of the southern coast of the island, so it is possible to go and visit all the great distant places whithin maximum one hour drive, and also close to the beaches (10 minutes drive) and the capital of Madeira - Funchal (20 minutes drive).
In general, it is a perfect place for travellers who wish to experience a relaxing holiday away from the noise and pollution of the big city, though enjoying all the modern conveniences (cable tv, wi-fi) and being able to travel all around the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliksM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great situation, Almost in the clouds above Ponto do Sol.
The rooms are nice and nicer still I was upgraded to an even nicer room with a hob and microwave because the cook was ill.
You must have your own transport to get to this hotel, It's an old place and is decorated with many interesting items and the garden produces food year round for the kitchen,

Room Tip: Upstairs, with the biger views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank terrythy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Manager Richard and his wife (new this Spring to the Quinta) made us very welcome when we arrived at the Quinta way up in the hills of Madeira. They rustled up something for us to eat whilst our rooms were made ready and we loved the location - views of the Atlantic from the bedrooms, a quiet village and an interesting scenic drive down to/up from the modern motorway that goes to the Airport and beyond. There is a great pool that I swam in most mornings - and I always had it to myself. Admittedly there is no airco, but fortunately the hotel catches the wind where it perches on the side of the mountain. One evening's entertainment was provided - excellent performance by the singing wife (sorry, a difficult name I cannot remember!) of easy-listening music. On the two early morning starts we had (due to a horse-ride and to our departure date), breakfast was provided for us outside of the usual hours - very accommodating and friendly. Clean and beautifully furnished with wooden antique tables, cupboards, cabinets, etc. Quite a drive into Funchal, but that was only a one-day sightseeing tour. Well situated for the one seaside town (Calheta) with a man-made sandy beach

Room Tip: There is no lift, so request a lower floor if you are not fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenOldey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was staying here in August 2009. Just amazing place - astounding view from windows, better ask for a higher floor for better view. The room that we had had a nice small balcony to the right deep below was ocean to the left higher mountains. The air was super fresh during the nights, so despite the room had no a\c, it was not needed - open windows were just perfect for August heat. The room was clean and maintained, breakfast are nothing special, but ok.
The room is spacious and clean, amazing value for money in my view. The area where hotel is located is very quiet, a little on the mountain.
If you plan to say here - rent a car as the trip down to ocean is a couple km long and along typical curvy mountain roads, not suitable for walking. Also it shall give you an opportunity to travel around the island. The nearest beach from the hotel lies below and is big pebbles. Ocean was refreshing, but not cold. We also noted nice quality of roads along the south part of the island, Ponta Do Sol is conveniently located not very far from a very decent highway.
We have only warmest memories about the trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after seeing it featured on the 'Madeira-island .com' website where it is categorised as 5-stars and described as 'a rural stately home'

When we arrived at the hotel it was dark,and not wishing to face the rather tortuous journey back to Ponta do Sol, we decided to eat in the hotel. The meal was a no-choice affair , and was the worst and most expensive meal that we had during our stay. Subsequently we ate out in restaurants but when we returned to the hotel every night, no later than 9pm, it was always in darkness. There was no attempt to light or heat the lounge or offer any form of service such as a drink or a snack.

The breakfasts were extremely unvaried, and bearing in mind that the hotel was, presumably, catering for an international clientele,it would have been nice to see some concession to the English taste in breakfasts.

During our stay the weather was extremely cold [for Madeira], but there was no heating in the hotel and the only source of heat in the bedroom was a small, oil-filled radiator which was very inadequate for the purpose. Throughout the week, the water in the bathroom was, at best, tepid, and on the last day of our stay, stone cold. The toiletries on offer consisted of very small samples of a poor quality product, but no attempt was made to replenish them. Although the sheets on the beds were changed once during our stay, the replacements were so old and thin as to have holes in them.

Although the hotel has a swimming pool, we were unable to use it because of the cold weather,. However, on the only day that the sun shone and the temparature rose, we adjourned to the pool for a relaxing hour or two, only to find that it had been drained of water and the area occupied by noisy workmen.

The final straw was a demand, as we were about to check-out, for payment for a bottle of water that we had been given to take to our room.

All in all, the hotel fell well below expectations for a 5-star establishment, and, having spent a excellent holiday previously at the Hotel do Furao in Santana, a great disappointment.

The submission of this review has been delayed owing to our attempts, albeit unsuccessful to obtain at least an apology from the hotel for the woefully inadequate service and poor value for money.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank TheAnchorites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

An excellent hotel with a very friendly staff. It's a rural hotel, what means vegetables and fruit from the garden of the hotel. Rural means also a quiet place. The view from the hotel to the coast was beatiful. We hope to come back in this quinta.

  • Liked — We liked everything.
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thijmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
1.6 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.0 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.6 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
7.7 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.3 mi away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao

Property: Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao
Address: Caminho do Lombo Sao Joao, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-559, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique rural Quinta hotel in Madeira, is an undeniable landmark in the village of Ponta do sol. Perched on top of a mountain shoulder, it boasts splendid views over the deep blue ocean and over the lush green mountainous landscape. The quality, elegance and comfort of the interiors, allied to the refreshing rural charm of the surrounding is an unforgettable experience, enhanced by the homey flair brought by the personalised service. Features a wide living room, gardens, agro-biological orchards, and parking spaces.At close proximity to the Quinta, the guest can find a mini-market (30 m away) and a bus stop (500 m), while at about 4 km, in the centre of the village of Ponta do sol, one can find a pharmacy, a taxi rank, a health care centre, a shopping centre, a post office, banks with ATM, and restaurants. The airport is located at around 40 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta do Alto de Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Alto De Sao Joao Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Quinta Do Alto De Sao Joao Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing