We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel building and room amazing. We stayed in Jan 2014 and recommended it to our friends who returned yesterday. Staff were friendly and service very good. Restaurant food fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Madeira.
I consider myself a harsh critic and rarely leave any feedback.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baydon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 558 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Due to the good reviews given, we had high expectations when we arrived. But we were certainly not disappointed!

The location is fantastic, wonderful views in each direction. The garden and the pool area are outstanding! The hotel is tastefully decorated and the buildings are in harmony with the fantastic nature! We also enjoyed the jacuzzi and the indoor pool.

The room and the balcony had enough space. The small fridge was an extra plus.
We payed extra for sea view, but I think most of the rooms had great views in one way or another.

The hotel area, as well as the entire village of Ponta do Sol, is wonderfully quiet and relaxing. We really enjoyed walking in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

The hotel breakfast was extremely good. Lots to choose from, everything fresh and tasty. The mango juice was wonderful!
We ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant. Good food and good service, but rather expensive.

All in all, we were really satisfied with the hotel. If you prefer to stay in a more peaceful place than Funchal, this is a perfect alternative. (Thanks to the hotel shuttle service, you can still visit Funchal daily if you wish...).

We highly recommend this beautiful, peaceful hotel. The staff is also friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yvren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Location, location and location 100 m on the tip of a cliff overlooking the valley and the Atlantic Ocean there is build a small hotel. The rooms, the gardens, the dinning rooom are all decorated in a modern and somehow understated way.

Room Tip: Room on the 3 floor facing the ocean must be the favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I could not find a better place to celebrate my partner's 50th birthday.
Since our first email until being transferred to the airport all the team were simply amazing. Attending all our needs and very professional coordination for all our 23 persons group who were arriving and leaving at different dates.
Our stay in Estalagem Ponta do Sol was has perfect has one can imagine.
With delicious food 'Estalagem' offers honest architecture and comfortable rooms and good SPA facilities .. all tied up in a breath taking location.
We will surely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have exciting views and they are all design in such a way that they are close to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archipaulo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Next trip to Madeira, we make this home base, and travel around the island from here. The Sauna & steam room were great. Jacuzzi not warm during our visit, but lovely view. Infinity pool and gardens were great.

only poor experience we had was servers in the bar, unfriendly and unhelpful. They managed to fill the area with smoke in trying to start the fire.

Reception staff was fabulous. Bed was dreamy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozReliefWorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Through Eliza Was here we booked a short-break of 10 days and stayed at the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol. On arrival the biggest surprise was the way the hotel lay-out was set up. Bright large and quiet rooms, all spread out through three main buildings. Nice little corners and alcove-like areas cover the surroundings. The garden is wonderful and the views are stunning! The pool is great! Breakfast is fresh, there's a great variety of dishes, rolls, fruits, eggs etc.The staff are wiling and most of them are friendly, some are a little off. Why not award 5 stars? Well, even though not bad we found dinner not of the best quality and a bit expensive (we ate twice at the hotelrestaurant). The welness facilities are good but not great, the treatments were good, but no more then that. There were about 5 or 6 little kittens wondering around the hotelgarden and pool-area. We even found them all together in the bar. We did not really appreciate that, although we do not hate pets. All in all a great location, 4 stars well deserved but still a way to go till 5 stars are worth giving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel lies on an absolutely spectacular spot: high on a rock, overseeing both the small town of Ponta do Sol to the north and the ocean and beach to the south. After checking in everything runs smoothly: cleaning, breakfast, dinners, whatever services one needs: everything is provided for in an agreeable way. Infinity pool, rooms, all is as beautiful as on the photo's. Designing the hotel has been a major achievement, because of the rarity and the unlikeliness of the spot. Excellent hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank GeorgeMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
509 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
451 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing