We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for a week in June as part of a package holiday with Simply Travel and found to our delight that the hotel, it's staff and its location confirmed all of the many favourable reviews written written about them.this designer hotel is quite definitely the best "overseas" hotel we have stayed in. All of the staff went out of their way to make you most welcome and the rooms were comfortable and spacious with a large balcony with views to "die for". The food was first class. Massive breakfasts with just about everything on offer (except I'm afraid for this Scot marmalade!) and a comprehensive dinner menu very well prepared at reasonable prices.A very useful service offered is the free courtesy minibus which runs daily trips to Funchal, neighbouring towns and levada walks. If we can afford it we shall certainly return - it is a treat not to be missed.

Room Tip: An upper side room with views of the sea and the town 305-308
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    117
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
59
313
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

it was like a fairy tale when we arrived, the view from the room is incredible. We thought to eat at different restaurants but it was so delicious in the hotel that we have eaten there every day.
the staff is so friendly and helpful, really class.
On the beautiful pool it was so quiet you can hear whistling the birds.
Highly recommended.
belgium.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is really very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luppe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We slept in the town in Hotel Vila which is run by the same company as this one so will only share my views on the restaurant where we dined twice.

AMBIENT: Not too big, comfortable chairs, well sized tables and a great view over the town and the sea. The hotel is a design hotel, can't tell how the rooms look but the common areas looked very nice and unique. Really enjoyed sipping a caipirinha while sitting under a palm tree and staring at the sea. One can see though that this place was built some 10 years back so toilets could use some renovation.

FOOD: The best we had on Madeira. A had a steak and a risotto with prawns. Both great. My wife had some pasta and a tuna steak, best tuna we had on the island, by far! Good selection of Portuguese wines, not cheap but the serve is quite large. Great deserts as well, not too sweet.

DRINKS: The bar looks great yet we just had a lady who was no bar tender fixing our cocktails so at a price of 6-7 Euro per drink that was a bit disappointing.

SERVICE: Very friendly yet professional. No problem to get tap water.

OVERALL: Best restaurant on Madeira we had the chance to visit. Good value as well. Not cheap but meals ranging from 8-18E is appropriate.

Room Tip: I believe the best option is stay in the cheaper Hotel Vila and enjoy the amenities of the Estalagem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived late and still got a great dinner at the restaurant (while they were setting up for breakfast). Rooms have loads of room, and the spot is absolutely unbelievable. Great pool, OK fitness room and breakfast. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

loved this hotel! best, of course, were the views - perched high above the coast, overlooking town below - night time quiet, surf pounding and in the morning, birds sing

sumputous breakfast with many sweets, fruits and cheese

loved the pool but only dipped in as weather a bit chilly

a great modern vibe which contrasted nicely to many of the more traditional places on Madeira

wish we could have stayed longer - would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in four days in December 2012. Had great expectations after reading a ton of reviews on booking.com and tripadvisor and carefully selecting this hotel. First had some issues regarding hotel transport, which was stated as included when booking on booking.com, but when communicating to the hotel they referred to the hotel wed site which had additional requirements for airport transport, etc. In the end the hotel was kind enough to offer us airport transport because of the conflicting information. I also think they updated/corrected the info in booking.com

We were picked up on time at the airport by a very friendly driver. Arriving at the hotel we were shown a room at the first floor, looking into some bushes, even though we had ordered a sea view room. After some discussion we once again complained (feeling a bit angry, as I do not like to be a difficult customer), and we got a large sea view room with great views.

Good things:
The hotel location is very cool, with elevators taking you up to the top of the cliffs where the hotel is situated.

The view!

The transport to and from the hiking/levada trips!

Quite good service, after asking for it. (e.g. for renting a car..)

Cute dogs playing around near lobby. (if you like dogs, as I do)

Nice restaurant.

Pool table! Cool atmosphere in lounge/bar area
---------------------------------
Not so good things:

Service not spot on to expectations (given that we had to complain twice)

In January it was quite windy, and the altitude of the hotel can make it a bit chilly. The second part of our trip we were in Funchal (not so scary touristy as expected [we got a good deal on CS Madeira on a top floor sea view room, which was a great hotel. A bit worn, but still great, with sea access which lead to swimming every day]) and felt summer had arrived.

The "spa" amemnities was not really inviting. The lighting, temperature, cleanliness was not as expected.

Not much else around, you need a car! Had a meal at a resturant/cafe near the seafront, and by mistake ordered a shrimp and bread smoothie :P thankfully the hotel resturant is good (even though somewhat pricy) and open late!

In the end the hotel could not live up to my expectations after reading the other reviews. We were still glad we split our trip in two, and really liked the transport to and from the levada walks.:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reisehelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrapateira, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

me, my boyfriend, my three year old son and my 7month old daughter had a really good time there!! the rooms seem fresh, the furniture is of good taste and honestly: i slept in the softest sheets EVER, must be the water from the mountains!!

the breakfast offers everything you could wish for, fresh fruits, loads of bakery, just amazing. the stuff was SUPERfriendly, always kind words for my family and they love kids, whatever special request you might have, they do in no-time and always with a smile!

We felt very welcomed there, our baby went first time swimming in the warm indoor-pool, we would defintaly book that hotel again if we go another time to madeira!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joao paulo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
10.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Property: Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing