We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing spot, great experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived late and still got a great dinner at the restaurant (while they were setting up for breakfast). Rooms have loads of room, and the spot is absolutely unbelievable. Great pool, OK fitness room and breakfast. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    129
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
67
347
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

loved this hotel! best, of course, were the views - perched high above the coast, overlooking town below - night time quiet, surf pounding and in the morning, birds sing

sumputous breakfast with many sweets, fruits and cheese

loved the pool but only dipped in as weather a bit chilly

a great modern vibe which contrasted nicely to many of the more traditional places on Madeira

wish we could have stayed longer - would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in four days in December 2012. Had great expectations after reading a ton of reviews on booking.com and tripadvisor and carefully selecting this hotel. First had some issues regarding hotel transport, which was stated as included when booking on booking.com, but when communicating to the hotel they referred to the hotel wed site which had additional requirements for airport transport, etc. In the end the hotel was kind enough to offer us airport transport because of the conflicting information. I also think they updated/corrected the info in booking.com

We were picked up on time at the airport by a very friendly driver. Arriving at the hotel we were shown a room at the first floor, looking into some bushes, even though we had ordered a sea view room. After some discussion we once again complained (feeling a bit angry, as I do not like to be a difficult customer), and we got a large sea view room with great views.

Good things:
The hotel location is very cool, with elevators taking you up to the top of the cliffs where the hotel is situated.

The view!

The transport to and from the hiking/levada trips!

Quite good service, after asking for it. (e.g. for renting a car..)

Cute dogs playing around near lobby. (if you like dogs, as I do)

Nice restaurant.

Pool table! Cool atmosphere in lounge/bar area
---------------------------------
Not so good things:

Service not spot on to expectations (given that we had to complain twice)

In January it was quite windy, and the altitude of the hotel can make it a bit chilly. The second part of our trip we were in Funchal (not so scary touristy as expected [we got a good deal on CS Madeira on a top floor sea view room, which was a great hotel. A bit worn, but still great, with sea access which lead to swimming every day]) and felt summer had arrived.

The "spa" amemnities was not really inviting. The lighting, temperature, cleanliness was not as expected.

Not much else around, you need a car! Had a meal at a resturant/cafe near the seafront, and by mistake ordered a shrimp and bread smoothie :P thankfully the hotel resturant is good (even though somewhat pricy) and open late!

In the end the hotel could not live up to my expectations after reading the other reviews. We were still glad we split our trip in two, and really liked the transport to and from the levada walks.:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisehelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrapateira, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

me, my boyfriend, my three year old son and my 7month old daughter had a really good time there!! the rooms seem fresh, the furniture is of good taste and honestly: i slept in the softest sheets EVER, must be the water from the mountains!!

the breakfast offers everything you could wish for, fresh fruits, loads of bakery, just amazing. the stuff was SUPERfriendly, always kind words for my family and they love kids, whatever special request you might have, they do in no-time and always with a smile!

We felt very welcomed there, our baby went first time swimming in the warm indoor-pool, we would defintaly book that hotel again if we go another time to madeira!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joao paulo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed jan 2013, having stayed before in 2011. Last time we stayed in a lovely sea view room, this time we went for a cheaper garden view room. This was just as good a room, but at a cheaper cost yet had a side sea view, a view over the garden and a view over the charming village, superb but take a top floor room, there are only 2 floors!
The food was superb on half board (last time we went b&b but ate in the restaurant every night as there is not much in the village, which is a local place rather than touristy). Result all the other residents (mostly very friendly Germans, we went on 2 levada walks organised by the hotel for free with them) were on b&b having a la carte in the evening, we assumed we would be on table d'hôtel, but were given the a la carte instead until the last night (presumably we were very lucky at a quiet time).
OK, the place is virtually dead at night, although the previous time when we arrived on twelfth night there was a local carnival with a local TV crew on hand, but the hotel is class, straight out of a James Bond film yet less expensive than standard hotels in Funchal.
We organised the holiday ourselves with one week here and one in Funchal at the Quinta da Penha Franca (also good value in the old Quinta) to have more things to do and eat out in the evening.
Estalagem picked us up at the airport if you stay for a week.
We're we just lucky, I don't know, but we will be going again.

Room Tip: Top floor ie. 2nd out of 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagsdecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've Travelled to Madeira yearly since 2002. I have stayed in other hotels before, but since 2005/2006 this is my preferred hotel on the Island. Have stayed there every year between 2006 and 2012.

The architecture is 100% my style. Location is very quiet (ask for a room that overlooks the cliff!). The restaurant is OK.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the cliff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Absolutely a great hotel. The employees are very nice and the facilities are great. Both swimmingpools were wonderfull; clean and warm! The gym is a bit small, but therefore we found a great solution: we went to Lobo Gym in Camara de Lobos, a small city nearby. You can find this gym in the shopping centre near the harbour and the church. In the future we'll absolutely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelien-holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
466 reviews
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,106 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,820 reviews
10.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Property: Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing