We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Absolutely a great hotel. The employees are very nice and the facilities are great. Both swimmingpools were wonderfull; clean and warm! The gym is a bit small, but therefore we found a great solution: we went to Lobo Gym in Camara de Lobos, a small city nearby. You can find this gym in the shopping centre near the harbour and the church. In the future we'll absolutely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelien-holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    122
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
333
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diemen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

we stayed here in january of 2013 and eventhough we are not big fans of modern architecture this place seemed like the place to go.
The location and area are gorgeous, but not that much to see or go eat besides the hotel restaurant, perhaps more places are open in summer but not in winter when we were there.
That being said there are several agents that offer this location with a rentalcar so you can get around. The staff is super friendly and are going out of their way to please and help you with your questions, more so than I have seen ever before.
the rooms were reallly nice and roomy too. Pools and sauna, steamroom too but they are small.
This place is great for couples without kids that like to relax and enjoy. It is not suitable for kids at all, and therefor great for people that like vacations without screaming kids around;-)
I'd say the only point for improvement would be for them to get some more parkingspots for people staying there because the good spots were pretty limited which often force you to park in either sort of illegal spots or spots that are tricky to navigate into and on a very steep hill.
they also have two dogs that are hanging out at reception, that might be something someone would like to know who is allergic or hates dogs. They were resonably well behaved and did not bother you when you did not give them any attention ad did not bark that much so it did not really bother us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandelieu La Napoule, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location, surroundings, service and excellent design!!
Don't mind the pictures, you'll be pleasantly surprised; magnifique exterior & SPA, especially in the evening, lighting will turn it into a wonderland. Hotel is situated at top of the cliff, in several levels and you'll take elevator from the street (built inside of the cliff) + amazing views of course.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvlka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon and I really wish it had been longer. I LOVED the hotel and the location. Would definitely go there again if I was looking for a peaceful relaxed break to get away from it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidoriAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Location: Spectacular, on a cliff, ideal for watching sunsets. From Ponta do Sol all places at the southern coast (including Funchal) and central Madeira are easily accesible (if you have a car). The hotel offers shuttle services to Funchal and other places for hikes.

Rooms: 52 rooms, some with sea-view, some looking on the village below. The size is ok, so is the design (nothing to write home about though), some parts of the furniture (the lamps for instance) seem to be rather cheap, the shower was a let-down (a rather sad sprinkler). The beds are comfortable, Wifi is free, even though the connection in our room tended to be slow.

Facilities: Great outdoor-pool with interesting design, decent indoor-pool and jacuzzi and a really nice sauna. The gym consists of a treadmill, a stepper and one exercise machine.

Restaurant: The breakfast buffet is decent with good bread and all the usual stuff you would expect. The general quality of the food you get on the island is not great, the dinner options at the hotel are ok (3-4 meat and fish dishes, don't expect a great choice for vegetarians) but could certainly be improved in the light of the over-average prices. Not all of the fish they serve is fresh for instance. The alternatives in the village are not great though.

Staff: The staff at the reception can be a bit frosty but they are nice and helpful in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights recently and didn't want to leave. We had booked in at the sister Hotel in the village - but had to be moved because of building work taking place (beyond the owners control) next door. We were offered an excellent room with a sea view - which is well worth it. The Hotel has a quirky design feel - with lots of interesting spaces and places to eat and drink. Attention to detail and service are evident everywhere throughout the Hotel. The food and service in the restaurant was great - and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever experienced - really high quality and healthy too. Great pool and spa facilities - all quite small but with real design flair and great views though out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
432 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spectacular cliff top location with the buildings situated in a way which provides lots of hidden areas to sit and admire the views. Rooms are very spacious with generous balcony - ours overlooked the bay/harbour. There is a seating area as well as a table for a laptop (free wifi in room) and the rooms are spotless and immaculately presented. Good quality four piece bathroom suite with toilet, bidet, basin and shower over bath and generous supply of toiletries.

Breakfast top notch with virtually anything you would ever want for breakfast. Sometimes at peak periods, we experienced a short wait due to lack of space in the dining room but not a major issue.

Hotel is very well equipped. There is an outdoor infinity pool, ample number of sun loungers located in different areas around the hotel and in one central location, a complementary sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, indoor heated pool together with attached upstairs lounge with honesty bar. There is also a small gym. The hotel also offers various treatments which we are unable to comment on.

The original building also has a cosy upstairs lounge/library and a downstairs bar with log fire on chilly afternoons/evenings.

The hotel offer free walks on most days where they drop off in one location and pick up in another location later in the day which is an excellent service. These range from 3 hour trips to two longer ones at 5 and 6 hours where a pack lunch is also provided (charge). Waterproofs and good walking shoes recommended. We went of two of these walks and the longer one in particular was very good (if wet!) There is also a shuttle bus into Funchal which we didn't use although we did make use of the local bus service with timetables that can be accessed on the internet.

Reception staff very good. They kindly provided us with a complementary room on our last day for a late afternoon departure.

Had a meal in the restaurant one evening which was good. At the time of our visit, choice of eating places a little restricted as the sister hotel on the front was closed after our first night (it was probably our best meal) due to demolition on an adjacent building although we did also eat in the very good sea front restaurant as well as an average pasta/pizza place further back in the village.

Overall the location provides for a very relaxing stay and given its ultra stylish situation, it is terrific value for money.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A third floor room provides better external views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Property: Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing