We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous lunch.”

Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Ponta Do Sol
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: O Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena conta com varios anos de experiencia na arte de bem servir. Esforcamo-nos por proporcionar momentos agradaveis aos nossos clientes, quer seja numa refeicao simples, quer seja em momentos especiais como casamentos, baptizados e aniversarios. Nas especialidades da casa temos mariscos, peixes, carnes, massas. Venha conhecer-nos!
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a long Lavada walk this was just the place to sit relax and have a very nice lunch, food was very good fresh and well presented the prawns were delicious and accompanying salad tasty.
A bit in the outskirts but worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    24
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally Lapas that come out of the sea and not the freezer”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had the best Lapas so far! What a difference in taste when they are fresh from the sea. Do not arrive to early in the evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank 1mensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super little restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Friendly service. Delicious local flat garlic bread. Great tuna and other fish dishes. Large selection of excellent ice cream! Easy to find on coast road between Calheta and Ponta do Sol.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenOldey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“filled our bellies”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

went for a late meal with friends , nothing outstanding about the place or service . Prices average & food ok ! We had seafood pasta dish to share for two , the size of the dish was massive , it would be enough to share between 4 people ! It took around an hour for our meal to arrive , which was a really long time for one course meal & we were hungry ! Overall , its ok !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant with sea view, specialised in sea food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice restaurant focussed on tourists as customers (but as the island depends on tourism it's hard to find any other places). We cannot complain about that fact - you even get lunch during the afternoon which was comfortable for us as it was good to have your meal after returning from the hike and not have to be waiting until 7 pm.

Food and beverage was not cheap but about the usual price in Madeira, you'll get lapas from around 5 € up to 8€, here it comes for 6€. We had a fish soup for 2 people (which would have made 3 people happy) for 24 €, considering the fact that in most restaurants usually a main course is about 11 € plus side dishes, we don't find the price too high. Quality was very good, we loved the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena also viewed

Ponta Do Sol, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Cantinho da Madalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing