We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Madeira at its rustic and natural” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Vila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponta Do Sol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
340 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Madeira at its rustic and natural”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Hotel da Vila was a pleasant surprise and finish to our stay in Madeira Island. Having stayed in the Funchal area for one week, then moving to the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol , 4 minutes walk away, we stayed in one of the very rustic and natural wood rooms here at the Hotel da Vila for four nights, The Hotel consists of 16 rooms which all have a nice balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean directly across the street ! It is a small yet very trendy little place with lots of character. The well known architect Duarte Caideira designed the hotel with his " chic and rural " design and furniture made out of the local materials of the island . There is a contemporary feel throughout the hotel and elevator access for those with stair disabilities. The rooms are on the smaller scale but a treat to stay in. The beds and pillows are very comfortable , bathroom and all the furnishings are brand new since the grand opening in April, 2010. Bath toiletries are also provided for guests use. All white with the local wood make for quite an interesting contrast in each guest room with unique lamps and decorations made out of the local materials. One can't beat the waves outside your door to lull you into a good nights sleep.Breakfast was included in the price and very nicely presented with hot and cold entrees available for guests. Staff are on the younger side but eager to help the guests.We felt very comfortable during our stay. Often we were given a ride to the Estalagem since one of the travellers was advanced in age. The dining room is decorated in black and again is successful in its execution for warmth and a cutting edge feel to the dining experience. Hats off to the chef who delivered delicious meals a few evenings. Similarly, guests have access to all of the services ( spa, internet, pool, jacuzzi etc) at the Estalagem up the mountain. Lastly, outside are long benches and long wooden tables that look like tree trunks. Guests are invited to take the time to relax and have a drink or snack or even dinner outside ! It is like having your own private cafe or bistro when not busy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel da Vie.It adds a nice ,polished flavor to the historical location on the main street of town.Highly recommend this charming stay on the sunny coast of Madeira Island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munchen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Hotel da Vila was very nice. Indeed, we could access to the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol's facilities, wich mean the swimming pool (great sunbeds and the sunset everyday), the spa and massage centre, etc.
The breakfast in the Hotel da Vila is very nice, and everyday they change a bit of it. The rooms are very nice, indee are white with a touch of wood and rustic mixed with luxury. The beds are very nice. Outside they have a nice terrace where we can have meals, or just be in thhere reading a book in a very relaxing moment, because have relaxing music all day. Of course if we have the windows open, we could hear the music, but it wasn't very noisy, because it was turned off before midnight., and if we close the windows, we couldn't hear anything from the street, and the air conditioning makes the diference with the temperature, wich was really nice.
The service sometimes was a little "rush hour", but in high-season, happens a lot, so that's no problem. The waiter was very pleasent for us everytime, and the food was a a good price-quality. With sea view, 20 meters from the beach, it was a very nice vacations we had!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just back from a 2 week break in Ponta do Sol, the second of which we stayed at the Hotel da Vila. As we were transferring from the Estalagem, we checked in up there as part of our check-out, and our bags were transferred over for us which was very welcome as we didn't have a car!
The Hotel da Vila is new, clean and quite sleak and trendy with many 'cool' design elements. In fact, the hotel photos on here are very accurate and representative. The room was a good size for a couple, but I would have found it a little tight if it was set up as a twin room. The bathroom had such a powerful shower that if it was on full the showerhead bounced off the holder! We had a small balcony, but it was more to stand on than to sit lounging on, which was fine. We were on the 1st floor, so the noise from the speakers outside was audible, but once the doors to the balcony were shut, it wasn't a problem. The other noise that was a little more intrusive, but not to an annoying level, was the noise from the kitchen which just seemed to reverberate up the stairs making it sound like someone was unloading a dishwasher outside our room! This is probably not a problem on higher floors though. And tbh, wasn't a problem for us either. Breakfast was meant to finish at 10am, but this was a little flexible, and there was a reasonable selection available every day. Similarly, the menu had a good selection of well priced options available, with daily fish and meat dishes, and they served up til midnight, I think. Good cocktail menu too!! And you had full use of all the Estalagem facilities, even down to signing things to your Hotel da Vila room from their bar/restaurant which made things very easy.
One area that the hotel needs to work on though is the service. Another reviewer mentioned that the staff may have been there only for the high season, which might explain it. The service wasn't bad, it was just not forthcoming! You could easily sit for an hour without a drink or food in front of you, hogging a table on the terrace whilst reading a book! And similarly, when you wanted to pay, well it almost seemed like an intrusion! There were plenty of staff available, just many didn't seem to want to bother you. And most of the staff were polite and cordial, but others could do with a little more fine tuning of their people-skills!!
Overall though, it was a good value hotel at €70 pn B&B. And there are two nice little touches I'd like to highlight: the first is the airport transfer, which was a taxi for us as it was at 5am! And the second was that they prepared a breakfast for us the night before as we were leaving so early - this was unnecessary, but a really nice touch that we appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exdipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have just returned of a one week stay at hotel da Vila and I can say this is a good hotel for value.
A beautiful designed hotel with the great benefit of free transfer from the airport of Funchal if you stay 7 nights, free use of all the facilities of Estalagem Ponta do Sol - 3 minutes walking - and in front of the sea in a peaceful village 18 km from Funchal.
The only bad thing I have to say is that the service during the breakfast time is not good at all. There is only one person serving and sometimes is confusing. I noticed that the young people working there are probably only for the high season so not very professional.
Anyway I would recommend it but one tip you should hire a car to visit the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
10.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
10.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Property: Hotel da Vila
Address: Rua Doutor Joao Augusto Teixeira, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-215, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior design is a good example of the "chic & rural" concept, developed by the well-known architect and designer Duarte Caldeira. He combines typical and rural elements with a modern, clean and recycled decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel da Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vila Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing