We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and cosy”
Review of Hotel da Vila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponta Do Sol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We agree in full with other travellers: the hotel is great, confortable, the small little village is fine, the beach is beautiful. It's true that the breakfast service is not as good as the bar service during the day or the restaurant. As this hotel is managed by the same group of Estalagem, we could expect more as we have already been in Estalagem. But considering it costs 40% less, it's a great value with the advantage of having the stone beach in front of us.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was great, but we had two beds put together instead of a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinaSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our week in Hotel da Vila was absolutely great! Our arrival was early in the morning and the reception was cordial. We could even choose on which floor we wanted our room to be situated. We picked the third because the view is the best! We’ve enjoyed our week in our beautiful room with a comfortable bed. We liked the breakfasts, dinners and cocktails in the restaurant.
The village of Ponta do Sol is small and cute, a perfect place for relaxation. The nearby Hotel Estalagem do Ponta do Sol is also beautiful. It’s a four minutes walk from Hotel da Vila and over there the infinity pool, sun beds, a warm indoor pool and sauna, are at your disposal. You can book wonderful treatments there! In both hotels the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The Estalagem is more distinguished, Hotel da Vila is more unpretentious and precious... and both places are heavenly!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jippie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We really liked to stay in that beautiful and cosy Hotel. Nice atmosphere, all rooms with seaview and very gentle workers helping by each problem.

We also liked the price and the combined possebility to use the pool in the connected Hotel Estalagem.
It was a nice holiday in Hotel da Vila, Ponta do Sol.

thanks m&m

Room Tip: internet booking, all rooms are nearly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moritzpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The hotel is on a great spot. Every evening "Hollywood- sunset"!
No traffic at all!
The design is nice and everything is clean from head to toe.
The breakfast is good and there are various things to choose.
Breakfast stuff was... ok. Not really enthusiastic to serve.
BUT, the rest of the staff was simply the best:
Bruna at the reception - great support for daily trips and organising phone calls.
Ilidio at the bar did a great job, mixing cocktails and let us feel good during the evening.
Nuno, the best waiter ever! Perfect knodledge about kitchen, food, wine and languages.
After all, the staff made the stay perfect!
The kitchen in the hotel is great, and I can recommend the halfboard. The soup-, the fish- and the DESERT- of the day, brings a great variety.
A rental car is a must, if you wanna see something from the island. The parking situation is abit difficult. The hotel just got 3 parking places for free... not enough!

...we found a warm and romantic place... and friends in Hotel da Vila

Room Tip: room 35 - huge room (great view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uwe3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We had emailed a few times to ask questions in advance, and staff were prompt and helpful. They also booked a taxi to pick us up. They always answered our questions and helped us with phonecalls.
The rooms are very white, i believe it's new. Very chic. The restaurent in the sister hotel is excellent, the restaurant in Hotel de Vila is ok.
Breakfast is enjoyable enough, pretty much what you would expect, plus some local cakes.

The only negative is the water pump. The shower, tap and even the toilet cistern water comes in spurts. The main problem is with the shower - every 8 seconds you lose water pressure for 1/2 a second and then get extra hot water.

Overall a definate recommendation

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Having stayed at the sister hotel - the Estalagem on numerous occasions, we decided to give the new hotel on the beach front in the village centre a try and we certainly weren't disappointed, in fact we have just booked to go back again. The hotel is quite small and personal and very stylish, the staff are friendly and helpful at both of the hotels and the standard of food is very good indeed with an excellent variety at the buffet breakfast. The more informal style of the smaller hotel works well with the sister hotel, who's superb facilities are available to guests staying at the Hotel da Vila, including a fabulous pool area with stunning views from the deck, spa, bar and conservatory area and an excellent restauarant. In fact the two combine to offer the perfect break for those looking for excellent value with just enough luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Hotel da Vila was a pleasant surprise and finish to our stay in Madeira Island. Having stayed in the Funchal area for one week, then moving to the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol , 4 minutes walk away, we stayed in one of the very rustic and natural wood rooms here at the Hotel da Vila for four nights, The Hotel consists of 16 rooms which all have a nice balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean directly across the street ! It is a small yet very trendy little place with lots of character. The well known architect Duarte Caideira designed the hotel with his " chic and rural " design and furniture made out of the local materials of the island . There is a contemporary feel throughout the hotel and elevator access for those with stair disabilities. The rooms are on the smaller scale but a treat to stay in. The beds and pillows are very comfortable , bathroom and all the furnishings are brand new since the grand opening in April, 2010. Bath toiletries are also provided for guests use. All white with the local wood make for quite an interesting contrast in each guest room with unique lamps and decorations made out of the local materials. One can't beat the waves outside your door to lull you into a good nights sleep.Breakfast was included in the price and very nicely presented with hot and cold entrees available for guests. Staff are on the younger side but eager to help the guests.We felt very comfortable during our stay. Often we were given a ride to the Estalagem since one of the travellers was advanced in age. The dining room is decorated in black and again is successful in its execution for warmth and a cutting edge feel to the dining experience. Hats off to the chef who delivered delicious meals a few evenings. Similarly, guests have access to all of the services ( spa, internet, pool, jacuzzi etc) at the Estalagem up the mountain. Lastly, outside are long benches and long wooden tables that look like tree trunks. Guests are invited to take the time to relax and have a drink or snack or even dinner outside ! It is like having your own private cafe or bistro when not busy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel da Vie.It adds a nice ,polished flavor to the historical location on the main street of town.Highly recommend this charming stay on the sunny coast of Madeira Island.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
499 reviews
4.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Address: Rua Doutor Joao Augusto Teixeira, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-215, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range: $72 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior design is a good example of the "chic & rural" concept, developed by the well-known architect and designer Duarte Caldeira. He combines typical and rural elements with a modern, clean and recycled decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel da Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vila Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing