We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for its view”
Review of Royal Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Orchid
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here in a 1 bedroom suite with a sea view (side on) last April. Room very plain and simple with plenty of space and a small kitchenette. Wouldn't recommend attempting much cooking though beyond making a drink and a snack. Fairly comfortable.

Has great access to the sea although the location is very windy so we had a red flag all week. Small pool and a reasonable gym. Good choice of small terraces.

Breakfast was average. Nice bar. Friendly staff.

Can park a car.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolkmanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in March. Chosen because it was outside the city with good access to the expressway. Sea view room had lounge with fully equipped kitchenette and an extra shower room as well as the en-suite bedroom. Hot and cold continental breakfast was good and varied each day. We changed to half board for second week and found the buffet evening meals to be typical of Madeira, well cooked and varied. Room very clean, reception staff on the whole helpful and obliging. Only problem was the limited parking spaces on the hotel frontage, but there was a larger public parking area at the bottom of the next street which we used without any problems from time to time. Things could be much more difficult in the height of the season. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really good, but it can be rather noisy on the lower floors near to the pools and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkRodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got a good bargain on this hotel including a flight and rental car. We expected a big hotel, but we didn´t expect to live in the basement right next to the fitness center. However, our room was very spacious and we had our own kitchenette. This enabled us to prepare our own breakfast and eat out whenever we felt like it. The matress on the bed was awful...The hotel bar is a nice place to retreat after a day of walking. The indoor pool and sauna area are not of the most modern and inviting standard. Don´t expect a wellness hotel.
The most convincing argument for the hotel is its location: Right on the sea. We could hear the sea while sleeping with an open window - great! You could take a morning jog along the sea and we preferred the restaurant "Fado" for some original and inexpensive local cuisine.
Free parking at the hotel is included!
We don´t want to know what it is like during the busy summer months though when the outdoor pool will be packed with people. We prefer the quiet pre-season which was nice for walking tours in Madeira anyway. Beautiful island - we will be back, but prefer to rent a small house next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, maids very friendly, reception polite but lacking in warmth or friendliness.
Would recommend though. Very clean maids every day bar 1.Be prepared for hills in Madeira , most beautiful place. Room great, great views. Indoor swim good. Loads beds to sunbathe. Very quiet area. Has courtesy bus to city but book early. Was surprised to be charged for crack in wine glass. We had noticed it so left it out with a note. Surprised to pay for wear and tear. All pools working well. I would book to stay on edge of Funchal next time though. Visit Funchal market if ud be interested.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed in Rocamar, another Hotel of the same group as Royal Orchid, right next to it.
Very clean, and tight.
Plus: direct sea acess.
The director is very friendly and the staff very nice. Plus to all of them.

Room Tip: Rent-a-car. Better than the bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sousa_sergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago for 3 weeks. I didn't have the internet then so couldn't look on this site,if I had I would not have chosen this hotel.
I suffer with vertigo so going where the hotel is built into the side of the cliffs was not a good choice.I couldn't use the lovely little sunbathing platforms but for most people they would be ideal.
There is a nice cosy room for reading if the weather isnt too good.
The hotel is built on a hill but has anyone ever found one in Madeira that isn't?
The hotel is lovely,I was given a huge room with kitchen and sitting area with comfortable settee and armchairs.The terrace was large with great views.The well fitted bathroom was very clean, In fact the whole place was well kept .
As it was winter with small numbers of guests we ate meals at the sister hotel nextdoor but there is an indoor walkway to get to it. The food was of reasonable quality for the price of the holiday with a good selection.They keep a good selection of local wines.
The majority of guests were from Germany few of which appeared to treat the staff with any respect. I am always friendly and appreciative of the service they provide and this paid off, I was treated like a very special guest and I loved it, who wouldn't ?
Overall I think most people ( who don't suffer with a walking or balance problem) would enjoy a holiday here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel for a week in Mid August 2012, as an exchange holiday with RCI time-sharing. It was a late booking so we were lucky to find this. We were given a sea view 1 bed flat with max occupancy of 4 persons, on the 5th floor, with fully equipped kitchen, living room, 1 en suite bedroom, living room and 1 extra WC. The balcony had a breath taking view of the endless blue of the Atlantic. Indeed the hotel age shows but nothing to worry about. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There is a free mini-bus running twice a day to Funchal but you need to book your place in advance. Note that there are quite steep hills outside the hotel and a lot of stairs from the pool area to the sea A state of the art gym along with jacussi, hamam and sauna are available for guests. The pool was very clean and not that crowded, as people were scattered along the different levels on the way to the sea, where sunbeds were located. The sea was a bit chilly but quite rewarding if you are into snorkeling. There is a steep staircase if you are not willing to dive! We enjoyed the calmness of sunbathing overlooking the ocean. Within 5 min walk from the hotel you can find mini markets, restaurants and car hires. Book in advance your car (2 days within a 7 day stay is ok!). We took the 7-day breakfast on the spot, which we found quite good. No wi-fi available in the room, only in the lobby and in the corridor if you are lucky. As stated below, a lot of people woke up very early to “reserve” a good spot for sunbathing. It is really worth it to watch the sunrise though and enjoy a full day, so get up early! The Royal Orchid hotel shares facilities with Rocamar, where we had a lovely a la carte dinner in a nice sea view terrace. We did not try the sea water pool of Rocamar as we were happy with Orchid’s. All in all if you are seeking calmness and relaxation this is the place for you. Highly recommended for families and couples.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 509 and i saw that all rooms from 501 to 509 have direct ocean view. perhaps 508 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.3 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
811 reviews
6.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
239 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
5.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid

Address: Travessa Vista Praia | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Canico
Royal Orchid Hotel Canico
Royal Orchid Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing