We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the right boxes for us”
Review of Royal Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Orchid
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ticked all the right boxes for us”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife, adult daughter and I had a 'room' for a week: in fact the room was a large 1-bedroom flat with balcony and sea view. The kitchen was everything you'd need, the windows had heavyweight sun-block curtains and lightweight nets so early morning sun was not a problem. Daught's bed in the living room was a proper bed, with seperate bathroom and bedroom there was plenty of space and privavcy.

All-in it did what was needed. In places the hotel's age shows but stuff that mattered like non-slip paint around the loungers and terraces had clearly been attended to recently. Staff were without exception smiling, friendly and helpful.

Within 5 mins walk are probably half a dozen restaurants/ cafes and at least 3 car-hire places and two mini-marts. The nearest cash-machine is less than 10mins walk (basically out the hotel, turn left, after 5 mins your on a costal path follow it through the Hotel Galo's pub/bar back around to the road)

Car hire is we discovered very hard in August and September (book one weeks before you go!) so we ended up booking through the hotel and could only get a hugely expensive rate - Exploring inland is very rewarding but a small car really struggles with the inclines - hire one with some grunt and accept the cost).

The local spar is very big on drink (water, wine, maderia, juices) and pretty short everything else: a freezer of some meats, a little cheese, bread, fruit, jam, biscuits, sweets. the other "min-mart" had better bread but still majored on drink.

Restaurant prices around the Orchid (and across the island) varied a lot between rip-off and "wow that's cheap" - We had a great breakfast in Santa Cruz for three of us -all in at 13euro - and a soft-drink and single shared cake elsewhere which was 12euro and pushy. The rip-off trick we discovered is the drinks are unpriced and then get billed at something like 2.50euro each -this happend several times. In contrast in funchal one bar on the touristy "painted doors" street charged only 1euro for my beer and 1e for Daught's coke.

The hotel has a noticable "towles out at 0750 German brigade", taking the best spots (I kid you not, we watched the sunrise and the first of the towel brigade where out! ) We did still manage to get loungers and brollys when we wanted them, but I was close to moving a few towels from loungers still unused at 14:00! An unexpected bonus was feeding the lizards around teh terraces bits of fruit and crisps

The pool is small and often child-full (its fresh-water not salt), the sea was almost as warm and was calm half the time and with googles and fish more rewarding! Both pool and sea were practical to use into the evening. The pool links to an inside pool and very very well equiped gym, big jacuzzi, sauna etc. The hotel supplied pool-towels - we'd taken our own and the only real use we got from them was wrapping the maderia bottles on the way back!

The Orchid and RocMar's terraces (and other facilities like free bus to Funchal) merge and there is at least one other hotel (Galo) immediately accessible along the coast with bar to sit with a drink and/or ice-cream or snack.

We had not pre-booked The Orchid's breakfast but it was available on a pay-by-the-day (8€ each I think) , 4-day (30€ each) or 7-day basis. Realistically the Spar & other mini-mart offered bread and fruit/ yoghurt but not pastries or eggs etc so home-made breakfast might be limited (we bought stuff in a supemarket in Funchal - if you want the hotel's free bus book the day before).

wifi only worked in the lobby and games room (pool table and a few easy chairs). Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Other guests were a mix of french, dutch and german, transfer from airport was under 15mins, taxi from Funchal about 25€.

All-in a good place for chilled days and a base for out-and-about days

Room Tip: Our room was described as "side-view" but looked straight out to sea and the islands. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    154
    61
    26
    8
See reviews for
75
185
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Next to Rocamar, they share facilities. Breakfast ok, dinner ok, lovely vieuw over the ocean.be sure to go inland, this side is clustered with hotels, the mountains are stunning! Dont however use Magos car rental, they cheat you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Room clean and spacious but furniture and fittings in definite need of an overhaul. Outside of hotel could do with repainting.
We self-catered and happened to break a wine glass which we left with a note so that cleaning staff could dispose of it safely. We were somewhat surprised a couple of days later to find a bill for 2 Euros pushed under our door. Not what we would expect of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 528valmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was a lovely chill out holiday, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was plentiful, something for everyone. The local restaurants and bars were very good, but not a lot of nightlife, its not that sort of place. The rooms are very big with everything you need and are also very clean. There is a courtesy bus into funchal 3 times a day everyday, it is advisable to book this at reception as some people were dissappointed. This hotel needs to be explored, as it took us 3 days to realise there were lots of platforms leading down to the sea with sunbeds, these were real suntraps. All in all a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went to Madeira wanting comfort, relaxation and fresh air and we got esactly what we were after. Our room was huge, equipped with a kitchenette, a balcony overlooking the sea and a form, comfortable bed. As well as an outdoor pool and variety of sundecks, the hotel has a gym including classes which guests can take part in, plus indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The breakfast was OK - a reasonable enough selection but the coffee was pretty horrible.

A couple of the reviews suggested the lcoation was a bit isolated which didn't bother us but actually Canico de Baixo has a decent number of eateries and a Spar minimarket and it is only 15 mins by the hotel courtesy bus or 30 minutes by local bus into Funchal so we thought the location was spot on.

We'd happily go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Royal Orchid is a large hotel. Located just by the sea in Canico wich is a 10 minute drive from Funchal. The rooms are very spacious with kitchen and all you need. My room had two bathrooms wich was really practical. The staff was friendly.

But there is a training gym with fitness classes many times a day and this is making a lot of noise. I asked in the reception why they did not close the doors to the bacement so the guests did not need to hear all this noise. They did not seem to do anything with this

I feel you need a car or take the complimentary bus to Funchal in order to stay here. It felt a bit isolated. But hten again If you just want to swim in the pool and take sunbaths and eat at the local restaurants I am sure you can find tranquility here. But ask for a rom on the east wing. Breakfast was fine-

Room Tip: Ask for room in the top floors or in the east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel is situated at a southern rocky seaside several km to the east of Funchal. Marvelous sea view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parma_Torino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.3 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#9 of 13 in Canico
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galosol
Hotel Galosol
#4 of 13 in Canico
286 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid

Property: Royal Orchid
Address: Travessa Vista Praia | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Canico
Royal Orchid Hotel Canico
Royal Orchid Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing