We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 4 star food”
Review of Roca Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roca Mar
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed here 2 weeks in september stunning location room very clean entertainment good most nights . breakfasts not too bad, evening dinner food was terrible , meat full of fat and bones, soup cold, and potato croquet like things( that you would give to your children at tea time) several times a week. staff very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Roca Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel has beautiful location at the cliff – it was my first impression. Second impression – it is not 4stars hotel. We were two weeks here – so a lot of time for watching.
The reception staff was helpful, good English and German speaking (French, Spanish no problem). Wi-Fi connection is only in the reception (average quality). We had not sea-view room – a part of view was some machine-room and the second little part of sea. In the evening there were very quiet (live music by the restaurant every day, but till 11 p. m. except Sunday). But the air handler at the balcony was very noisy. The beds have been around a while - shabby appearance ( brown blanket too). Mattresses were new. Other furniture is nice. Clean service is average. Specialty is green towels for sunbeds and gym. According this towels life guard identifies, that you are hotel guest (you have sunbed and sun-umbrella free). But exchanging this towel after one week – problem. This hotel is not suitable for small babies and people with motional problems – the steps everywhere. Entry into the sea is very hard – ladders (from 3 to 5 meters). Good swimmers and see lovers will be content. For others is small pool with seawater (water is fresh every day, but the pool is filled at noon). Life guards are very lazy.
The restaurant with terrace is very nice; breakfast is good but the same over and over. Dinner is very good, usually at least two varieties of fish, a meat choice, soup, pasta and vegetarian, various salads, fruits and excellent desserts. Sometimes was the food cold, which is a pity. Small beer costs 2.5 Euro, glass of wine 4.5 Euro.
Fitness center is excellent and access able directly from the Roca Mar (is in the Royal Orchid Hotel). It consists of another pool, super gym, whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath.
There is a supermarket (SPAR) 5 mins walk away and some restaurants nearby (glass of wine costs 3.5 Euro). Near is beautiful parade (for jogging too) with public stony beach with two Portuguese restaurants (one of them is for surfers – one drink and glass of wine in sum 5 Euro).
This hotel is situated in Canico de Baixo and is the good starting point for tours of the island. You can rent a car, reserve the hotel bus or the public bus Nr. 155 to Funchal has station near to hotel. Hotel bus to Funchal and back is free and leaves 3 times daily. The price of one way ticket to Funchal by public bus is 2.15 Euro. Don't forget the trip to Funchal (the journey with the biggest cableway is beautiful – one way ticket 10 Euro). In the hotel neighborhood you can make 3 trips by foot – to the big statue Christu Rei (4 km), to the Canico church (2 km), to the cliff „hollow tooth“ - it is our nickname (2 km). All trips are sharp uphill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hrivnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Service: good food as a buffet (however limited and sometimes just not enough - many empty plates in the middle of breakfast/dinner hours) and very nice staff in the dining part.
Room & Sleep: my room has been far from the cafeteria so good environment for sleeping. Unfortunately, I haven't slept at all on horrible mattresses MANY times. Lots of stairs and no lift made mine and my companions life very hard at the begging when we were trying to find our room (no help from the hotel staff).
Cleanliness: far from good... Plus: lots of bugs (ants, mosquitoes as well as lots of cockroaches!!!)
Location: close to the capital city (20km) + hotel's bus + few rental car companies. And the view is amazing.
Fitness center - 10am-5pm for free so you have to pay extra if you want to do anything at the begging or at the end of the day...

I spent here 1 week in August 2013. The place is on the beautiful cliff. You can ask for free umbrella and hide from the sun or take a hotel bus (first at 10am) to the capital city and enjoy the town. It seems that if the noise is not a problem for you, the best option are the rooms just above the cafeteria (you might be lucky and catch WIFI there!). Some bands (as a evening amusement) are quite nice (if not and on Sundays - I would advise go to the next door hotel's garden/restaurant). In the same time, cockroaches and general cleanliness are just horrible.
Nice hotel but it should have 2-3 starts not 4.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Roca Mar for 2 nights expecting a 4 star hotel but this hotel is far from it. We were greeted by a rather surly receptionist. the hotel has no lifts and plenty of stairs. We were on the first floor and were not offered any assistance with our bags. The room was clean and did have a sea view, yes a view of just the sea. the way the hotel is designed and located there is no panoramic view of the coast just the sea and the sky. The hotel is situated on a cliff face and to get to the pools which are at sea level is via many flight of stairs. The hotel has just one restaurant which was advertising an a la carte menu but on the night we arrived it was just a buffet so we went elsewhere. The breakfast was also a buffet and had a very limited choice, not good enough for 4 stars. We had a car and there is no car parking on site only on a very busy street outside. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone until they reduce their star rating to 2 stars which is all its worth

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor would save the stairs. the ground floor is the same floor as the receptio...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Roca Mar is very nice. Rooms are simple but clean, the bed comfortable. (Nearly) every night is life music in the Bar. But they stop at 11 pm for your sleep.
Friendly people.
The ocean-water is very cold. Internet/Wifi is good.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea-View are a bit more expansive but very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a week in RocaMar hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was AWFUL. The hotel class is not 4 stars!!! We booked a 4 star not see view room and we got a basement room dusty, ugly smelling and the view was a firewall!!! After a few hours of negotiating with the hotel staff we would get an other very unpleasant room (and a very rough receptionist in Hotel Royal Orchid). Luckily we had a very helpful representative of the our tour operator (Neckermnann) and she resolved our problem. After this incident we've got a nice and clean room. But the first impression means a lot, isn't??
In conclusion: if you choose Rocamar: take care: a part the not sea-view rooms are located on the first floor and there are not 4 stars!!! There are dusty, with fire wall view!!!
The hotel was a very nice place 20 years ago, but now there are a lot of thing to do for upgrade this place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatalinMBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel is located right in the village of Canico de Baixo, about 200m from the hotel small min-market SPAR well stocked and good prices, next to supermarket bars, restaurants and car hire, to the capital Funchal, about 11km but three times a day, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus 10, 14, 18 need to be booked in advance at the hotel reception desk. meal - decent, in my opinion but nothing can be criticized, tasty and even the choice is big board version of HB to choose fish (each other) or meat often in several forms, sometimes pasta, seafood, always fresh vegetables, for dessert, the choices a few cakes.

Room Tip: room with a view of the ocean, because otherwise you get a room with a view of the adjacent building...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nonim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galosol
Hotel Galosol
#3 of 13 in Canico
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#6 of 13 in Canico
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Mar

Address: Caminho Cais da Oliveira | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-028, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range: $57 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roca Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roca Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Mar Canico
Roca Mar Hotel Canico
Roca Mar Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing