We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aug 2013 - not good but with some advantages”
Review of Roca Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roca Mar
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Service: good food as a buffet (however limited and sometimes just not enough - many empty plates in the middle of breakfast/dinner hours) and very nice staff in the dining part.
Room & Sleep: my room has been far from the cafeteria so good environment for sleeping. Unfortunately, I haven't slept at all on horrible mattresses MANY times. Lots of stairs and no lift made mine and my companions life very hard at the begging when we were trying to find our room (no help from the hotel staff).
Cleanliness: far from good... Plus: lots of bugs (ants, mosquitoes as well as lots of cockroaches!!!)
Location: close to the capital city (20km) + hotel's bus + few rental car companies. And the view is amazing.
Fitness center - 10am-5pm for free so you have to pay extra if you want to do anything at the begging or at the end of the day...

I spent here 1 week in August 2013. The place is on the beautiful cliff. You can ask for free umbrella and hide from the sun or take a hotel bus (first at 10am) to the capital city and enjoy the town. It seems that if the noise is not a problem for you, the best option are the rooms just above the cafeteria (you might be lucky and catch WIFI there!). Some bands (as a evening amusement) are quite nice (if not and on Sundays - I would advise go to the next door hotel's garden/restaurant). In the same time, cockroaches and general cleanliness are just horrible.
Nice hotel but it should have 2-3 starts not 4.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Roca Mar for 2 nights expecting a 4 star hotel but this hotel is far from it. We were greeted by a rather surly receptionist. the hotel has no lifts and plenty of stairs. We were on the first floor and were not offered any assistance with our bags. The room was clean and did have a sea view, yes a view of just the sea. the way the hotel is designed and located there is no panoramic view of the coast just the sea and the sky. The hotel is situated on a cliff face and to get to the pools which are at sea level is via many flight of stairs. The hotel has just one restaurant which was advertising an a la carte menu but on the night we arrived it was just a buffet so we went elsewhere. The breakfast was also a buffet and had a very limited choice, not good enough for 4 stars. We had a car and there is no car parking on site only on a very busy street outside. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone until they reduce their star rating to 2 stars which is all its worth

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor would save the stairs. the ground floor is the same floor as the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Roca Mar is very nice. Rooms are simple but clean, the bed comfortable. (Nearly) every night is life music in the Bar. But they stop at 11 pm for your sleep.
Friendly people.
The ocean-water is very cold. Internet/Wifi is good.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea-View are a bit more expansive but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a week in RocaMar hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was AWFUL. The hotel class is not 4 stars!!! We booked a 4 star not see view room and we got a basement room dusty, ugly smelling and the view was a firewall!!! After a few hours of negotiating with the hotel staff we would get an other very unpleasant room (and a very rough receptionist in Hotel Royal Orchid). Luckily we had a very helpful representative of the our tour operator (Neckermnann) and she resolved our problem. After this incident we've got a nice and clean room. But the first impression means a lot, isn't??
In conclusion: if you choose Rocamar: take care: a part the not sea-view rooms are located on the first floor and there are not 4 stars!!! There are dusty, with fire wall view!!!
The hotel was a very nice place 20 years ago, but now there are a lot of thing to do for upgrade this place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatalinMBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel is located right in the village of Canico de Baixo, about 200m from the hotel small min-market SPAR well stocked and good prices, next to supermarket bars, restaurants and car hire, to the capital Funchal, about 11km but three times a day, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus 10, 14, 18 need to be booked in advance at the hotel reception desk. meal - decent, in my opinion but nothing can be criticized, tasty and even the choice is big board version of HB to choose fish (each other) or meat often in several forms, sometimes pasta, seafood, always fresh vegetables, for dessert, the choices a few cakes.

Room Tip: room with a view of the ocean, because otherwise you get a room with a view of the adjacent building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nonim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in Roca Mar hotel. It has very good location on Madeira southern coast (sunny part of the island). Rooms with adequate to Portuguese 4* decent standard. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and speak various foreign languages (English, German, French, Spanish etc.). Restaurant with large terraces with great ocean view. Nice surprise waiting on my birthday - a bottle of tasty Portuguese sparkling wine.
Hotel "Roca Mar" together with Hotel "Royal Orchid" creates a nice, well situated complex for all tourists who want to discover the beauty of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is set in a beautiful, peaceful location one of best sea views I have ever had, the sea views from the dining room, the different terraces and different level going down to the sea are stunning and there are plenty of sunbeds. Tables for breakfast on the terrace are set, weather permitting The sea view rooms are large and the balconies are more like a terrace, approx 10' x 12'. They are private and not overlooked, receiving the sun most of the day. The bathrooms have both baths and showers. The rooms, as all the areas of the hotel, are immaculately clean. Bed linen is changed most days, and towels as often as you wish. Also supplied are large green towels for use in the gym or outside. The rooms have excellent air con.

The food in the restaurant is very good, breakfast has a buffet with choices of cooked breakfast, plus cold meat and cheese, cereals, different choices of breads and a cake, some salad items also fruit and yogurt. The coffee is excellent and there is a wide variety of teas.

Dinner is also very good, usually at least two varieties of fish, a meat choice, pasta and vegetarian, plus veg. and salad and always a soup and different breads
the variety of sweets are also very good, again buffet style.

Th staff are great and very helpful

There is entertainment four nights a week, one night a demonstration of local dancing with a group of about 40 and guest join in if they wish, three nights there are groups of musicians who are excellent playing a wide variey of music for all tastes.

The courtsey bus is reliable and leaves 4 times daily., with the same amount of return trips to Funchal.

The gym which for use of this hotel at the Royal Orchid is excellent and accessable directly from the Roca Mar.

There is a supermarket 5 mins walk away and some good restaurants nearby..

I can highly recommend this hotel and it certainly deserves its 4 star rating and I will be returning again in the New Year.. I would recommend always to book a seaview.

A trip i would recommend is the Sunday hop on hop of bus leaving every 2 hours from 9.30am. The whole trip should you stay on the bus is about 1.30, but its is great to beable to get off when you want to and it is worth seeing the Sunday Market at Santo da Serra. The main other places are Camacha, Santa Cruz. Thecost is 11 euro booked at reception which has to be booked the day beforehand.

Room Tip: A sea view room, non of the rooms seems noisy. Some ofthe lowest level rooms terraces are not as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#7 of 13 in Canico
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galosol
Hotel Galosol
#3 of 13 in Canico
314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Mar

Address: Caminho Cais da Oliveira | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-028, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range: $57 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roca Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Roca Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Mar Canico
Roca Mar Hotel Canico
Roca Mar Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing