We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Views Oasis
Nearby Hotels
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roca Mar(Canico)
$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Orchid(Canico)
$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveler rating
386
331
104
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
331
104
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsuperior roompool arealovely hotelhotel bus to funchalmeat loversevening entertainmentfish nightall inclusive guestsherb gardena la carte restaurantnice promenadecapital funchalshort promenadesea frontpublic busgames room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 850 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Other recent reviews have just about covered everything, but if going into Funchal by bus, try the local (not the express) bus, which visits the high villages and gives great but scary views. 2.20 euros, one way, bus stop directly across from the hotel. Timetables available from reception. Terminus in Funchal is next to the cable car to Monte, but to avoid the extensive roadworks, ask to get off at the stop near the fruit/fish market.
The prevailing wind is from the north-east, so if the weather is poor, it would be best to avoid a side sea view room which faces north east - very noisy with strong winds and crashing waves, even with patio doors closed.
During our stay the hotel was almost full, with at least 90% German guests (us few Brits were heavily outnumbered) - not really a problem, but they were very noisy at mealtimes.
One other point - no bath, but the shower was super, and about the best we have enjoyed in a four star hotel.

Room Tip: if the weather is poor, it would be best to avoid a side sea view room which faces north east - very noisy with strong winds and crashing waves, even with patio doors closed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you very much for writing about our Hotel.

Most of your reviews is based in Madeira itself and I fell that your tips are very handy for someone who is visiting us for the first time.

Caniço is not the main city (the main is Funchal) but the beautiful weather you get here and the proximity of our hotel to the sea makes it all worthwhile.

We are pleased to read that it has been your best four star hotel experience, and we are thankful that you have shared your experience with the world thought Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madeira Island.

Best regards,
Duarte Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed 2-13 Sept 2013 (B&B)
HOTEL-Modern,large,friendly staff and excellent service.Especially enjoyed a good nights sleep once the verandah doors were closed,they blocked out all outside noises.
LOCATION-On the coast,outside Canico.Be prepared,Madeira is incredibly hilly/mountainous,people do not walk easily,once you leave a few small flat coastal areas.Outside the Hotel are bus stops for local buses to Canico and Funchal(Express service).The Hotel has a courtesy bus to Funchal daily.It is advisable to book at reception on the day prior to using it.
ROOM FACILITIES-Kettle for tea and coffee (but after first day you will have to source your own ingredients) Fridge-small.Water,beware,if left in your room daily,it is not complimentary,it is 1.75 Euros per bottle.Air conditioning,very good.
FOOD-HOTEL-Breakfast-large selection of continental,a hotplate area containing small frankfurter type sausages,thin streaky bacon,potato,mushrooms,watery scrambled egg and very salty baked beans.Some days there were mass produced fried eggs but I must admit that I never plucked up courage to try one.Best suggestion,try the omelets cooked to order,very good.LUNCH-Lovely poolside bar with a varied menu of basic foods ie pizza,burgers,toasted sandwiches,salads etc.EVENING-Main restaurant below reception,21.50E per person for 3 courses with a different menu/theme each night(there are deals ie buy for 5 nights get 6th free)We only dined there once due to the fact we didn't want 3 courses nightly.There is also an A la carte restaurant open some nights (dress code-no shorts/flip flops etc).The poolside bar does a separate evening menu(Italian),dined there once,enjoyed it.
LOCAL RESTAURANTS-Approximately 6-700mtrs to a collection of about 5 restaurants.Directions,out of the Hotel rear gate,turn right,follow the promenade,climb a lot of steps and when you get to the top,turn left up the hill to restaurants.Top tip,Habbeas Copus-try the steak on a stone,excellent.One other restaurant we tried was the Laranjinha,which is out of the front door of the Hotel,up the hill to the traffic island.It is on the far right hand side.Went there on first night,only 3 couples in there,so not busy but they still got our order totally wrong,not impressed,didn't go back.
SHOPPING-In the foyer of the Hotel,opposite end to reception,is a cluster of small shops stocking gifts,snacks,soft drinks,alcohol and daily newspapers which come in on day of publication at about 1500-1600 hours,except Sunday ,which come in on the Monday(they are not on display,you will have to ask at the payment desk.Other shopping alternative is a local Spar shop,which is among the restaurants mentioned previously(out of the back gate etc).Final point,other reviewers have mentioned a Mosquito problem-we must have been lucky as we did not encounter any at the time we stayed.Would we go back to Madeira?Probably not due to the fact that we have many more places to visit.If we did return we would look for a Hotel in Funchal where there are many more restaurants and activities.Overall though,Four Views Oasis-Thankyou.

Room Tip: We had a Sea view room,which was above the pool area=excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 391davef65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our hotel in tripadvisor.

It is with pleasure that we read that overall you have enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the room facilities it is true we offer the first tea and cafe, if you want to recharge it there will be a minor cost.

We are also happy to read that you have enjoyed our bar service and the variety of the menu. The restaurant tips you wrote were very interesting, and we would only like to say that at this time of the year with this lovely weather the pool side bar is a must try.

Thank you very much for sharing your ideas of our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We hope to get the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Back for a second time. The hotel is in a quiet, pretty location about 20 minutes by the regular hotel bus from Funchal. It is very spacious, has good facilities, serves excellent buffet-style meals and offers evening entertainment in the lounge bar for those who like that sort of thing. WiFi is available in some areas but the 2 Internet terminals are miserable. In January the guests are mainly elderly Brits and Germans.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so nice to read that this is your second time in our Hotel and that you enjoy the quietness of it, the location, the facilities, the buffet and the services.

Regarding the internet we are trying to improve the service and we will be able to offer our Guests a better connection.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your Holliday destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 8 years ago was good then and is good now.
Nex door to Riu palace excellent spot right on coast.
Food and drink excellent, surroundings are very good,scenic,
not as many choices for food as funchal but many within 2 euros bus ride.
Madeira is a volcanic island some think ex volcanoes may be flat not this island,be prepared to walk up and down steep hills.
Once we accept our surroundings a nicer place is hard to find in eu.
Have had a very good stay.
Muito Obrigado Madeira.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view Atlantic is fascinating to watch and listen to.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roderick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your commentaries in Tripadvisor about our Hotel.

It is so nice to read that you have stayed in our Hotel 8 years ago and returning now you still enjoy the hotel and our service. It is pleasant to read that our standards did match your expectations.

It is also important that you have enjoyed our food, drinks and the hotel surroundings.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.

Best regards,
Duarte Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for a week before Christmas, and at approx. £55 per night for 2 for B&B, you could not get better value for money. The hotel is spotless, its 2 pools are kept extremely clean and my Christmas massage was one of the best I've ever had.
We decided to take up the offer of 6 buffet meals, for the price of 5, in the evening. The food was very, very good, lots of choice and a chef on hand to guide me through the Gluten free choices. I had such an array of different food and had no coeliac problems.
I had told the hotel of my GF diet and was really pleased to be given GF bread, biscuits, Soya milk and soya yogurts in case I had dairy problems too.

The breakfasts were huge with any amount of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, cold hams etc and lots of bread.

This was a very relaxing hotel and Canico de Baixo was delightful, a little bit windy and cooler but much quieter than Funchal. The bar Atlantico is a good place to go for your evening drink and watch the sun go down. There are many more Germans than British here... also lots from Scandanavian countries.
If you are keen on diving then this is a good centre for that.

Room Tip: In winter it would be best to have a south facing room, probably those above the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so pleasant to get the opportunity to read such an enthusiastic review.

We are very thankful for the words that you have used about the breakfast, the rooms and the "Christmas massage" that was one of the best you ever had.

Thank you very much for your time, for your kind words and for your sympathy

Looking forward to meet you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews