We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“Even better the second time”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed at the Riu palace five years ago and loved it then, which is why we returned definitely not disappointed. All of the staff cannot do enough to help and seem pleased to do so. The food is very good with plenty of choice for everyone.The free bus to funchal is well worth booking and is dead on time. We will stay at the hotel again in a couple of years time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffchris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    424
    81
    9
    6
See reviews for
193
1,046
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Excellent service throughout, apparently under constant supervision by senior management.
Extremely wide selection of very good self-service food.
Location is somewhat isolated, but courtesy bus to Funchal efficient and very punctual, and hire cars easily available.
Beach is very steep and stony and, during our stay at least, unsafe for swimming due to rough seas, but excellent outdoor and indoor pools.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fungasafariuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Do not be put off by any negative reviews about this hotel - it would be very difficult to find anything to criticise about our experience from the time we booked in until the time we left. The reception was efficient and caring, the courtesy call asking if the room was satisfactory an especially nice and unexpected touch. Yes we did get one of the nice rooms we asked for with the big square balconies in the tower but the room was very good in every respect. This hotel is very well run, you can tell immediately in all sorts of small ways as soon as you look round the hotel, by the reaction of the staff right through to the standard of the food and the service in the restaurant especially from the head waiter. We also enjoyed the location as we found Funchal too busy and we were glad we were not staying there. We used the courtesy bus which was convenient and we arranged our own trips picked up from the hotel. We saw as much of Funchal and the rest of Madeira as we wanted to so being in Canico was a benefit in terms of peace and ease of access to/from the airport You get what you pay for in this life and because we found a genuine thomson bargain we got a fantastic stay in a lovely hotel at a very reasonable price. Pity about the weather !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingacc0untant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

A great hotel overall and any grumbles are very minor i.e my husband would have preferred his tomatoes at breakfast to be more well done!
The rooms are alrage and always immalculate with plenty of hanging space. There was a mini bar which you could also put your own drinks in. The bathroom has soap and shower gel but not hair or body conditioner.
The food was superb with a really good choice each night, I note the speciality restaurant hasn't been mentioned before here but this was well worth a visit if you eat meat. The night we ate there were only 2 other couples and the food and service were expectional.
A few dissapointing things were that the bill at the end of the stay wasn't itemised so it's very difficult to reconcile your "bills" from around the hotel with the total cost at check out, the charge for the safety deposit is 16 euros per week and the exchange rate for T/CQS was £1 = 1 euro. You can get better rate in Funchal or use a cash machine at the hotel next door or in Canico.
There are a handful of bars if you leave the hotel via the back gate and turn right - drinks are cheaper here.
Cancio is roughly an hours walk up a very steep hill (we enjoyed the walk) or a 5 min bus ride but worth it to stock up.
The staff throughout the hotel are exptional and really make a differnce to your stay.
Having used the free bus service to visit Funchal we were glad to have stayed at the Riu.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Having read all the other reviews, we loved:
1. the service. Staff were plentiful, very friendly and helpful without 'fawning'. We were upgraded from a partial to full sea view without any extra charge, and from a low to a high floor at our request. All staff always greeted guests with a cheery smile and there were always staff to greet us at the restaurant with a 'bon appetit!'
2. the room. Spacious, clean, with comfortable beds, good lighting and mirrors, armchairs, vast storage, huge balcony with reclining chairs and lovely bathroom.
3. the pool area. Well- maintained, beautifully planted, with pool-man always around to provide lounger mattresses or to move parasols, and we had no bother getting loungers, early or late.
4. the shuttle coach to Funchal, comfortable and punctual.
5. the terrace which was a lovely spot to have breakfast, or an after dinner drink
6. the entertainment: we saw a very slick magic act and a marvellous dance troupe of six whose act was based on musicals such as 'Chicago' and 'Grease'. Both of these were very good.

Things which could make it even better:
1. tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This used to be rare abroad, but is a lot less so now.
2. free provision of the safe. I object to this being an extra. It's in everyone's interest to have security.
3. the food. Yes there was a great variety, and we enjoyed the soups and salads, but clear labelling would be good, and, really, I don't think powdered mash, kept warm until it had a skin on it and frozen chips every night are acceptable. Nor is underdone meat, or vegetables (again, frozen) cooked to a pulp. Deserts also were colourless and unimaginative and lacking in variety. We never went hungry, but were never spoiled for choice or impressed by the quality either.
4. better internet facilities. I prefer the card system where you can use the value on the card over several visits. The money-in-the-slot system employed at the Riu ate coins as the downloads were painfully slow, and you could not carry forward any remaining value. Also the room was poorly lit, and it took severals visits to get a computer as there only were two, inadequate for such a large hotel.

On balance we had a great holiday in a hotel with good points far outweighing 'points for action'! We would return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Just returned after a wonderful weeks stay at the Riu Palace for our 25th Wedding Anniversay.
Just couldn't fault the hotel at all..........It was spotlessly clean (rooms/bathrooms/common areas) , the girls at reception were always willing to help and were very friendly, same with the restaurant nothing was too much trouble.Having read some other reviews when speaking to the head waiter asked for a quiet table and a quiet table we got!! The food was great and the choice was fantastic. The entertainment was very good compared to some we have seen in other countries!
The weather wasn't that great last week - very windy and quite a bit of rain - but we still came home with a tan!!
Hired a car for the day - the roads were great - be prepared for a lot of tunnels!!!!
All in all a fantastic holiday and would recommend it to all except those with teenagers not alot for them to do at the hotel and beach lovers - very stoney beachl!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We had a 7 night visit at the beginning of May, the staff were all so helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. It was a pleasure to be checked in at Reception with such informative staff and we received a call shortly after being shown to our room to ask if everything was satisfactory and it was, the standards of cleanliness were excellent. There are two sittings for dinner, 18.30/20.30 and on arrival you are asked to select which one you would prefer for your stay. Later on that day the Restaurant Manager allocates you a table for the duration of your stay at dinner. (Breakfast you can sit anywhere). We checked out the table number and did not like the position in the dining room so asked to change and were given a lovely table in a quiet corner without any problem. The choice and quality of the food daily was very good as were all the Catering and Restaurant staff.

Yes we do agree with some comments that the position of the hotel is not central but there is a hotel courtesey bus three times per day to Funchal, (bookable at Reception),and a frequent local bus service two minutes walk away and many guests hired a car. We enjoyed the quiet location. The Nightlife was not to our taste, but we were happy to have a drink in the bar after dinner then go to bed.

Excellent value for money and we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravansera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing