We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first visit to Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Burbage, Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Riu lived up to all expectations: good food, a comfortable room, friendly staff and all very clean and tidy throughout. If you want to get into Funchal take the free bus or do as we did and hire a car to explore further afield. Altogether a great holiday and wish to come back a walk more Levadas!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank BigglesWhitmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    395
    75
    8
    6
See reviews for
179
968
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

One of the most pleasant Hotels we have stayed at in recent years. The accommodation was first class and the food excellent in range and quality. The staff attentive and friendly. We would recommend this place to anyone and we certainly intend to return very soon. It more than fulfilled its brochure description.

Room Tip: If you are able, choose a Junior Suite on the 3rd.or 4th floor on the West Side. The space is lavish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dennsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here between March 10th and 17th 2014, we booked on the basis of previous reviews and the last minute deal that was available from Thomson holidays. Overall this is a very good standard of hotel with very nice rooms, lovely pool area, lobby and bar area, all serviced by friendly and professional staff. The restaurant and all dining facilities are to a high standard both in terms of food and service. The hotel was under occupied so we had the benefit of less busy facilities than would be the norm but they seem properly geared up for busier times. Location wise there is not much close to the hotel and walking requires some steep climbs, but there is a free courtesy bus into Funchal and public transport is handy too. In fairness we didn't go far as the hotel is a relaxing and easy place to spend time and enjoy all inclusive living. There is some entertainment in the evening and the bar area is generally well attended (because of location and all inc guests) and sociable. There were few children around and in fairness the average age is definitely on the mature side (we were on the young side at 50ish), so not a good choice for young people. In summary the other reviewers are correct, this is one of the good ones and is recommended, to find fault would be churlish, we had a lovely week in good company and would happily go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 14 nights all-inclusive between the 24 Feb. and the 10th March 2014.
The hotel was operating at 47% occupancy.

Location:-
Located between the airport and Funchall in a very small bay with a rocky foreshore.
Nice promenade for short walks but otherwise walking limited to serious hikers due to steep hills. However, there is a regular hotel shuttle bus to and from Funchall; although this could do with a lunchtime return.
Also there is a local bus service from outside the hotel and taxi service ( watch out for overcharging ).

Hotel;-
Notably well managed with excellent staff throughout including reception ( which is not always the case elsewhere )
Rooms are clean, spacious and apart from the pillows comfortable. There is more hanging and cupboard space then average and a free safe. There is no tea/coffee making facility. The bathroom has a shower over bath, which has to be negotiated with care. Nice balcony with a drying unit, two chairs with cushions and a small table and ash tray. Most rooms seemed to have a sea or side sea view. Usual drill for towel changes but you need to display a card if you want sheets changed ( you may not be told this and there may be no card in room !) If in doubt ask at reception.

Food and Drink;-
Very pleasant dining room with a nice atmosphere by all inclusive standards. This is helped by having a designated table for use each evening and two sittings, we opted for 2000 hrs. ( you will be asked on the first evening if your table is satisfactory and you may change to another if you wish ) Our table was 62 and we liked it.

Very good food but not , in our view, excellent for the standard of hotel ( e.g. not as good as The Riu Palace Mexico ) However, the overall dining experience at the hotel is superior to other all inclusive hotels we have visited because of the atmosphere and the attentive staff.

The wine is fine and served with lunch and dinner and in the bars.

We did not use the speciality restaurant.

There is an extensive list of international brand drinks and cocktails and an excellent service in all the bars and around the pool and terrace. The all inclusive option should be seriously considered as with coffee, tea, and soft drinks being otherwise cost items, and a G&T for example, being 7.10 euro. it seems good value also including lunch.

All gentlemen are required to wear long trousers to dinner and a shirt with sleeves ( short or long ) a number wore a jacket and tie and one would not feel out of place in any of the options.

Entertainment;-
A good standard overall with an excellent animation team putting on some good shows in the evening as well as providing the usual day tome activities.

Early evenings had a pianist and saxophonist in the lobby bar ( located between the dining room and show bar room.) followed by a resident group on stage in the show bar with a main show at 2130 hrs. Finally the resident Late Night Band ( very good ) with dancing to finish the evening.

Pool and Surrounds;-
One indoor heated pool, which we did not use because of the good weather. Two outdoor pools, one heated to 78" F ( swam every day ) Plenty of sunbeds and no problems getting them at any time of day ( 47% occupancy) Good pool care and attentive staff.

Overall:-
Excellent hotel with many repeat guests, best for adults. We aim to return later this year. Only one caveat which relates to group bookings and hotel policy. During our second week a group of twelve ( 7 adults and five children ) were resident. Although not noticeable when in two's or three's as soon as there were 5 or 6 there was a negative impact on other guests and when it was all twelve it became uncomfortable, particularly at the pool. We said nothing but moved elsewhere but we heard a number of other couples comment adversely about the noise and disruption. As the management are clearly on top of things I expect they will be alert to this issue.

An excellent hotel and we look forward to our return probably in November this year.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views nearly all seemed to have a sea or side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pater41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is our first trip advisor review , although as a retired couple we take 2 holidays a year to Riu hotels through Thomsons. This is the best Riu hotel that we have stayed in. The food is great. The staff were wonderfull. My husband found the bed to firm although i thought it was comfortable. The best rooms are overlooking the pool. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendadoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

RIU PALACE HOTEL _ CANICO

We stayed 24th Feb - 10th March 2014. A very nice hotel with a lovely comfortable feel. Decorated and furnished in a style that I would describe perhaps as old colonial. Dark wood, chandeliers, plush seating etc.
Rooms are large, comfortable and spotlessly clean with a large bathroom.
The showers are ‘in bath’ style. Shower gel is provided and there is an efficient hair dryer in the bathroom.
There is no tea/coffee making facility in the rooms so I advise taking a travel kettle if you like a coffee before you shower and dress in the morning or if you like to sit on the balcony and read (some times of day the coffee/tea available through AI can be a long way from the room and would be cold before you got back with it).
I found the beds incredibly hard but, when asked, reception provided a mattress topper which helped a bit.
Almost all hotels nowadays have the “towels in bath” policy if you want them changed - BUT - be aware that this hotel now also has a “Card on Bed” policy for changing the sheets. We were not made aware of this (we only found out through a conversation with a fellow guest) and there was no card in the room so we had to ask at reception.
The large restaurant is, again, clean and very comfortable. The restaurant staff are brilliant. Friendly and efficient and you are made to feel as if you are a guest in someone’s house. Food (all buffet style) was of a good standard but after a week we found the lunchtime menu repetitive - however we always managed to ‘make a meal up’ from what was on offer. There are two sittings for dinner - 6 and 8. Your table is allocated for dinner but for breakfast and lunch you sit where you please. Afternoon tea of sandwiches and cakes is also served at the pool bar.
We were pleasantly surprised to find that there is a show lounge for evening entertainment. The in house group play for dancing, then a show of about half an hour from 9:30pm - VERY varied - parrot show, local traditional dance group, magician, large group of singers from the university, traditional Portuguese singer etc. And the animation team dance shows were very good, they are a talented bunch. This is followed again by the in house group.
The two outdoor pools - one heated, one not - and the surrounding areas were spotlessly clean. We found no problem whatsoever in getting sun-beds wherever we wanted them. Waiters come round regularly to cater for your every need. There are also many daily activities such as boules, tai chi, table tennis etc. if you want to join in.
The bar staff, both inside and around the pool are very good and the selection of drinks available is large and of good quality.
Plenty of organised trips on offer - but we took a local taxi for the day (120 euro) and toured the northern part of the island. The advantage of this is that the taxis can get to areas the coaches can’t. Out at 9 back at 5 with all the information you could handle (thank you Fidelio!).
So, all in all, a very nice hotel. The only drawback we found was that it is located a little too far from anything for convenience but there is a free shuttle bus about 5 times a day and the local bus stop is just across the road. That said - we would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view to some extent. But choose a higher floor and a room facing towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yiayia2jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas 2013 and couldn't find fault with the hotel, staff or services. We went with Thomson on an all-inclusive package deal and were very pleased with the range quality of food and drink that was included - there were many branded drinks and cocktails which were included. It was possible to book for a separate restaurant for one evening and although the food was excellent, the separate restaurant and lack of covers was a bit soulless.
The food was normally always buffet style and you are given a sitting (6pm or 8pm) and table number for the evening meal but can sit where you like and go when you like within the time frames for breakfast and lunch. We were impressed with the evening meal selection and if you are on the later sitting, all the food is changed and fresh (in line with food not being left out for over 2 hours rules we assumed) so there is no difference in availability or quality.
The hotel is in a quiet area approx. 20 minutes by bus (depending on the driver!!) from Funchal, You can have a short walk along the front promanade to view the seashore, although no beach -if you are into underwater action we found three such outlets along this shore, we did see persons emerging from the sea with full wetsuits but it did appear quite rough during the Xmas period. One of tours ( free) organised by Thompsons was a slow walk around Funchal old district well worth the effort if you have not been to Funchal, before very enjoyable. We also took the tour up the cable car to see the gardens (a paid for tour) again along with the sledge ride down, not as scary as it sounds but I am sure it would be much cheaper if you organised it all yourself.
There is a free hotel shuttle bus from the Hotel to Funchal.

We didn't see the maid but the room was always clean when we returned after our activities for the day.

Views from balcony are are either towards sea or over pool area and beyond to the sea,

Rooms were reasonably large,old fashioned Portugese style of heavy wooden furniture.
.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and prepared to have a chat with you (within reason, they do have a job to do after all) In short, we had a great holiday and couldn't fault the hotel, the airport or the island of Madeira which was extremely clean with well laid out infrastructure..This was our first visit to Madeira.

Stayed December 2013,

Room Tip: Obviously the higher levels have better views but whether it was side view to the sea or over the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing