We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a fantastic reception area, the staff were really helpful and polite. Drinks on arrival and bags checked in with ease! Organised dinner times and the room as always to a high standard and ready for us. Riu never let you down! Food was excellent and staff could not do enough for you. The pools were very spacious and clean, would be more appropriate for older children! Evening entertainment was to a high standard. Free bus service into town - be prepared for a push to two!! Funchal is a lovely relaxing place, locals friendly and great scenery. Quite hilly so be prepared! Not ideal for wheelchairs as very uneven. Defo worth a visit. Go on you know you want tooo!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tallywaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    427
    84
    9
    6
See reviews for
213
1,059
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage Herts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks (30th September to 14th of October 2013) Greeted with the usual glass of wine and was quickly checked in. Bags delivered to our room While we had lunch as our room was not ready.. Food was very good and staff were very helpful could not do enough for you. Would throughly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colinm_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights holiday (14th - 21st October, 2013) at this great Hotel. Having been to other Riu Palace Hotels, I got what I expected. Met at reception with a smile and a greeting accompanied with a glass of delicious Madeira wine. Reception staff quick and efficient with clear instructions. The room was ready and my luggage was delivered there straight away. As I expected, the room was spotless and kept that way for the duration of my stay. All areas of the Hotel were likewise, kept spotless. Super service in the restaurant with abundant supplies of water and wine until you said no thanks. All the staff were very attentive but not intrusive, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was well prepared with a good choice to suit everyone's tastes. Drinks in the bars were both local and premium brands with only a very small number incurring extra cost. I was 'All Inclusive' and found this to be excellent value for money. All the staff spoke very good English and were a credit to the Hotel Management and contrary to previous reviews, I could not fault anyone, and neither did I have to wait long periods before I was served drinks. The décor is dated and the same as I encountered at other Palace Hotels some 10 years ago. This is probably the one area that the owners could improve on to bring it up to date in line with their other properties. Having said that, it did not alter the fact that the usual Riu standards were maintained. For those who find difficulty walking, the area, like the rest of Madeira, is very hilly with steep climbs, so you are limited to going for a walk after meals. There is a free shuttle bus daily running at half hour intervals from the Hotel to Funchal and it drops you off at the bus station outside the cable car station which is very convenient and recommended. To sum up, great hotel, great staff, great food, great facilities and well worth a visit. One tip - go all inclusive, its very good value for money. My holiday was a package holiday through Thomsons and I have no complaints regarding the service I got from them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Riu Palace since they introduced all inclusive. We upgraded from half board which we'd originally booked, and it was great. The quality of the food and beverages was as good as it has always been. It was really simple to pick out from the drinks menu what was "all inclusive" and what wasn't. The house wines were good, and the spirits were all famous brands. Snacks were available between breakfast and lunch and again between lunch and dinner in the snack bar by the pool, but we didn't indulge as we really didn't need to!

As ever the service was exceptional and it was good to see lots of familiar faces amongst the staff. The hotel seemed fuller than on previous visits...and a hotel this good deserves to be full!

We will definitely book all inclusive next time we go back...and we definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonClaireW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel was good and room excellent but a bit disappointed as no room ready after a long journey. The all inclusive was 'Not Inclusive' as was not what I expected and all staff I spoke to gave me a different answer.
Impressed with Hotel but to far away from Funchal and next stay will be in town as unless you are an extremely fit individual the 'hills' are challenging. My holiday was with Thomson and I have taken up the 'All inclusive' separately as at some part5s of the day NO food unless you pay for it.

Room Tip: I chose the Junior suite which was great with a separate lounge and TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July this year and had a very relaxing nice stay.
The hotel itself is great, nice facilities very good food, friendly staff lovely rooms and generally a lovely all round hotel.
While we were there we watched the Murray final at Wimbledon and had quite a gathering around the tv and bar area which was really enjoyable especially with Murray winning of course!
It wasnt particularly easy to watch the match as the tv area is also the piano area and insisted on playing music even though we all wanted to watch the tennis, eventually the music was turned off and the tennis volume up! After some persuasion!

The location of the hotel could have been better, it was a little out of it but the hotel had a free bus every hour into Funchal. Funchal is a very lovely quite quaint place with plenty to see and do. However Madeira is very quiet at any time of year and found that it wasnt for us. We are in our 40-50s but Madeira is definitely for slightly 'older' couples.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as they are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed in several Riu Hotels, this is by far the best. Apart from one waiter in the dining room and one receptionist who were just average, every other member of staff, were excellent in every way.
The food was top notch, both in choice and presentation. We visted the speciality restaurant twice and had a wonderful evening on both visits.
We had several days by the pool and found it very relaxing, there was never a problem getting a sunbed. (some still found the need to reserve them though), on a cooler windy day we went to the indoor pool which was quiet.
Our room was comfortable, the beds were quite firm but not too hard, I slept well. Sheets and towels were changed as often as you wanted.
Although the hotel is a few miles from Funchal, the hotel runs a free bus which takes you to the cable car. This is very convenient for the old town and the main town centre.
We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing