We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
NR GLASGOW
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this hotel. On arrival we received a friendly welcome from the reception staff and given all the necessary info. We had booked two rooms which were on the sixth floor. We were given a bottle of wine and a Madeira cake as an arrival gift which was a lovely touch. The rooms had an average view...not overly impressive given the cost. The rooms I consider not to be old fashioned but more old world elegance..(which I personally prefer) think carpeted and mahogany rather than modernistic. The beds were a little on the firm side but after requesting more pillows this helped. Clean pool towels and bottles of still/sparkling water is available every day at reception.The hotel in its self is very nice and is kept clean to a high standard. The food was good...huge selection ranging from simple meats and cheeses to caviar, langoustines and foie gras. Large salad area, roast/carved meat station, various meats and fish being freshly cooked. Fab desert selection....cakes, sorbets, handmade chocolates etc. There was always a great selection of fruits. There was plenty for the children too with pasta, chips, fish goujons etc. The alcohol was all premium brands great and unusual for an all inclusive resort. There were some very rude guests at meal times but no more so than other resorts we have visited...I keep meaning to learn to say...'wait your turn' in that particular language :-) . The staff throughout the hotel were a benefit to the RUI chain...they should be proud of how hard they work to keep guest happy ...always with a smile! The pool area is lovely but you do have to be up super early to make sure you get good sunbeds! The dark pool is also much warmer than the light coloured one. The inside pool is great....lovely and warm. Would we return? maybe in 15 years! this is only because there is very little geared towards children...which is a shame as there was more than a few! I feel with a few improvements...such as a proper kids disco for an hour every night and a few daytime activities may encourage a younger clientele to return to this hotel. The evening entertainment is a different half hour show every night followed by a band...which to be honest are fairly poor. The bus provided to Funchal by the hotel is a really good and reliable service! but ensure to book it the night before! There is a lovely market on a Saturday which is worth a visit. I have noticed other reviews mentioning there is no beach area? a short walk outside the hotel to the right takes you along a small promenade to a man made volcanic sand beach cordoned by large boulders suitable for children and next to this there is a staircase down into the sea for older children/adults. There is also a scuba/dive center next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Email at least two weeks in advance if you have any preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FORSYTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    427
    84
    9
    6
See reviews for
213
1,059
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Riu. We wanted a relaxing week in the sun and that's exactly what we had.

We did a couple of trips, one around the North of the island using Happy Tours which was half the price of the Thomson trip and they were very efficient and reliable. We also used the hotel bus into Funchal and went up the top of the mountain in the cable car and came down in the basket sledges which were great fun but expensive. We also went to the gardens which if you like walking round gardens you'll enjoy but it was quite steep walking up and down the hills so I wouldn't bother to do this again. We also walked round the shops and the market in Funchal which we enjoyed but we were keen to get the bus back to the nice peace and quiet of the hotel and the all inclusive lunch and drinks!

There's not much around the hotel area so limited for going for a stroll in the evening.

Positives - Lovely staff, food and pool area. Plenty of sunbeds. Free bus service into Funchal that you book with reception the evening before. A la carte restaurant was good service and made a change from the buffet.

Negatives - pool is freezing. Drink service around the pool area was very limited. I think we were asked twice the whole week we were there if we wanted a drink and were never asked again. Either decide to have this service or don't. Often couldn't find a table to have a drink outside on the terrace so had to go inside to get a seat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been to thei hotel before whene it was half board not sure what to expect now that the hotel has gone all inclusive. I was very impressed even though it was all inclusive the waiters still served the wine at lunch and dinner also when watching the lovely shows the waiters still came around an took the drinks order. Also when I ordered a Baileys for instance it was actually Baileys all premium brands. The drinks must have been quite strong as I had an extended siesta!!!!

The staff are excellent as usual cannot do enough for us. Also the rooms were cleaneddaily to and excellent standard.

I hope that the hotel does stay all inclusive it is brilliant value. Thanks again for a wonderful time.As someone famously said " I will be back".

Mary Power

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having just spent 11 nights at this hotel, I wanted to share our experience. The receptionists are extremely helpful and efficient. Everything we asked for was dealt without delay. Our room was on the top floor and had a full sea view and was spacious. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant was not the best we have experienced at a Riu hotel, but there was always a good choice of dishes. The waiters were always attentive and our glasses were always filled quickly. We were staying on an all inclusive basis, which was good value for money. The staff all spoke very good English, so there was never a communications problem. As there is no beach in the location, the pool area does get quite crowded. Although there is not a great deal in the hotel vicinity, the hotel does run a shuttle bus into Funchal, which is only about 15 minutes away. There are two sittings for dinner and as we had the second sitting which was at 8.30pm. By the time we have finished dinner, the entertainment had ended. Therefore, the entertainment could start a little later, so that the second sitting diners have the opportunity to see the acts. All in all, this is a very well run hotel and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel and due to the weather had a really good time. Not a very good location if the weather isn't too good as there's nothing there. We always travel to Riu hotels so know what to expect from them. The service here is excellent so I can't see why people have complained. There were only 2 staff waiting on the pool area but we never waited long and if you were in a hurry then you could just go to the bar yourself. The restaurant staff were brilliant and our wine glasses were never empty. Considering we were all inclusive I was really pleased to be waited on instead of queuing up and getting my own drinks. What is nice is the staff all speak really good English so no communication problems. I would say this is a good value hotel with good choice of food if you go all inclusive . (Paid lots more for half board at other Riu's) Only slight complaint was our room wasn't cleaned very well and we had to ask a couple of times for extra toilet rolls. Really enjoyed the holiday but not sure whether I would return.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after a fairly relaxing break in this hotel. As someone has said this hotel takes you back in time and the clientele tend to be mainly retired people. The Hotel as already said is immaculate with beautiful gardens and views. The beds are very hard and need updating along with the thinning towels provided in your room. Whilst there is a fridge in your room there is nothing in it (have stayed at other Riu all inclusive and this has been provided).
The sunbeds are of the hard plastic type with thin old mats that go on to them, you collect your towels daily from reception which we found quite strange, with assurances that sun beds cannot be reserved, of which this is not correct. Beds are left with towels on all day and not used, on our last day people where using chairs from their balconies as there was not enough. We recently stayed in a resort where there was a towel rack outside and you collected towels if the bed was empty over an hour and the beach boys knew exactly what was going on, towels were removed and any belongings left in a designated area this worked very well.
The food is of excellent quality and the staff are one of the best we have seen in their hospitality. As the hotel has recently gone all inclusive they need to sort a couple of areas that we believe is putting too much pressure on the staff. You have a waiter allocated to your table, we were always having to ask for wine along with other people, it seemed once they gave you the first small glass they moved on, and it caused a few problems with customers. The staff seem too focussed on setting tables and not on the customers (breakfast and lunch) they are being asked to wait on clear plates get drinks and reset tables all at the same time and its too much. Have one person serving drinks all of the time, one clearing one setting. Service from the pool bar was good if you were around the pool area, but again can take ages as they have mostly one barman making drinks three waiters all waiting all of the time, so waiting twenty minutes was normal, the same at the piano bar upstairs. We finished dinner one evening 10.30 thought we would have a night cap and waited 25 minutes, not enough staff making drinks.
We would not return to this hotel due to it being dated and the lack of service which was in no way a reflection on the fabulous staff, the management just have not got it correct.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful staff and the Madeira wine. Our room was spacious and clean with a fridge. The balcony was private and we had a partial view of the sea. There was always a good selection of food at every meal and good quality. A shuttle bus was on hand to take you into Funchal where there is the cable car up the mountain and if you're adventurous you can come down in a basket which was great fun! Where the hotel is situated there is very little to do as it seems to be in the middle of nowhere. We found our holiday rep (Sarah) very helpful organising and making suggestions regarding trips out. All the staff in the hotel are really good in helping you out with absolutely anything. The service was always good although the bar staff were always rushed off their feet trying to keep everyone hydrated! (The cocktails were great)!! Over all we had a really good holiday and it certainly helps when the people are friendly! Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking public areas, such as the pool area are less intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing