We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several Riu hotels but this was our first time All Inclusive. We stayed early May when this had just been introduced and found the system very efficient. Breakfast, lunch, dinner were all excellent and I loved the sandwiches and cake for afternoon tea and also the cocktails before dinner. I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't watch any of the acts. What really makes this hotel is the staff they are so friendly and super efficient. The wine glasses were filled regularly during dinner and we even had port with our cheese. Riu beds are hard so as we checked in I asked for mattress toppers and the maid was at the door 5 minutes later. The only downside is the location. The promenade in Canico is rather run down but the free bus to Funchal runs regularly. A very enjoyable holiday leaving us eager to try more Riu All Inclusive hotels.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jools54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    394
    75
    8
    6
See reviews for
178
967
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I visited the Riu Palace Madeira with my husband and we stayed for two weeks. We always go to Riu hotels and are gold class card holders so know what to expect. we arrived on the Monday lunchtime and was greeted with a glass of Madiera wine. We were initially given a room on floor zero but once we told the reception the stairs would be difficult for us we were moved to the 6th floor. The room was large and very pleasant with lots of storage space. The staff in the hotel were brilliant and could not do enough for us, we were always greeted with a smile and a cheery good morning. we liked the peace and quiet round the pool, no boom boom music, mattresses were brought for the sun beds as soon as we got to the pool. the food was good and plentiful with a good selection. The hotel had only just started doing the all inclusive package so the staff were still trying to combine half board with the all inclusive. I must say this did not go down very well and Riu have not got mix right at all. self service for day time drinks is not an option as the half board people still have to pay for their drinks, so there was only the pool bar open in the day,(waiter service) the weather was not always that good so if you did not want to sit around the pool we had to go down 2 floors to the bar (a long way in my opinion) and then back up again. It was waiter service in the bar t night as well, one waiter would come and collect the drink order, go away and another waiter would bring the drinks, to say it was slow is an understatement, we regularly waited 25 minutes for our drinks and actually went in search of them on several occasions. needless to say we never saw anyone who had drunk too much. I was also a little disappointed about the room cleaner, we only ever had a quick lick in the room, the bathroom was never cleaned properly and the rubbish bin was left un emptied on several occasions. I had my bed linen changed once on the Monday following our arrival (a whole week) and my husbands bed was not changed at all. I wanted to complain but my husband did not want the upset. We have stayed in many Riu hotels in the past all far superior to one. I would not say it was anywhere near a palace standard, I would still rate it 4* but Riu need to get their act together with regard to half board/all inclusive situation, they have to come up with some idea where the AI people can help themselves to drinks at anytime of the day without having to wait a long time.

Room Tip: room 1639 got the sun in the morning but not in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here last July (2012)
This is one of the most relaxing holidays we have had mostly due to having no children with us
Hotel room was spotless with amazing sea view
Food was fantastic with so much to choose from & staff couldn't do enough to help your every need
The hotel lays on a free daily shuttle coach several times a day into Funchal, I would advise to book early as its does booked up very quickly
Make sure you take a ride in the cable car as the views are amazing

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelanieJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here last June (2012) to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A nice hotel with clean, comfortable bedrooms. The staff were polite and friendly but sadly the food was somewhat disappointing. We have been to many other Riu hotels (including the Riu Bravo in Majorca and the Vistamar in Gran Canaria where the standard in their dining rooms was of a higher standard. The hotel is set into a hillside above Canico waterfront and there is a pebble beach just across from the promenade. Not an ideal area for the less mobile - even the few shops were up a couple of flights of steps as well as a steepish hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the last week in April for one week. It is excellent in every aspect and caters for all your needs in a very well thought out way. Congratulations to the management and staff as all are very polite, friendly and very accommodating.

This hotel excels in dining. Food is fantastic and varied. An eat as much as you like style buffet with the option of food brought to your table in the pool bar restaurant. I found quite a few new fish foods (which this hotel seems to specialise in) I have never tasted before. The variation was incredible and a tribute to the one responsible for the menu. Hats off to the head chef as the food was perfectly cooked and well presented. Restaurant staff are amazing and they keep the tables free from plates. There are two sittings for evening dining. The food seemed fresh every day. I only ate at the hotel and did not suffer a bad tummy the whole week I was there.

Beds are firm but comfortable and rooms are clean and spacey. The bathroom has a sign which advises against drinking the water which is why I think they do not provide tea making facilities.The bathrooms could do with refurbishing as they are a little worn.

Location is a little awkward for those who struggle getting about as there are a few steps to climb to and from the pool area. The indoor and one outdoor pool is heated with a jacuzzi added to the end. A slight flaw is jacuzzi steps, they are under water and they are hard to see in the pool. The sauna door is broken and difficult to close. The promenade is getting a little tired now and could do with a facelift. I think the hire of a car is a must for this location as there is not much around it and it is a long hilly walk to the nearest town.

Evening entertainment is good.

Over all, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stay in the east wing as high as possible for the afternoon sun on your balcony and the best sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank equius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a lovely Palace hotel of the Spanish chain Riu is located in Canico de Baixo about 15km from Funchal and a short 10km ride from the airport. All room have sea or part sea views, however rooms ending in 24 e.g. 1424, 1324,1224 and are near the end of the wing overlooking the sea catching the morning sun on your balcony, or ending in 70 e.g. 1470, 1370 etc. to catch the afternoon sun with great sea views. Gastronomic food, all types meeting the requirements of the various nations present, although on our recent stay 60% were German. Large outdoor pools, however the indoor pool was hardly ever used. Daily free shuttle coach into Funchal, but need to book after 6.00pm the night before to be sure of a seat at your selected time. Taxi’s cost about 6 euro’s into town. Free Wifi for the first hour each day, although at times this was not available. Restaurants and Spar shop is just a short walk along the front offering free Wifi all day, as do the adjacent Hotel. Bottled water at the spar shop is cheaper than at the Hotel shop. The bedrooms are large, clean and spacious, as are all the public area’s. There is no sign of the Novo virus at the hotel, although it was amazing the number of people who did use the hand gel on entering the Restaurant, with no regard to personal hygiene. One note of caution, In Funchal old town, near the cable car station, the traffic is absolutely chaotic due to building work along the seafront. Avoid this area if at all possible. Many lovely places to visit including cable car ride to Monte, and basket toboggan back down. Madeira is built on a volcano mountain and is extremely hilly, and should carefully consider visiting the Island if you experience difficulty in walking or climbing steps. Great views, the flowers and trees are absolutely wonderful. We certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: try to choose an end of wing room for good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here from 15th April for one week. Having stayed in several Riu hotels before we had a good idea what to expect and wasn't dissapointed. First impression of the hotel is fab, with a wonderful view out to sea. The wildflowers on the hillside going down the hill to the hotel were wonderful. We were greeted at reception by very efficent, friendly staff, soon found our room and didn't have to wait long before our cases followed. Initially our room (1364) seemed perfect, however, on our second night the noise of furniture being moved about below us and the constant humming of what sounded like dishwashers being used we had a word with our Thomson rep, Sarah. Within 10 minutes she had sorted the problem with reception, it turned out the bar/kitchen was below us. We were offered a different room straight away (1429) with the same wonderful view of the pool/sea and furnished to a high standard as the previous. A porter moved our hangers onto a rail and transported our clothes for us. VERY impressed with the way our problem was dealt with and must say, Sarah is the best rep we have ever known. The hotel courtesy bus was a full size coach, always on time and very good, definately worth using to go into Funchal. We were on half board basis and found the food always to a high standard, with plenty of choice. Jugs of fresh, various fruit juice at breakfast, with every type of food you could think of. We ate outside each morning, what a treat. Dinner in the evening was always good, again with plenty of choice. Impossible for anyone to go hungry at this hotel. It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there. I hadn't mentioned this but it must have been noted from his passport because when we went down for dinner there was a candle lit and petals on our table. ALL of the lovely waiters/waitresses then came and sang Happy Birthday to him, what a special touch that was. The only small negative we had with the hotel was could do with tea/coffee making facilities in the room, even though the mini-bar was well stocked. We had afternoon tea at Reids Hotel in Funchal and can honestly say thought the Riu Palace was way in front, especially the staff. If you are thinking of going to Madeira you will not go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: high room with sea/pool view, try not to get above kitchen area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bubbaNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
679 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
2,293 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing