We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Nearby Hotels
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$119
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Orchid(Canico)
$151
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vila Ventura(Canico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,690 results
Traveler rating
1,105
475
90
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
475
90
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident bandshort promenadetable numberflat roofevening entertainmentpool arealovely hotelsea viewfree bus to funchalrelaxing holidaycourtesy buscable carall inclusive optionthomson replobby barbranded drinksplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,690 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have been to quite a few Riu Hotels but this was the best one we have been to so far.. We were here for Christmas and everything was wonderful from the minute we arrived till the minute we left. The staff could not do enough for you . Christmas Day was just magical,the Gala Dinner was magnificent and the attention to detail was just perfect. We would like to thank all the staff for making it a very special Christmas for us.It is the first time we have spent Christmas away from home but it certainly will not be our last. Funcal Christmas lights were definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: West facing room to catch sun in the afternoon
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michaeltheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was the first time we have stayed at a Riu hotel and were very impressed. A big hotel, much bigger than our normal choice and even though they said it was running near full you only really noticed it busy at meal times.

We toyed for a while between staying in Canico or Funchal. Glad we stayed in Canico as there is a nice little promenade next to the hotel where you can stroll off the evening meal by the sea. The hotels in Funchal are situated quite out of town and too much of a walk from the town centre.

The free bus provided by the hotel that takes you into Funchal and picks you up is a great service. Makes staying in Canico much more of a viable option.

All in all I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the extra for a sea view, pretty much most rooms have a sea view and some only just have one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brown9952173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our first time in Madeira and what a wonderful island. The Riu Palace was terrific value for money and ticked most of the boxes. The room was fine with a small balcony and a partial view of the sea, it was cleaned very well and was comfortable. The food was very good, even though basically buffet style, there were always chefs on hand cooking fresh food. The staff were excellent, very friendly and very accommodating. I had a bad back during my stay and they even got me a wheelchair.
One small problem after the free glass of Madeira wine on arrival, my wife and I have now got a taste for it and it is quite expensive in the UK.

Room Tip: Higher the better
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our first visit to this hotel, but possibly not our last, as everything was excellent. Nice comfortable room with lovely view. All staff, from pool assistants and cleaners, to waiting staff and reception, couldn't do enough for you, were very friendly and spoke excellent English. Food was first class and there was an amazing choice available. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that little bit extra. I would have given 5 stars all round but the location is a bit isolated and the soundproofing of the rooms could be improved.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a sea view as it appears all rooms have at least a partial sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiger1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I have been staying in RIU hotels for over ten years.Most reviews of this hotel rate it as very good to excellent and this is true of most RIU hotels.The food,cleanliness and friendly staff are well established throughout the chain.We have always thought that they have been a well kept secret,as most people we talk to have never heard of them,they are now due for updating.The rooms are a bit tired with old and outdated televisions and appliances.However these hotels are getting on a bit and do need modernising. Any misgivings I have about the decor fixtures and fittings are more than compensated by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. I thought that the mark up on the wines are a bit steep.The house wine we were drinking at10 euro could be purchased at the local supermarket 1.99 euro, all the drinks were expensive.If you are a frequent visitor to RIU hotels apply for the RIU class card and get a good percentage off the bill at the end of your holiday.Be careful when purchasing the wines some of them are not very good it's a bit of a lottery and you can pay a lot of money for a wine you cant drink.The house wine though cheap was drinkable.You will have a job to find any four star hotel that meets consistently high standards as these hotels.This hotel is a little remote but you know this before you go,it is peaceful and makes for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you want afternoon sun ask for a west facing room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews