We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top at caniço”
Review of Hotel Galosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galosol
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Funchal
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“top at caniço”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very confortable and big rooms, hotel with a lot of facilities and services, nice breakfast. We appreciate the environment policy, a green hotel. The pillow menu is also a different and positive detail. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoAndreAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, General Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Galosol and for giving us feedback about it on tripadvisor.

We are also pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back on a near future to our hotel.

Warm regards

Raquel Estreito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    97
    28
    16
    4
See reviews for
58
153
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Weather too cool & windy for the outside pool & sea so the inside pool & wellness centre was really useful. The sports facillites too were well used by active teenagers. Note the gym can only be used if over 16.you also need your own towels or hire them for your stay. It seems like a private club for use of guests but it can get busy with locals so its best to book in advance for courts. The hotel is convenient for local bus to Funchal, Spar and some very good local restaurants.You can also walk up to Canico town with more restaurants and shops(bout 30mins uphill but fab views).
The breakfasts were very varied and plenty. They also catered well for special dietary requirements(gluten Free). Special bread was provided each morning without having to ask after making ourselves known on the first day.
We hired a car from reception which was hastle free.
the hotel has mainly german guests which we didn't find a problem.
the staff are very helpful and all speak English well including the chambermaid.
It suited our needs. I would stay again and recommend it. Close to airport and Funchal not far if you want a visit.

Room Tip: even garden rooms have partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmhurst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave your thoughts regarding your recent holiday on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your support and are glad that you found our staff helpulf and an efficient service is what we strive for.

It is great to hear that you like our breakfast, we work to satisfy our guest.

We entirely agree with your comments regarding our location
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Your sincerely

Raquel Estreito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Galasol at the end of February, this hotel is great for anyone hoping for a really chilled winter break, we arrived in the evening temperature was 19c after leaving minus 1c in Gatwiick, the lady at reception was really pleasant and so helpful, the room with stunning sea views was lovely with nice furniture, as everyone else seems to mention breakfast was above expectation, we did also have the evening buffet which was lovely even if a little expensive",
We did feel a little out of place as it seems we were the only English there and it is nice to be able to talk to people, the other minus point was the lack of evening entertainment, but we would still recommend this to anyone who would like a chilled holiday

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your recent “lovely” holiday experience at Galosol Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Raquel Estreito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm a former Travel Industry Professional, so this review will be objective and balanced. This was our first visit to Madeira and we'd booked to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. First pleasant surprise, free upgrade on arrival from 3 star accommodation to 4 star. We we're originally booked into the 3 star Galomar (sister) Hotel. As this was undergoing some refurbishment we we're upgraded to the 4 star Galosol, however you wouldn't have thought there were workmen on sight they were that quite and discreet. Room: First Impressions. Spacious, Clean, Well aired, and well equipped. The large walk-in monsoon shower in the ensuite was a plus. Mini-bar, digital safe, TV, Balcony. Lamps by the bed and gooseneck LED reading lamps as well. Pleanty of wardrobe space. Cases able to be stowed safely. Full Info file. Telephone. Drinkable water. Ok there are some extra charges for things like the safe & minibar, but these are minor. Use of the safe for the week 10.50 euros. Mini bar prices can be a bit steep, but there is a Spar in Canico just 100 yards down from the hotel. This resort complex is owned by a German family, and yes the guests are predominantly German, Austrian, Swiss & Dutch. But we didn't see this as a negative. The German attention to detail is very much in evidence. The hotel is fastidiously clean, well maintained, and the attention to customer service is exemplorary. Being predominantly European in outlook expect such culture to be prevalent in the sauna. Which by the way has excellent facilities, with Steam Room, Bio Sauna, Finnish Sauna and several cold shower options: bucket shower, Waterfall shower, monsoon shower and cold sitz bath amongst these. There are rest couches and a separate rest room as well.
Choice of restaurants and bars is good With a pub serving amongst otherthings cocktails & mocktails, local specialities, food & ice-cream sundaes to die for. A poolside bar doing amazing cakes, a trattoria syle pizzaria, A fine dining fish restaurant and the main restaurant which is also the breakfast room. and if you tire of these there are others close by in Canico & Funchal etc. The food is excellent, Try the Espada and Banana at the Atlantic Restaurant. We'd decided to book bed and breakfast, so as not to be tied to hotel dining times. Breakfast, is excellent and is very varied serving everything from continental to full english, including Madeiran and using produce from the hotel's own gardens. The staff are very friendly and English is widely spoken. All staff have flags showing the languages they speak on their name badges. And nothing is too much trouble. There are 3 pools an outdoor pool on the terrace, a salt water lido near the sea and an Indoor pool in the on-site leisure centre. The leisure centre with Gym, Squash Courts, Spinning Classes, Aerobics Studio, Indoor Pool & Jaccuzi, Sauna and Full Wellness Spa is also used by local Madeirans. This can make it a bit busy in the evenings and on a Saturday morning, but there's still plenty of time for Hotel Guests to have priority. The choice of treatments at the spa is extensive and the therapists are all fully qualified. There is a full programme of entertainments: even in low season, and other activities are arranged by the hotel as well. My wife took advantage of a jewelry making class one afternoon. Links to the rest of the island are good. Taxis are plentiful. And the half hourly bus to Funchal goes from a stop just 100 yards from the hotel. Fare each way is 2.15 euros per person. There we're a couple of quirks and niggles which may not be to everyones liking. The bed is two singles pushed together each with a single duvet. The TV is predominantly German. The only English channel was Sky News. However Portuguese TV screens U.S. shows like CSI in English subtitled into Portuguese. And Spongebob Square Pants in German is probably funnier than the English version. Staff do tend to assume that you speak German until you reply in English, and after that they speak English to you whenever they see you. Being a former travel industry professional I have seen many hotels, some good, some not so. The Galosol is one that I would certainly recommend. And will definitely try to book again.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FreedAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Gerente at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you both very much for such a thorough review, we really appreciate each and every one and are certain that prospective guests will find it very useful.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that you made full use of our facilities and thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and facilities, despite our TV selection did not come up to your expectations. This a subject that we will improve soon.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Raquel Estreito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

There were no negatives here. Brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. What more could you want, If you dont want to hire a car let the local buses take the strain. There is a bus stop about 100 yds from Hotel. The trip into Funchal is an adventure in itself and well worth the 2 euro 25 cents. A beautiful place and lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crookedannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Proprietário at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you booked the Galo Resort for your recent holiday in Madeira and even happier that it lived up to your expectations! Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Raquel Estreito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked and paid for this trip before arriving at the hotel, when we arrived all was fine with no queries, then 3 days later they said there was a problem and we had to pay more, we offered to leave but they said we would lose all our money. They gave us an amount which we had no choice about, when leaving the hotel they then tried to charge us more than twice as much, we complained and the bill was immediately reduced by 200 euros - with NO explanation! Still had to pay half as much again as original cost, but they just put this down to booking error, even though nothing was mentioned when we arrived, we were given no choice and no explanation, this was at the end of our stay and we had to leave for the airport. After a written complaint to the manager he replied saying it was fair, but still no explanation, particularly about the 200 extra euros!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest.
We regret that your experience at Hotel Galosol was not a better one and we thank you for your feedback which always allows us to improve our services.
Concerning your remarks:
Your booking was in our system (via booking.com) as a single person stay. Upon your arrival we notice that in fact were two people staying, so we spoke to you and explained that there are different prices for a "single stay" and a "double stay". When a situation like this occurs the most suitable alternative is to contact the “booking source” asking details about the reservation, and upon our contact it was confirmed to us that indeed it was a single room reservation and that it could not have been any mistake about it. So we spoke to you, explained the facts and also gave you a special price for the difference (assuming that if your original booking was correct you would have paid this amount and not a higher one).
At your check-out we gave you two documents: one concerning the value that you already paid via the booking source (and please note that this document was settled) and a second document for the remaining amount you had to pay. And again this was explained to you.
Our main main purpose is to always meet and exceed our guests´ expectations. We explained you the facts, we contacted the booking site, our staff and I personally spoke to you, and as you said, even our CEO gave you an answer by email explaining once more this situation.
We would of course be very happy to welcome you back and hope that we would be able to fulfil your expectations on a next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Raquel Estreito (General Manager Galo Resort Hotels)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location but miles from anywhere, buses run into Funchal but can take nearly one hour, local restaurants and shops close very early so there is little to do in the evening and rarely any entertainment in the hotel. Also we booked this hotel for the indoor swimming pool, knowing it would be too chilly to swim outside but it is often booked out in the evening for local children to do lessons so it is not available for guests. The other side of Funchal is much better, still stunning location, lots of hotels with heated outdoor pools and easy to walk into town for a huge variety of restaurants with great food and live music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest.
We regret that your experience at Hotel Galosol was not a better one and we thank you for your feedback which always allows us to improve our services.
Concerning your remarks:
Your booking was in our system (via booking.com) as a single person stay. Upon your arrival we notice that in fact were two people staying, so we spoke to you and explained that there are different prices for a "single stay" and a "double stay". When a situation like this occurs the most suitable alternative is to contact the “booking source” asking details about the reservation, and upon our contact it was confirmed to us that indeed it was a single room reservation and that it could not have been any mistake about it. So we spoke to you, explained the facts and also gave you a special price for the difference (assuming that if your original booking was correct you would have paid this amount and not a higher one).
At your check-out we gave you two documents: one concerning the value that you already paid via the booking source (and please note that this document was settled) and a second document for the remaining amount you had to pay. And again this was explained to you.
Our main main purpose is to always meet and exceed our guests´ expectations. We explained you the facts, we contacted the booking site, our staff and I personally spoke to you, and as you said, even our CEO gave you an answer by email explaining once more this situation.
We would of course be very happy to welcome you back and hope that we would be able to fulfil your expectations on a next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Raquel Estreito (General Manager Galo Resort Hotels)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galomar
Hotel Galomar
#10 of 13 in Canico
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
217 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galosol

Property: Hotel Galosol
Address: Rua Dom Francisco Santana | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-031, Portugal (Formerly Galo Resort Ondamar)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#3 Spa Hotel in Canico
#3 Family Hotel in Canico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galosol 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel complex offers many corners of refuge, where guests may rest without being disturbed. Situated directly on the coast, it offers an extraordinary view over the sea. All the 123 rooms and suites have sea views and among the many facilities available at the hotel are 3 restaurants, 2 bars and a children's playground. This eco-spa hotel is a family friendly establishment with a 24h reception and was renovated in 2012. It offers most of the Resort's facilities, such as Onda Revital Sport & Fitness Club, (with daily class: power jump, Zumba, Step, GRIT, body balance,body combat, spinning, yoga) Onda Revital Lounge SPA, is our Spa which offers a range of beauty and health treatments and massages and ayurveda treatments. To complete the offer the hotel has a large swimming complex which lies within the underwater Nature Reserve, with easy sea access and were you can find the prize winner "Manta Diving Center" and Mountain Bike station and outdoor shop is only a few steps away."Dine around" is possible in 3 of our restaurant for guest Half board,Weekly entertainment programme (live music, folklore, presentations) WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Hotel Galosol provides a small Portable WiFi Router upon request, ideal for Internet access anywhere on the Island. Offers free wi fi at all rooms and free parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Galosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Canico
Hotel Galosol Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing