We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb island shame about the weather”
Review of Dom Pedro Garajau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Pedro Garajau
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“superb island shame about the weather”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A stunningly beautiful island marred by a week of storms and rain. The food was acceptable, bar staff friendly and accomodating, close to the bus stop for visits to Funchal. Downside is the hotel is in a number of blocks and it can be a fair hike up to your room from the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coljb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    200
    171
    79
    32
See reviews for
127
249
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Booked this 2weeks before we left so weren't expecting the ritz, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Room was lovely and large. We had no air conditioning but the balcony was secure so it was left open, keeping the room nice and cool. All rooms had a view of the pool/sea/ local area/landscaped gardens - no noisy traffic here. Hotel was on a quiet little road withs view shops, cafes and restaurants - notably a lovely pizza place. However there wasn't much else in the area other than a cable car to the beach. Which was quite fun and pretty cheap. Funchal was a bus ride away and the buses were very regular (except on a Sunday when we had to give up and get a taxi). Breakfast was standard and included in the price, nothing exciting but was okay for a free meal.

In summary: lovely hotel and pool in a quiet location. Bit quiet for us but probably lovely for an older couple.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Not small room, excellent seaside view. Not modern bathroom equipment, also too dark in the bathroom. Unfortunately cold tile floor. Archaistic room key without blocks - in the morning chambermaid can open your door and ask you something. Good cafe and restaraunts in front of hotel. Not enough information how to reach hotel by car (i wasted about one hour to find a road in Garajau). No hotel parking. In-room safe by default doesn't work. Archaistic TV in the room.

Room Tip: Choose only seaside view room. Garden view is located on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ses_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

stayed here about two years ago. Short break - could see that things had been different about 20 years previously. Bit Fawlty Towers - unusual and querky in parts, indoor swimming pool in reception, felt like the titanic - rooms dark and old woody looking, lots of walking to get anywhere, had a family feel about the place though staff could be quite remote. Had a short stay. My husband didn't care too much for the place as he got vertigo from being high up and far reaching from the sea/coast line. Lots of French elderly trekkers in residence at times. Very handy for Funchal expensive small restaurants surrounding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canico hotels

belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Do not even think about ever staying here,its a CHEAP,NASTY Hotel.
Awful staff, nobody staying in the place and HERE IS THE THING YOU NEED TO KNOW .......ITS NOT SAFE ROOMS ARE ROBBED DURING THE NIGHT FELT VERY VERY UNSAFE DONT CHANCE IT AT ALL
I cannot stress enough that this is not a good hotel its cheap very cheap 20 euros a night but unsafe big time

Room Tip: Dont stay here find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belgiantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Don Pedro because it is a very pleasant hotel, representing good value for money, and is in convenient location for touring Madeira. This time, as before, we had an excellent sea view room, which was kept spotlessly clean by the hotel staff. The continental breakfast was adequate with some very tasty freshly baked bread and fresh fruit but could be improved by providing breakfast cereals. The hotel no longer provides evening meals but operates a half board "dine around" system where you are provided with vouchers for a 3 course dinner to use in a choice of 3 local restaurants. We found this worked very well and would particularly recommend the Frango da Guia restaurant. The hotel reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful - we certainly intend to stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best sea views. Some rooms have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel is very tired and old. It's Spotlessly clean with a nice pool area. Breakfast is very repetitive but good quality ingredients, mainly bread and cheese. Cheap and easy on the bus to Funchal. nice restaurants in resort. Small and quiet area - not many shops.
It may pay to spend a little more and be in Funchal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Dom Pedro Garajau, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Garajau and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

Thus it is crucial for us to know these standards have measured up to your expectations.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,


Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
7.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
1.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Garajau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Garajau

Property: Dom Pedro Garajau
Address: Estrada do Garajau 131, Canico, Madeira 9125-067, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Garajau 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Garajau is a 3-star hotel-apartment with 272 rooms and Suites set on the south coast of Madeira Island. Garajau is famous its Natural Reserve made to protect a very privileged area of Madeira's coast, in an effort to make it work as an ecological nursery. This is the only exclusive marine reserve in the entire Portugal and It is a location for snorkeling and scuba-diving.Facilities are included such as an Indoor heated pool with sliding roof, apart from two outdoor pools and Children's Pool and also a sports court. Dom Pedro Garajau is setting half way between Funchal and Canico ideal to visit the island. All of this makes it the perfect base for exploring the island or enjoying an action-packed holiday. Dine Around and stay at Dom Pedro Garajau. The "Dine Around" system is a different option that allows food lovers to pick restaurants outside the hotel. Through a voucher system, half-board guests staying at the Dom Pedro Garajau can now choose from a variety of restaurants near the hotel. Without doubt, this factor will set us apart from the traditional Half-board system, allowing our clients to change restaurants daily and experience different types of cuisine. Madeira International Airport is only 11km (6.8 miles) from the hotel (10 minutes drive), and only 8 km (4.9 miles) from the main city, Funchal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Garajau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Garajau Canico
Hotel Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira
Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing