We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked through Atlantic Holidays-DONT GO!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Pedro Garajau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dom Pedro Garajau
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Booked through Atlantic Holidays-DONT GO!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked this holiday through Atlantic Holidays with a brochure price of £599.00.
The Restaurants are closed down the breakfasts are terrible. There is no pool bar, or live entertainment. The rooms are cramped and small and our balcony doors were rotten.

It had an atmosphere similar the the Marie So lest- Dead!
The walk in rate for this hotel is 20 Euros a night! =£19.20 per couple and as such is used by many seasonal workers on the Island as a Hostel.

With a substantial investment this Hotel could regain the 3 *s.

Avoid this hotel unless you want to stay in a poor quality YMCA.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HelzyBelzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    167
    150
    77
    30
See reviews for
107
226
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

when we arrived we were given our keys and given very vague directions to the room,which we eventually found 100 yards up the road,after hauling our cases up 3 flights of stairs we got into a room that was not suitable for myself and 2 teenagers.i had requested a seperate bedroom,but all beds were in one room..(.i was travelling with my daughter and her boyfriend)
i went down to reception to ask to move to a room with a seperate room or at least one that had a fridge(my room didnt and also didnt have aircon either but did have a radiator really!!)
reception told me they didnt have a room to sleep 3 with a seperate bedroom,they also told me that the rooms with kitchenettes only sleep 2.i asked how much for an extra room to which i was told 340 euros..we didnt do that as i had already paid for the hotel and really didnt see why i should have to..

the dom pedro website is completely untrue,they dont have apartments with rooms and they are not an all inclusive hotel,apparently they used to be but the reastaurant is now closed..as was the pool bar during our stay..

i had money stolen form the room 6 days into the holiday,and they called the police but they werent very helpful at all,we had 100 euros and 10 pounds taken,i was told that if the monetary value is higher that 102 euro you have to go to court to get the report which takes 4 weeks,if it is under that amount the police can do a report in less than a week,so of course dont get more than 102 euros stolen whilst on holiday in madeira as u wont be able to get the report because you will already be back home.
had to travel into santa cruz to the police station to get the report myself and even had to pay for it!!

very expensive at the bar in the breakfast restaurant 2.20 euro for a bottle of coral beer,go across the road to the fruit an veg shop an get 6 of the same beer for 2.78 euro.

all in all we made the best of our holiday....i would go back to madiera again but would not stay here.

they really need to do something about the place its so under used and must be losing money.
staff are at best polite but not really that helpful(customer service needs improving)

restaurants and shops opposite are lovely..some people are just plain rude and you wouldnt think that they need you to eat an drink in there restaurants to keep them in a living.
also one last thing we stayed in room 4308 and sleep quality was appauling apart from the dogs barking the hotel have a sprinkler system which comes on early hours of every morning,and they are very loud when u have to have your doors open due to no air con.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojoaksul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The City of Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Dom Pedro from 22/08/2011 to 29/0/2011. We were easily and by far the best people there at the time!
Having read some of the reviews we went with an open mind. Although we enjoyed our stay over-all, it was quite sad to witness what must have been a top-class hotel deteriorating like this one is.

The interior showed signs of a golden past but the majority of it remains unused (Tropical Restaurant all chained up, for example).. A waitress in one of the restaurants (California) told me that the rooms in the hotel are being sold as timeshare. Don't worry though; we didn't come across any timeshare sales people during our stay!
To be fair though, most places on the island are struggling to make a living

The hotel was clean and tidy. The cleaners were in the room every day. The breakfast was very basic - bread, butter, ham, cheese slices, jams, honey, orange and tropical fruit cordial, tea and coffee. You could have as much as you wanted though!
The rooms were basic but seem to vary from block to block. Ours had a kitchenette (not in use) while others didn't but had air-conditioning (which we didn't find necessary). The beds are okay and we all slept well. There were no mosquitoes either.
There were a lot of dogs barking at night, but that’s what dogs do isn’t it?

All things considered, we found the hotel good value for money. It was quiet, basic, clean and a good base. I would definitely recommend it for a week. Any more than that and you will be running out of places to eat.
Oh, and another thing; they have never heard of Madeira cake in Madeira – we’ve been lied to!

Room Tip: Ask at reception - the staff are helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill_MCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Dom Pedro Garajau, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Garajau and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

Thus it is crucial for us to know these standards have measured up to your expectations.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for a week which was quite long enough. The hotel consists of 4 blocks ,2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool. There is no restaurant, it's been closed, as has the poolside bistro bar. Breakfast, coffee and reconstituted juice, bread, jam ,ham , cheese and fruit is served by the indoor pool. A lot of customers supplemented their breakfast with yoghurt and cereal from the local supermarket.
The hotel has no lifts or porters so cases need to dragged along the pavement and up flights of stairs to the room once you arrive. The rooms themselves are tired but adequate. Beds are not particularly comfortable and pillows are hard and lumpy. The bathroom is large and all the plumbing works very effectively. The lack of an extractor fan means that you live with the activity in the bathroom for quite a while.
Best part of the holiday was hiring the taxi from outside , Manuel, for a day, it cost 90 euros . We explored lots of the island and he was a charming and informative guide. Best local restaurant was the touraqal, just across the road. Local bakery was fab and always very busy, served great coffee and cakes.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadySugarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canico hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel we booked through lastminute.de. We knew it is 3star hotel, so did not expect too much, but the link of the hotel (http://www.dom-pedro-garajau.com/) is made skillfully and encouraging positive. But it was AWFUL. The hotel is old. Everywhere smell moldy. There is no air conditioning, so it is necessary to keep the windows open - can hear attendants. Can be hear everything going on behind the door. Terrible smell from the bathroom. Furniture in the room old and fray. From the kitchen sink goes ants. Breakfast is very poor with no choices of food. Almost all of the pool beds are break off, mattresses plunders. Rooms are cleaned superficially. No hair dryer in room.
What is good – good location, well functioning internet, good for people with very very low budgete…

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelioniu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Dom Pedro Garajau in Madeira. The hotel, I thought, was excellent considering the price (we booked last minute and got it very cheap)! The room was basic but had everything we needed, including a fridge, hob and sink (didn't actually use the cooking facilities - but the fridge was very useful!), a television with a wide variety of channels, bathroom and balcony with a sea view (although i do not think all rooms have this). There was also a PC at reception offering free internet to all guests which was nice. Receptionists always pleasant and helpful. Both indoor and outdoor pool areas were lovely, and the hotel also had table tennis, badminton and volly ball facilities. Only criticism is that the hotel looks a bit tired from the outside, could do with a new paint job!
The location was also great, although not in the capital Funchal it is only a 20 minute bus ride away and there is a bus stop directly across from the hotel with regular buses (bus timetable at reception). There are also a number of restaurants, some souvenir shops and small supermarkets for essentials.
One of our favorite places to eat was in the old town in Funchal, but we also found a fantastic steak restaurant about a 20 minute walk from the hotel called 'Restaurante Ginja da Madeira'.
I was apprehensive about the weather in July as had read some mixed things on the internet but it was lovely, hot and sunny for most of the week, clouding over a bit on the last 2 days.
I would recommend doing a tour of the island - we did the West side and got to see some stunning views and experience the completely different climates of the mountainous island, it was very interesting. Another highly recommended activity is to get the ferry to nearby island Porto Santo - it is a long day and quite expensive but absolutely worth it! The beach is beautiful, and even though it was cloudy when we went, still had a fantastic time lazing on the sand, splashing in the waves and rented a quad bike to explore the island.
All in all, we thought Madeira was beautiful, interesting, relaxing and exciting all at the same time. And staying in a hotel as nice as Dom Pedro Garajau made it all the better. Thank you, we would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We requested a fridge in our room when we booked and got a room with a kitchen at no extra cost - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benharem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Dom Pedro Garajau, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Garajau Hotel and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

Thus it is crucial for us to know these standards have measured up to your expectations.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely,



Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel was very nice and the room pleasant with a fridge and hob which was useful .The man working on reception should consider another profession as he was not at all helpful .

The hotel should also consider placing felt under the legs of their furniture as the sound of the cleaners constantly shifting furniture on the tiles was quite intrusive when trying to relax beside the pool .

I thought it was nice that there were free movie channels available on the television.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomPGarajau, Manager at Dom Pedro Garajau, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Mr.Kevonski
Thank you for staying with us at Dom Pedro Garajau, and for sharing your opinions with us concerning our staff and service. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
Concerning your comments about our receptionist I will talk with him about the unfriendly and not helpful attitude.

I also take good note about pacing felt under the legs of furniture.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,
Fernando Rito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
7.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Garajau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Garajau

Property: Dom Pedro Garajau
Address: Estrada do Garajau 131, Canico, Madeira 9125-067, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Garajau 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Garajau is a 3-star hotel-apartment with 272 rooms and Suites set on the south coast of Madeira Island. Garajau is famous its Natural Reserve made to protect a very privileged area of Madeira's coast, in an effort to make it work as an ecological nursery. This is the only exclusive marine reserve in the entire Portugal and It is a location for snorkeling and scuba-diving.Facilities are included such as an Indoor heated pool with sliding roof, apart from two outdoor pools and Children's Pool and also a sports court. Dom Pedro Garajau is setting half way between Funchal and Canico ideal to visit the island. All of this makes it the perfect base for exploring the island or enjoying an action-packed holiday. Dine Around and stay at Dom Pedro Garajau. The "Dine Around" system is a different option that allows food lovers to pick restaurants outside the hotel. Through a voucher system, half-board guests staying at the Dom Pedro Garajau can now choose from a variety of restaurants near the hotel. Without doubt, this factor will set us apart from the traditional Half-board system, allowing our clients to change restaurants daily and experience different types of cuisine. Madeira International Airport is only 11km (6.8 miles) from the hotel (10 minutes drive), and only 8 km (4.9 miles) from the main city, Funchal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Garajau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Garajau Canico
Hotel Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira
Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing