We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very pleasant waiter”
Review of La Terraca - CLOSED

La Terraca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, very pleasant waiter”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We tried a variety of Madeiran foods at La Terraca, including bolo da caco, grilled limpets and espatada. All were lovely, and inexpensive compared to other restaurants in the area. However, the highlight of our meal was our lovely waiter Carlos, who treated us very well and gave us good insights into Madeiran food, wine, culture and language. We learnt a lot and his sense of humour and enthusiasm meant we had a wonderful night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BevAskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    74
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The terasa is small ! The food is ok!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The place is a listele far from centre Canico this is why is cheaper for the same dishes like the central restaurants next to the Church!
Try it!
It is a little over decorated... But the food is good!
Avoid soups and seafood like shrimps or calamari, they are not l

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Entrance view from the street”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

To make it easier to find, is just up the street next to the church, is almost always some employee at the door, do not be fooled by the bar, go up the ramp to find a restaurant overlooking wide and as well as a small terrace

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viriato a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great guy, ok food!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stumbled across this hidden little place after exploring the local area on foot and fancied a drink. There is small terrace at the back with views over a large valley, soon to become a road from what looks like the building work. The guy who met us and served us our drinks could not have been lovelier, warm, friendly and very relaxed. It was his chilled attitude that made us say for lunch and although we had a great time here it was him rather than the food we will remember.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twoviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food not as good as I expected”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The place is very nice and the staff simply wonderful. However, out of three dishes, only one was well made. The remaining two portions, an espada fish and a breast of chicken filled with shrimps and spinach were really nothing special. The abundant side dishes, vegetables, bread, french fries, wine and basically everything else, were very well made and tasty. In the end, I can say it was an enjoyable evening and I will give them another try if I return to Madeira.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing