We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SeaFood Heaven”
Review of A Traineira

A Traineira
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $64
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SeaFood Heaven”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

W e ate at this restaurant many times whilst on holiday.From the start when you go to restaurant until end of meal staff are friendly and helpful discussing what the different dishes are.You are greeted with a glass of Maderia wine,and then served a taster usually a crab ball with side salad and dressing both on the house whilst trying to decide what to eat.We think whatever fish dish you choose will not dissapoint.My wife and I both felt eating at A Traineira was one of our best experiences ever.Many thanks to all the staff for helping to make our holiday in Maderia truly great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dozzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    91
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood I ate”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stood in a hotel nearby, so walked by almost every evening. The place was always full of people, what itself was a good omen. Eventually we decided to hop-in. This way we discovered a genuine heaven for seefood lovers.
It is definitely a sit-in place. You need to wait a while for your dish. However, what you will get is one hundred percent worth waiting. The food is delicious. Be carefull some dishes are big ones and good for two, so it is better to chat with the waiter while ordering. /By the way - Alberto - he is polite, sort of a chat-guy, and he speaks English./ Therefore, if so, you will be warned :) They do not try just to sell you more than you need, and get your money.
Anyway, if you want, you can have a really comprehensive service: a starter, the course itself (which is trully tasteful), a small bottle of a nice table wine, a bottle of water, and so on, and on... Nothing is forced though. And the final cost is still reasonable (however I understand it may depend on the pocket). Especialy with respect to the value for money for such a brilliant food.
The place is absolutely 'must-see' for anyone who wants to try good seafood. Be carefull, you might become addicted to ;))

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller123087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

benn staying at caniço baixo and decided to go to this restaurant because it Had many local people i Had an excellent experience Food and serviçe of a Hitler level

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank manuel568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here with some friends who had been recommended this restaurant, we were not disappointed. Alberto looked after us so well and recommended the amazing fish platter which would please any fish lover!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate-Paul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish Platter”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the best recommendations I've ever had from a friend in Funchal. A group of us visited Canico de Baixo recently for a drink at the beach bar and then visited A Trainera restaurant above the beach.
Our waiter, Alberto - recommended the fish platter for four people and it was delicious, great value for money and very tasty. Alberto also recommended a green wine followed by red and a fine time was had by all.
So, if you are staying in Funchal, venture out a little further to Canico de Baixo by bus or taxi and discover this restaurant, a great promenade and cosy beach bar and remember to ask Alberto for his recommendation of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Traineira also viewed

 

Been to A Traineira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing