We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but could be better!!”
Review of Canico Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canico Bay
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK but could be better!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of March. Accommodation actually fine, the apartment very spacious for two, looked freshly painted and clean, the bathroom was clean but a bit dated. The balcony could do with making more private some how, not too keen on the openness here. The key was under the doormat on arrival as the reception was closed - in fact we only saw it open once in the whole week! The cleaner came in on day two and never again, not even to empty the bins. We don't expect 5 star hotel service but the service we had was rather poor.
Another issue was we had to clean all the crockery, pots, pans & cutlery. Obviously not been checked from the previous occupants (not good). Washing up liquid not provided nor is a dish cloth or scouring sponge! (Take your own).
In general the place was OK - just needs a little bit of attention here and there
We would stay here again but there are better choices out there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    3
    14
See reviews for
10
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed her for a week in late October. The accomodation was basic but acceptable. The service was poor, actually nonexistent. The reception was always closed. The TV remote didn't work. When we called Ricardo he put in new batteries pronto - but we shouldn't have had to ask, he should have ensured all was working. When we said we couldn't work out how to operate the microwave he brought us a manual in English - but we shouldn't have had to ask, it should have been there anyway. The cleaners just made the bed and did nothing else - but nothing was provided for us to wash up with, we had to buy a sponge and washing up liquid, there was no cloth of any description to wipe surfaces (we had to use one of the towels), not even a broom to sweep up (the cleaners certainly didn't hoover). There was an ironing board but no iron, nor a hairdryer. We actually quite liked not being in Funchal for a change, Canico de Baixo has some nice restaurants and there is a Spar opposite the Club which stocks most things except fresh food, which didn't really matter because we usually ate out. And going into Funchal on the bus was quite fun, the busstop is nearby and the fare is €2.10.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rolfejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel through expedia.co.uk . when we arrived was a message on reception door to call Ricardo Santos Silva but the mobile was off. After 2 or 3 hours waiting with kids 3 and 6 years old came up a cleaner who said our studio was double booked and didn't know about the kids . so we had to Camacha where he has very old house (Quinta da portada branca) not enough external lights ,no one to show us, the keys was under doormat we had to find a solution for ours kids to sleep with us room too small for both of us.
we had to live this nightmare for 4 days .
Back to canico bay the only staff we meet was this cleaner who did everything she could to make our stay little bit better.
So think twice if you think to book this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rserrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canico hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

we have just returned from this supposed 4 star property I would not reccomend it. it was tired and dirty lacked basic equipment including cork screw & there was evidence of mice in the kitchen cupboards. there was no one on site to complain to and there was no cleaning at all. Please do not go there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked this place through lowcost holidays and arrived on 6th Feb 2012.
The place looked reasonable from the outside,all that was there to meet us was the cleaner ,who could speak little english and showed us to the studio room,she was surprised as there were three of us ,but as I explained this is what had been booked and stated 3 people on the booking form,she went off t find a camp bed,which was totally unsatisfactory.
Meanwhile we inspected the place and it was filthy the setee which was supposed to double as a sofa bed had all the springs broken and was ripped and all the stuffing was coming out of the sidealso the chair was like this,the carpet looked filthy and smelt dreadful,like it had been urinated on,the walls and paintwork were all very dirty,we checked the bathroom and there was rust around the plughole
after all this we checked the bedroom and took the pillowcases off the pillows only to find the pillows were brown with sweat stain and obviously had been covered up with clean pillow cases,we then decided that this was not the place for us to stay and sat down to discuss what to do next at that point we noticed flees all over the accomodation and one of my party got bit three times in the short time we were there.we contacted lowcostholidays and told them that we wanted to change our accomodation after some harsh words we were offered an upgrade for £164 to the Madiera Bright Star in Funchal which was very good,but now I find out from reading other reviews this is owned by the same Mr Ricardo Santo Silva who owns the Canico Bay Club,it appears this is a scam and I am determinded that Ricardo Silva is exposed as a con man and am passing the information the photographs and the film I took of canico bay club to the BBC Holiday nightmare programme who have agreed to expose this crook.
This place is not worthy of1* let alone 4*

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Having made a confirmed booking for 19 October in March, we were advised on the morning of 19th that we had been expected on the 18th and were a no-show. On arrival we were hold that the appartment had been re-let and were taken to a Quinta up a dirt road on the edge of Camacha - cold, full of mosquitos and in the mountains miles from the coast. The management was asked to produce evidence to support their allegation that the booking was for the 18th; none was produced and the "no-show" was an obvious fabrication to cover a double booking. We left and made alternative arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We booked this resort through EXTRA WEEKS. We arrived 12/07/10 to be told by Steve who works for the resort that our accomadation had not been paid for. There was no accomadation for us. Steve then told us he could get us into a hotel for £30 per person per night - one was 4* and room only, the other hotel offered was only 3* but breakfast was included. Apparently 2 other couples were expected that afternoon. We choose the 4* hotel and paid $310 for it. We were taken to this hotel in the center of Funchal which was far far better than the Canico Bay Resort which is out in the middle of nowhere, and looks rough. You would need to use a taxi or local bus to go to Funchal for any kind of decent shops or entertainment. Canico Bay - The Bright Star 4* and the 3* hotels are all owned by Ricardo Silva and it was his emoloyee that lied to us - our accomadation had been paid for and Mr Silva's company are the ones that stung us and another couple for the cost of the weeks accommadation. Extra Weeks had paid this comany!!!! We will certainly check that Mr Silva is not involved in any other holidays we take.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Fedup2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canico hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#8 of 13 in Canico
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#7 of 13 in Canico
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn & Art Cottage
Inn & Art Cottage
#9 of 13 in Canico
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canico Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canico Bay

Property: Canico Bay
Address: Rua Dom Francisco Santana, Canico, Madeira 9125-031, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canico Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canico Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canico Bay Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing